2015 Harley-Davidson Freewheeler from United States of America

Summary:

TERRIBLE TO RIDE due to heat and rear suspension buck board ride

Faults:

The bike is terrible to ride compared to the previous 15 Harleys I have owned. Two major design problems.

1. The heat coming off the right side makes the trike impossible to ride. Your leg becomes so hot at a traffic light you have to take your foot off the brake and place it far out to the side. I installed the seat deflectors, but the heat is terrible. The heat is radiating horizontally off the front jug and heater pipe, so that stopping is impossible. At speed it is far less of a problem. This is a design issue they should have solved before selling the bike.

2. The ride is terrible due to the solid axle on the rear. If you hit a bump with either tire, the bike will rock back and forth. Hold on, it is a bumpy ride. For the money Harley should have installed independent rear suspension; coil over shock half shaft suspension.

Knowing what I know today and because of health reasons, I would have found a set of training wheels for my FXSTC.

General Comments:

See above - 2 major design issues that were both preventable through engineering design.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th July, 2019

19th Aug 2019, 03:38

The Freewheeler is a good bike, once it’s broken in. Own a 2016 and have never had a problem. 17,000 miles on it. Bumpy ride. Depends on the road.

20th Sep 2019, 03:18

The Freewheeler is no different than any bike I have ridden. You get some heat in hot weather. Never stopped me from riding coast to coast last year in July. I do have the typical heat deflectors above the cylinder. Been riding bikes since 1958. Honda, BMW, Yamaha, Indian, Velosolex, BSA, Victory, HD. Most all motorcycles will heat your legs in hot summers. YOU'RE SITTING OVER THE CYLINDERS.

2018 Harley-Davidson Freewheeler from United States of America

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

I have had the voltage regulator replaced.

General Comments:

I love it. I went from a 2 wheeler to the Freewheeler. I think it still looks sporty and cool.

I am afraid of the reverse going out. I try not to use it much. I have heard the reverse motor is gonna fail, and is quite pricey to fix.

Overall I love the bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2019

12th Jun 2021, 18:54

Yes you are right the reverse motor wears out quick. 2016, used reverse motor several times then burn out. Had to replace it. Working OK now, but for how long!!!

13th May 2022, 04:47

Reverse on a freewheeler is to be used sparingly. Find ways to park your bike so it isn't needed. Examples: if you must pull in forward, only do so on an uphill incline so that backing out is downhill. If you must, only back in on a downhill incline so pulling out is uphill. Make an effort to look for these convenient spots to park and don't just pull it into any old parking place, it's your reverse motor...

2019 Harley-Davidson Freewheeler from United States of America

Summary:

Very easy handling bike

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Wish it had better gas miles, but other than that, GREAT.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2019

2017 Harley-Davidson Freewheeler from United States of America

Summary:

It's a beautiful bike and I'm always ready to ride

Faults:

I have only had a couple of things that I've had to deal with. First was my reverse and the second was the clutch, but overall I love her.

General Comments:

I love my 2017 Freewheel. It's a smooth ride and I'm so glad I saw her on the showroom floor. It wasn't the bike that sold me, it was the color of the bike. It's the comfort of the bike that keeps me on her. I can count on a smooth easy ride every time I get on her.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2018

2015 Harley-Davidson Freewheeler from United States of America

Summary:

I am pretty well satisfied with the Freewheeler

Faults:

Failed reverse motor and factory paint started falling off the right rear fender.

General Comments:

For a trike I am well satisfied.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2018

20th Jul 2019, 19:21

I had a 15 FRT. The 103 motor kept trying to burn my right leg and my wife's right leg. I now have a 17 FRT with the 109 motor; a much cooler running motor.

12th Jun 2021, 18:56

Strange, I had the same problem. Rear right fender paint job is bad, rest of bike perfect. Reverse motor burned out quickly, replaced it. Expensive!!!

4th Aug 2021, 16:46

I had the same problems on my 2016 Freewheeler. Reverse motor went out, clutch went out, and paint on right fender chipping off. Harley will not even help. They say they're my problems.