2001 Suzuki TL1000R

Summary:

Best bang for your buck

Faults:

Sprockets wear fast because of torque from the v twin. They need to bring back the TL; they are lasting longer than the GSX.

General Comments:

This is the all around sport bike. Not the fastest, but the best built all around.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2010

16th Jan 2014, 06:43

Everybody seems to slate these bikes in the biking world, but with some small improvements for what I think is little money, major changes can be made to one brilliant motorcycle. Hence I have owned one for a number of years now, and really can't see anything on the market at the moment to better what I have with the improvements I've made to her. Go buy yourselves one, and try one awesome bit of kit. You'll not be disappointed.

Regards, Jim Rizla TL1000R

2002 Suzuki TL1000R

Summary:

This beast rocks!!!

Faults:

I had to replace the clutch at 10,000 miles. I only drag raced the bike one night on the street from light to light with a friend, and never did any burnouts.

The tabs on the rear cowl broke almost completely off (this could be from doing 180 mph on the bike).

General Comments:

This bike is the perfect balance between comfort, power, and handling. Not for beginners. Wheelies are very easy (no clutch needed). Acceleration is awesome.

This is my fifth bike, and by far the best. Very comfortable for both the driver and passenger, and the exhaust note is simply amazing. I will own this bike for a very long time (16000 miles in two seasons = 1 very big grin that does not go away).

Check out www.TLPlanet.com to see how many people love this bike. I am da-rainman

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2006

2003 Suzuki TL1000R

Summary:

Awesome bike, you either love the TLR or hate it

Faults:

One of the rubber grommets for suspension is starting to deteriorate, and every now and then I get a false neutral.

General Comments:

This bike is great, but does require some seat time to get used to.

The torque is amazing and requires a gentle hand in the corners.

I still have no idea how to set up the suspension for my body type, but I have gotten used to the stock settings.

I have replaced the stock seat with a gel seat for comfort.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2005

29th May 2010, 10:30

I agree this is a great bike, when I can get it to run. I've had major starting issues with this bike. I'm wondering if anyone knows why this bike is sooo hard to start. Once I get it running, it runs great, but once I turn it off, I can't get it started again. I've changed out the fuel filter, battery, spark plugs, and the starter relay and it still won't start. Can anybody help me? antoniobpi@hotmail.com or 704-733-7792 Antonio

27th Sep 2010, 17:20

A lot of time, the starting problem is the choke. It may need to be re-adjusted. Also it is a cold hearted bike, but only needs a quarter choke.

24th Feb 2013, 07:57

I own a 02 and 03 TL1000R. Recently I let my 03 sit in the garage for a few weeks, got cold and I fouled out the spark plugs. Wow, today I went and pulled out the two plugs from my 02 parts bike, they only had 4 thousand on them. Cleaned them and installed the one under the tank. Heated up the garage a bit, battery was fully charged, the bike cranked right up on the one cylinder, and the other fouled out plug cleared up once it got hot.

If you have problems starting, you fouled the plugs up, you're cooked and will have to pull the plugs and clean them.

Hoping this info will help.

David A Bonito, Fayetteville, Georgia.

1999 Suzuki TL1000R

Summary:

Awesome bike!!!

Faults:

My gas tank needed to be resealed from the bottom by the fuel pump. This is a simple gasket fix or equivalent.

Rear seat or cowl loose. This just needs to be adjusted by the latch.

General Comments:

The TL1000R is a great motorcycle. It has the speed, the torque, and the adrenaline rush motorcycle fanatics crave.

Even though the motorcycle is heavier in comparison to its competitors, it has the capability to keep up or outrun. As experienced motorcyclists know, its not the bike, but the rider. However, to be able to throw this bike around you must have the size. I am 6'4'' and 270lbs. Many of my friends can't handle it!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

5th Feb 2006, 17:14

Your size doesn't matter here, it is the experience (My 5th bike and 12 years on sport-bikes). I am only 5'10" 185 lbs. and I tear up the asphalt with this bike. Shift from first to 2nd in the middle of the power-band and just ride out all of 2nd in a wheelie. I can get my bike almost scraping on some turns and I only ride it on the street (That is with a passenger too). This beast rocks!

2001 Suzuki TL1000R

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

There have been no problems so far with my bike, I love it.

General Comments:

This motocycle is very fast and handles like a top.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2005

2001 Suzuki TL1000R

Summary:

Since production on these bikes have ended, they are sure to be rare finds soon

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the bike so far.

General Comments:

Compared to a 600 or 750 the acceleration is great, but it is much heavier and more difficult to handle.

The bike is more than capable of doing what the others will, it just takes a little time to get used to laying a bike that heavy down in the curves.

After riding my TL, I feel like I am on a toy on a 600.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2005