1980 Suzuki GS850

Summary:

This should be one word; perfect!

Faults:

At about 3000 miles in 1980 the stator went out. That is all that has broken in 27 years.

General Comments:

This is the best motorcycle I have owned to date, and I have had plenty. If it were to be reproduced tomorrow, I would be the first in line to get a new one.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th February, 2007

27th Feb 2012, 02:08

I envy you guys. I would love to have a Suzy GS850. Here, it's extinct. And due to government protocol, we cannot import in old, old bikes.

1982 Suzuki GS850

Summary:

The best bike I have ever owned

Faults:

Nothing.

I have been restoring minor wear and tear items, but nothing significant.

It was well cared for since 1982 and is now pampered.

General Comments:

Very loyal machine. Big, heavy and fast enough for excitement. Makes long trips a joy.

All the reviews were accurate, it's a long running, low cost cruiser.

At this point, it's old enough to tinker with occasionally, but no heavy repairs are on the horizon.

Other bikes may come and go, but this one will be in my garage forever.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2007

1979 Suzuki GS850

Summary:

Perfect, inexpensive, reliable bike to learn touring on

Faults:

Battery died within 2 years.

28 year old seat finally split about 3 inches on a seam.

Nothing serious or expensive.

General Comments:

For someone new to touring, this is the bike to ride. You can get accustomed to the touring weight and handling before going to a land yacht.

Reliable, trouble-free, and smooth, this bike just plain feels good. It's quite comfortable and stable, plus it has the classic 70s 80s transition look going on. All it really needs to reinforce this statement is a mullet!

Riding for 40 years, I've been through most manufacturers and types. The 850 is Marty's chair on the TV show Frazier: for personal comfort, it just can't be replaced without spending a lot of money and, even then, it just wouldn't be the same. It has the power to get you out of trouble, but not enough to get you into it; it's reliable so you don't have to shell out bucks to keep riding.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2006

1981 Suzuki GS850

Summary:

My GS850L is quick, comfortable, handles well, it is very reliable and the best $800 I've ever spent

Faults:

The speedometer cable needed replacement at 17,220 miles.

The engine start switch housing was replaced at 17,220 miles.

The tachometer cable needs replacement; The part is currently on order.

The left side front cam end seal has a small oil leak; I have the parts and will do the job over the winter.

All four rubber carburetor runners need replacement; I will replace all four over the winter.

General Comments:

The motorcycle's seat is very comfortable, even on long rides.

The bike's seating position and location of the hand grips and foot pegs make long rides easy.

For a heavy bike it has plenty of power and will even lift the front wheel when accelerating from a stop.

The bike's seat, paint and chrome have held up very well for its age.

Brakes are excellent and the 2-rotor setup for the front brake is better than on many newer bikes.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2006

1982 Suzuki GS850

Summary:

It makes me give thanks to God

Faults:

Ignitor box.

Headlight.

Final drive.

Seat.

Tac face screw.

Horn button.

General Comments:

Bought new in Japan during my Navy days. All the reviews of the day were positive. They were close, but couldn't know how great a bike the 850 truly is.

At about 7500 miles the pumpkin (?) went bad. Suzuki has an excellent record of driveline reliability so I asked my mechanic what happened. He thought it was due to poor assembly (I had it shipped from Japan and put together by a shop in San Diego that has long since been out of business). Since then it has been trouble free. The ignitor box failed in 1996. A factory replacement set me back about $400, but for as many miles as it has had to endure, and all the years it sat outside, I can't gripe.

The seat pan has rusted itself into two pieces. Sitting in the weather with a ripped seat helped it along.

The horn button broke. The little plastic button itself.

A screw holding the tac face has backed itself out and rolls around the bottom of the instrument face.

Been through a few headlight bulbs over the years. Not unexpected. But the reflective inner lining of the headlight is peeling making the light less effective.

The shim under bucket valve adjustment is not nearly as easy as the adjuster screw set up of my GS700E, but that's about as harsh as I can be concerning maintenance. Newer motorcycles have eclipsed the 850 in every measurable respect, but not one (in my opinion) has put it all together in so satisfying a way.

The 850G may not have flash, blinding speed, or brick wall braking, but it will keep you smiling like a fool long after you SHOULD have stopped riding.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

11th Apr 2007, 17:53

I live in Tennessee and bought my 83 Suzuki GL in 1984 with 600 miles on it, and now, in 2007, have 18000 miles on it.

I have taken it to shop only for tires, no maintenance, and have only had to replace the headlight bulb 3 times. It's built like a tank and so reliable, and rides just great. I am 66 and am sure it will outlast me by a long-shot. The only other bike I had that rode this well is the 1956 Triumph Tiger 110 when I was in high school, but the reliability of it was no match for the Suzuki.

I can't bear to part with it, but my wife says I cannot have it buried with me when my time comes.

1982 Suzuki GS850

Summary:

Lots of fun in a safe and reliable package

Faults:

All the rubber parts have dried or cracked.

Gas gauge is flaky, intermittently quits.

General Comments:

Exellent street cruising bike, but not one I would ride long distance.

At almost 50k miles it still smokes the tire, and stops quick and straight.

The seat is a bit high and firm for my taste, but it's generally a good sport/touring combination.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2005

11th Oct 2006, 16:54

I was wondering if you know the firing order is? I can't seem to figure it out. Can you help me?

Email me at clintonqqqqq@excite.com

Thanks