Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic Reviews

1998 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from Singapore

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 kilometres
Most recent distance42000 kilometres
Previous motorcyclePiaggio X8 400cc

Summary:

Definitive US enjoyment

Faults:

None.

Just tarnish on chrome parts.

General Comments:

Great sturdy bike.

Very good handling.. Low seat.

Easy suspension. Nice noise.

I bought it because it was already a bit tarnished.

I am not good at cleaning bikes.

But enjoyment from ride is 100% there!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2011

2007 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 4 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson 1942 XA

Summary:

Great motor and trans, but the rest needs some work

Faults:

Rear spokes have come loose twice.

Spokes & rims rusting.

Paint flaking off clutch & brake clamps.

General Comments:

Great looking bike.

Motor & trans are as good as any out there.

Poor chrome quality.

The spokes need to be checked often even with easy riding as mine came loose on the rear at 5000 miles, and again at 8000 miles.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th August, 2009

7th Feb 2010, 15:28

My springs started to rust. Got them powder coated. Also got rims of cross bones, also whitewalls, it looks good now.

2007 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired3410 miles
Most recent distance7300 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FXDCI 2006

Summary:

A style and performance leader

Faults:

Left footpad on highway bars came off - at 50 mph - gone.

General Comments:

I love this bike. As others have written - it's not your run of the mill Harley. Mine is green & black - when the windshield is off - it is the coolest looking, most retro bike around - I get a lot of comments about its styling. Can't understand why it's not more popular - but I'm glad there aren't too many around :)

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2009

2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from United States of America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40 miles
Most recent distance8900 miles
Previous motorcycleTriumph Bonneville

Faults:

Nothing at all. Runs and starts perfect every time. I pride myself in taking care of my vehicles and watch everything closely.

I am pleasantly surprised at the build quality of this bike.

General Comments:

Once you get use to the steering it's a great bike! It's comfortable enough to ride all day and you can set it up for touring fairly easily (if your wallet lets you).

Most people love this bike and many ask about it. The only problem I've had is with Harley service. On one occasion I dropped it off to have the steering adjustment checked and lubed; they gave it back with the triple-tree severely gouged up by a wrench. To their credit they replaced the tree, but I was without the bike for a week during prime riding time.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2009

2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from United States of America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.1 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance15600 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200R

Summary:

May the Springer never die!!!

Faults:

My fuel gage stopped working around 5K and hasn't worked accurately since. I've heard that this is a common problem and supposedly there is a cheap fix, but it doesn't really bother me. I reset my trip OD and use that as reference. The low fuel light comes on for an early warning anyway.

General Comments:

This bike is extremely easy to ride. Along with the beach bars, floor boards and upright riding position, it is a very comfortable riding bike.

The sprung front end takes some getting used to, but handles the road with confidence. Having the wider front tire makes a big difference in the way the bike handles as well. It handles cracks and grooves in the road like a champ!

Overall this bike is a very good replica of the "Venerable 45". One of the best selling models in HD history. Everything about it screams retro and you will be hard pressed to find many of them!

I don't understand why more folks aren't drawn to this bike. Its beautiful! But in a way I'm glad to see folks admire it when I come cruising up.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2008

2007 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from Australia

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16500 kilometres

Summary:

Great bike, stand out from the crowd

Faults:

Cracked paint on the bottom front fender bracket.

This has been fixed under warranty.

General Comments:

Gets approving looks and comments every time I pull up.

It's nice not to be the same as other Harley's.

The 96 twin cam motor is a revelation; great power and heaps of torque.

Fitted Screaming Eagle pipes, S/E Hi flow air filter, S/E Race tuner.

Sounds heaps better and breathes easier.

Very happy with the bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2008

2007 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from United States of America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3400 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS750L

Summary:

Wonderful bike, excellent quality

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

I love this bike. It has the old time look. Mine has only the small set of bags, no windshield. I love the feel of wind in my face.

The Springer handles great, and I love the way the light shines when it bobs up and down on rough roads. My dream come true, thanks to my wonderful wife for approving the deal. Life looks better over the handlebars of my new springer.

I also added the extra two lights on the front. Thank you Harley Davidson...

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2008

25th Jan 2010, 22:34

My name is Liam from Ireland. I also have a Springer Classic. People ask how old it is; I show them the licence plate it has.

S wide bars, black rims, springs are powder coated, I love to bits.

2007 Harley-Davidson FLSTSC Softail Springer Classic from United Kingdom

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance2666 miles
Previous motorcycleHarley-Davidson FLSTN

Summary:

My dream shattered!!!

Faults:

Rusted out wheels after 8 weeks of use.

Front fender welds rusted out.

Failed to start first time.

Main dealer wouldn't uphold warranty.

Head office UK failed to help.

10 month old bike!!! 2666 miles...

Junk.

General Comments:

Good 40s look.

But it's just for display purpose only.

Harley Spingers made in 2007 are just for indoor show.

God forbid you use it, the warranty will be void.

Can't get custom parts to fit.

Looks the part next to a B17 bomber.

Not for use should be on the license plate.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2008

3rd Nov 2008, 08:23

I do not know where you ride, but I have rode across Germany and have had no problems.

2nd Jan 2009, 18:29

23000 miles, no problems.

25th Mar 2009, 16:14

In the future try staying out of the ocean with it. I can't imagine what else would cause all that.

27th Mar 2009, 15:01

I have owned a Springer Classic for three years. No problems with the bike at all. Great build quality and love riding it!

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews