Baja Motorsports SC125 Reviews

2006 Baja Motorsports SC125 from United States of America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired600 miles
Most recent distance850 miles

Summary:

It runs cheaply, fast, and is fun

Faults:

A side mirror broke off, but it was easily replaced with original parts direct from Baja Motorsports.

The battery tends to drain if not started once a week. I combat this with a trickle charger I bought for $20 at an auto parts store. I plug it in when I am not riding and now it is always ready to go.

Some vacuum lines have dried out and cracked. These may need to be replaced soon.

The gas gauge has never functioned properly since I have owned it.

General Comments:

I commute 15 miles each way to work on this thing. It runs great and gets about 80 MPG, maybe more.

I have no problems keeping up in traffic. It will do 60 MPH. I love watching people switching lanes behind me at stop lights, assuming I will hold up traffic, only to leave them far behind off the line.

You can carry a passenger on it with comfort.

Only downside is that it doesn't corner all that tightly. Not a major problem, though.

It is a huge plus that you can order replacement parts direct from Baja Motorsports. I now know that I will be able to ride this scooter as long as I wish. Even the body panels can be ordered if cracked. When I replaced my broken mirror, they were helpful and fast at getting it to me.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2008

19th Sep 2013, 11:42

I love my scooter, but I'm having trouble with getting a kickstand for it. If you have a site where I could go and get one, I would be grateful.

Heide

2006 Baja Motorsports SC125 from United States of America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.9 / 10
Distance when acquired327 miles
Most recent distance600 miles

Summary:

Comfortable ride

Faults:

The only problem is the battery doesn't charge itself, and it's supposed to.

General Comments:

This scooter is great. I've only had problems with keeping the battery charged. At least the kick start works every time.

The turn signals don't flash as quick as they should when the battery is dead, and the gauges are a little off. Other than that I have no complaints.

It rides smooth. It can handles dips that smaller scooters have problems with. It gets up and goes well, and I can keep up with traffic.

I am 6 feet tall, and weight 230, and I still get 100MPG. I love filling up at the gas station. It makes up for the few laughs you get for riding a moped.

I got a good deal I think. It rides great.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th July, 2008

18th Sep 2008, 18:27

I have the same problem - wondering what you did to fix the problem?

raphelps24@yahoo.com thanks.

2006 Baja Motorsports SC125 from United States of America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1150 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS450E

Summary:

Awesome - 90 MPG!!

Faults:

No problems at all.

Seat latch needed to be adjusted to get it in the right place.

General Comments:

I bought it on the recommendation of my dad. He got rid of his Honda CH-80 and got the SC-125 about a year ago. He has put on over 5000 miles. I have had mine for a month and have 1200 on mine. I use it for primary transportation.

The only down side is the bottom is low and you can't lean deep into a turn. Then again, it's probably best that way.

One thing I did to improve this was to remove the service kick stand. I don't see a need to keep it on the bike.

I may give this to my son, and get one of their 150cc bikes for me.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2008

2006 Baja Motorsports SC125 from United States of America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1 kilometres
Most recent distance900 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Had problems getting it to start when taking it out of storage; cleaned spark plug and runs fine.

Unable to lean because kickstand drags.

General Comments:

Never left me stranded.

Runs great.

Great gas mileage,

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2008

2006 Baja Motorsports SC125 from United States of America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance600 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB450SC Nighthawk

Summary:

I think it's an amazing scooter

Faults:

So far the only problem I had was a brake line rubbing on the front fascia. I zipped tied it back in place and that was it.

General Comments:

This scooter is great. I drive it every day; I mean every day.

I use it as my main ride, and I do all the maintenance myself.

The gas mileage is amazing. I haven't even noticed gas prices since I bought it. I just put in a buck and roll.

It's quick too. I don't take it on the freeway because it seems to get shaky about 60. But on the street under 60 I breeze through traffic no problem.

It's very comfortable and I love to cruise it.

Not only that, but the styling looks great; it's sporty in the back, really cool.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2007

2007 Baja Motorsports SC125 from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance45 miles
Previous motorcycleKymco Agility 50

Summary:

A great value for beating traffic in town

Faults:

The throttle cable came off of the carburetor, but I was able to put it back into place quickly. This problem was due to excessive slack in the throttle cable, which was remedied easily with the adjustment nut.

General Comments:

Peppy acceleration.

Comfortable ride.

Sounds like a bigger bike.

Mediocre handling due to limited ability to lean (caused by kickstand).

Inexpensive and great value for the money!

Sporty styling.

Has a clock on the instrument cluster!

Easier to start compared to previous scooters I have owned.

High-visibility dual headlights.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2007

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews