2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50 Reviews from United States of America

2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Distance when acquired5100 miles
Most recent distance12400 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

Superb!

General Comments:

I added a pair of one-inch handlebar lifts (custom milled aluminum that match the look and shape of the originals), and they moved my handlbars up and back more than four inches. This 05 M50 was already the most comfortable bike I've ever owned, now it's got a dream reach (for me at least).

Thinking about adding a driver backrest, but hedging because they make it more difficult to get on and off the bike.

Any thoughts?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd April, 2010

2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki Honda

Summary:

Great bike

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Anyone who has anything negative about this bike obviously doesn't own one, it's probably an owner of a Harley Sportster who's angry that he spent the money on a bike so it says Harley on it. I'm not saying it's the best out there, but for the price, come on. Next bike will be a M109, love the Suzukis.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2009

2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous motorcycleUnited Motors Xpeed 250

Summary:

GOOD Purchase

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Good motorcycle. Good pickup. Fun to ride. It needs another gear though. I would also add an RPM gauge as standard accessory.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2008

2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles

Summary:

Great

Faults:

At 1200 miles the lower case cracked, the dealership TIG welded it.

General Comments:

Now at 11000 miles the lower case has cracked again in a different spot; still waiting for dealership decision.

This has been the best bike I have owned for power and riding, except for the above problem. I have owned 15 motorcycles in my 45 years.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2008

2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance6500 miles

Summary:

Great Bike - Get One

Faults:

I had the starter relay go bad, but that's it, everything else has been great.

General Comments:

This is a great bike. It performs really well in handling and performance. Acceleration is great from the engine, and it just purrs along on the highway at 80 mph.

I use it as a daily driver for work, and for road trips as well. I put 1100 miles on it over a 4 day weekend, and it was super comfortable.

The bike is completely stock except for a windshield and saddle bags; other than that I haven't done a thing to it, and don't plan on it either. It's great the way it is, you don't have to do a thing to it.

The bike whips around really good, and it's super easy to drag the pegs on it.

A friend of mine who is a sport bike rider even commented on how impressed he was that I whipped the bike around like I do. I used to be a sport bike rider, but I'll never go back after owning this bike.

Gas mileage is a very strong point on this bike. I get 50-55mpg around town, and 40-45mpg on the highway doing 75-80mph.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2008

2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance13500 miles

Summary:

I love this bike!!!

Faults:

New rear tire at 11000 miles due to the torque of this bike, and my constant need for big acceleration.

General Comments:

This bike is powerful enough to lift the front tire a little off the ground on take off; impressive for a cruiser. My buddy has a CBR; no problem keeping up off the line, although I will get smoked on the top end. Hey, after all it's a cruiser.

This bike is a head turner; people love the styling. Looks very mean, like something an assassin would ride. Nothing like when the sun beams on the black paint showing off the blue flake. Perfect mix of black and chrome.

Very comfortable for rider and passenger as well, so I've been told by many girls I've had on it. I've heard about the ease of getting girls on a Harley; I will tell you the girls love this bike as much as I do. Never struck out on this bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2008

2005 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 2 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 1 / 10
Handling marks 0 / 10
Braking marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki Boulevard M50

Summary:

The Suzuki M50 is a piece of crap

Faults:

The Suzuki M50 is a lemon. Since I owned it new, it backfired and blew ignition fuses, and no dealer could fix it. Then it was recalled, and I even had to pay to have the recall done, even when the bike was covered under an extended warranty. Every time I took the bike to the dealer for a warranty problem, I got charged for it.

The bike wobbles and vibrates above 50 mph. The dealer said new tires and a wheel balance would correct it, but after another $400 for new tires it still wobbles and vibrates.

The lean forward riding position is uncomfortable, the bike lacks any acceleration and power, it blows black smoke from the exhaust, and the bike is an embarrassment. I hate IT!

General Comments:

It's a cheap, generic, low quality bike, that's hard to ride and offers no performance.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th January, 2008

27th Jan 2008, 20:50

I am curious; how did you get charged for warranty work when the bike was under your warranty? Any recalls on any bike, car, etc. is always covered for free. If you got charged for these services, you need to make a complaint to the Better Business Bureau, or your State Attorney's office.

7th Mar 2008, 15:24

I have owned a M50 since their debut in 2005. I haven't had 1 problem with mine. I wouldn't paint all M50's as lemons. Maybe just yours is. I didn't have to pay for my recall, and other than that, it hasn't been to the dealer.

I love everything about this bike. It is in the 800 class, so you have to look at it's competition. It is a 10 times better bike than any sportster I've rode. I'm just saying to not paint such a broad stroke.

22nd Jun 2012, 03:04

The guy who wrote these comments must have bought the Chinese version of the M50.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 17 reviews