2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Reviews

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles

Summary:

Comfortable great bike

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Love this motorcycle.

Handles great, comfortable, and something my wife will ride with me on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance6800 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VTX1300 Retro

Summary:

So far, flawless, comfortable & fun

Faults:

This has been the most comfortable bike I've ever had. So far, it's been very reliable and worry free. Nothing wrong.

General Comments:

I've been very comfortable on this bike, but I have added Elka shocks and a Baja Rons anti-sway bar. The bike handles perfectly now with no complaints.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance1489 miles
Previous motorcycleBRP Can-Am Spyder Roadster

Summary:

Buying it is the best thing I have ever done

Faults:

I have owned this motorcycle for six months, and so far have had no problems.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is very easy to learn to handle for beginners; in some states a motorcycle endorsement is not required to drive it.

The passenger seat on the rear of the motorcycle is one of the most secure and comfortable ones I have ever seen.

There is a tremendous amount of storage on this machine.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance3600 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha Virago

Summary:

Would buy another in a heartbeat

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Love the way it handles.

Rides great long distance.

Very comfortable front and rear seating.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4200 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda GL1500 SE Gold Wing

Faults:

Rear wheel speed sensor.

General Comments:

Great ride, but gets poor gas mileage.

Do not like the fact that your right foot gets hot while riding from the engine heat.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2013

27th Sep 2013, 13:22

Yes. I agree. Poor gas mileage. Foot gets hot from exhaust heat. Also have trouble with the electronic trunk switch.

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance985 miles

Summary:

A head turner and very comfortable

Faults:

Brake lights keep sticking on.

Had numerous error codes, but they were corrected by updating the computer.

General Comments:

The Spyder RT has ample power, and the paddle shift is great.

The down side is it needs a 6th gear to improve mileage on the highway, because it is running over 5000 RPM.

Only getting 38-40 miles per gallon. It should be much greater.

Storage for traveling is great, and my partner will ride with me now!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2012 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT from United States of America

Model year2012
Year of manufacture2012
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 4 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Goldwing GL1200 SE-i

Summary:

They're still experiencing growing pains and refining the Spyders...

Faults:

No problems to date.

General Comments:

Bought the bike so my wife would ride with me; the 3-wheeled aspect was the primary draw so it would help minimise the potential for dropping the bike... and her. As a nurse with 41 years of ER/intensive care service, I didn't want her to have to experience anything like her patients had.

Bottom line: she is comfortable on the bike as a passenger and I am miserable. The seating position puts my legs in a bind that causes my knees and hips to ache to the point it makes me take a break after an hour. Get back on to ride and I need another break very soon. A standard motorcycle doesn't hurt me.

In no particular order:

Don't like the handling characteristics - engine noise; rides like it gets buffeted by the wind, and I know it's not that windy out every time I ride, to the point it feels like you're in a rowboat on a lake and it is wallowing in wind driven waves.

Don't like its shifting for me... you must meet certain RPM/speeds to upshift and it downshifts for you... or you can do that yourself -- either way, it's too much shifting, but they say they fixed that with the 2014 models 'no shifting in town'.

Turn signal only self-cancels on FULL (approaching 90 degrees +/-) turns, and when you manually cancel the signal, it's difficult to not go too far and be signaling in the opposite direction.

The gas gauge is a joke; shows empty when it's still about half full... that shouldn't require rocket science to engineer properly.

The brake pedal is right underneath the right foot peg; must be careful not to let your foot rest on it... and so it goes...

I'd buy another Goldwing instead - bought a new 1975 (dressed it), a new 1980 Interstate, and a new 1986 Se-i, before I'd buy another Spyder.

Browse some Spyder forums, some love 'em. I'm about to leave mine.

And it's not that I haven't ridden bikes... since 1970 until today, and haven't ridden straight through from central Ohio to Daytona Beach a few times...

Go with whatcha know. And ride on...

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2013

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews