2006 Kawasaki Nomad

Summary:

Well thought through and rounded design

Faults:

Warning to do-it-yourself types: Do not over torque crankshaft oil drain plug. Case is aluminum and the bolt is steel.

General Comments:

This motorcycle has very good ergonomics. At 5'9" I feel very comfortable. Even though I have highway pegs, I hardly use them due to the bike's inherent ergonomics. It is very well thought through, and you'll discover this even more if you do maintenance yourself. I had a 1999 (yes, with the plastic oil gear), and the tweaks Kawasaki performed to make my 2006 are noticeable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2008

24th Dec 2011, 07:34

I wouldn't buy another Kawasucki. This nomad has been the biggest POS I've ever owned. Too much stuff to go into detail.

2000 Kawasaki Nomad

Summary:

The Nomad is the best tourer for the money - hands down!

Faults:

Rubber boot on drive shaft was torn when I bought the bike - the part was $6.00.

Starting problem - replaced the battery (original lasted 7 years!), checked charging system - working good, but sometimes it requires a boost or recharge.

On the second set of brakes, and the third set of tires.

General Comments:

This bike is a joy to ride and to own. No leaks, no squeaks, no shakes, just good riding fun.

The seat is not the best for me - but I have back problems. My wife loves the back seat and the large backrest and floorboards make her feel secure.

Gas mileage averages 40 mpg - pretty good for a touring bike with windshield dragging the wind.

Maintenance is easy - buy the manual and do it yourself - you will save a ton of money.

Vance and Hines pipes make it rumble sweetly without being obnoxiously loud. (Loud pipes do not save lives.)

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2007

2006 Kawasaki Nomad

Summary:

Wonderful touring bike!

Faults:

Coolant leak at 26 miles - fixed by dealer in about 1 hour. No other mechanical issues.

Does wear the rear tire - a lot of two up riding, but replaced the rear at 8,400 miles.

General Comments:

Great acceleration, great looks, handles like a 400 pound motorcycle. Good braking.

The driver's seat is very comfortable, even after 6-7 hours riding. The passenger seat and backrest are the widest, thickest & cushiest I've ever seen. That and the passenger floorboards cause my wife to love it - she's ridden this bike with me in 6 months more than my other two bikes combined in 4 years.

Add-ons - I suggest the highway pegs, and I also added a light bar.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2007

1999 Kawasaki Nomad

Summary:

Best in class except for use of plastic oil pump gear

Faults:

Front piston and rings went bad at 17000.

Plastic oil gear failed at 30111 miles.

General Comments:

Excellent bike, comfortable, handles well, runs out nicely, good cruiser on interstate, nimble in town.

I'm unhappy with Maw Kaw's stance on Plastic Oil Gear. They say (Maw Kaw) they will replace oil gear, right side gasket and rings if necessary. Any other damage I'm on my own. So if crank, cam, lifters etc are damaged they accept no responsibility. I consider this an engineering flaw. If Maw Kaw is as proud of their product as they claim, they wouldn't take a satisfied customer and leave them hanging out to dry. They should stand behind 100%. My opinion, but not theirs.

Larry Turner

Kawasaki owner since 1988

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2007

1st May 2007, 20:17

I have a 1996 Vulcan 1500A with 34,000 miles.

The plastic oil gear is gone, now I have a boat large boat anchor. Kawasaki wants $1500.00 dollars to fix it. I'm upset, & I loved the bike. I have a friend who has a older Kawasaki with a plastic gear and a lot more miles I guess. No problems.

This is my second Kawasaki, but my last. I work for $8.50 an hour and can't afford to fix it, so I'm done. I believe the KZ1000 was twice the bike this was.

1999 Kawasaki Nomad

Summary:

One of the very best all around tourer/cruisers..

Faults:

No debilitating breakdowns on the road, ever.

Had a cam-tower oil leak - cured by using different weight oil.

Stock headlight on the 1999 Nomads is notoriously weak, cured with a stronger H-4 bulb.

1999 Nomads had a plastic oil-pump gear which are prone to failure - mine did not fail, but I replaced it with a steel gear prophylactically. Later models all have steel gears.

General Comments:

The Kawasaki Nomad is a great road bike... long-legged, able to carry large amounts of cargo, and comfortable. Has probably the best factory saddlebags out there, period. And with a low center of gravity, floorboards, windshield and the usual over-the-road cruising stuff, my Nomad will haul with anything from Marysville or Milwaukee.

The 1999 Nomad is carbureted and very simple to work on, but could use a tad larger gas tank, which was cured in the later models. But that is not a critical area for me, as it will pretty easily run 115-130 miles on regular 87-octane gas before hitting the reserve -- and usually gets about 36-39 miles per gallon, whether on the long-pavement or just puttering around.

Change the oil every three thousand miles, and the rear tire about every 15-18K miles, and she runs right down the road. I ride about 12-16K miles a year, last year 19K, and think nothing of logging 500-1000 miles in a weekend on my 1999 Nomad. Have done several 700-mile days on the Nomad, and one run of slightly over 1000 miles in about 20 hours... no strain, no ordeal, just get on and enjoy the scenery.

I've looked at newer bikes, but find I always come back to my ol' faithful Nomad as it's stayed trustworthy and reliable. Even thought there is no perfect bike, this is by far the best I've had in almost 40 years of riding.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th February, 2005

21st Oct 2005, 05:33

Yes, the bike is great. I have 72,000 miles on it... just the best I ever owned. VROC #3418, check it out!

Dennis Comer.

25th May 2006, 15:39

I bought my Nomad new in 1998, and it still runs like new.

The only trouble I had with it was when the PLASTIC oil drive gear failed. Kawasaki replaced it at no charge. They will replace the plastic gear even if the bike is out of warranty.

Just get on and ride -- tires, oil, and gas are the only things I have paid for since it was new. I get around 35 mpg. A friend of mine put less restrictive pipes on his, and re-jetted to a smaller jet, and now gets around 47 mpg.