1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from United States of America

Summary:

I love it!

General Comments:

Just bought the bike last week. Have only taken it for a couple of spins, but VERY impressed with a bike that is 29 years old. Has 21K miles with full fairing.

I would love to have a sissy bar and either Hondaline bags or a trunk box. I'm looking forward to Spring! Please contact me if you know where I can get a set of hard bags, trunk box and a sissy bar.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2011

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from Canada

Summary:

Fun to ride, plan to keep it for a long time

Faults:

Little hard to start when cold outside.

I have had no problems with this bike.

General Comments:

I really enjoy this bike.

Like the 10 speed transmission - great range.

The bike is nice and quick - runs really well.

Unique bike - stands out in a crowd.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th January, 2011

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from Mexico

Summary:

Remarkable!

Faults:

Had to change the two transmission chains.

Will have clean the carters off of the metal chips.

Will to calibrate one of the valves; it's clicking.

Will have to change the valve over gaskets.

Will have to buy a new front fender.

The cat damaged the seat.

Found out it only has 4 shifts instead of five.

General Comments:

Regardless of all above, it's a very hot motorcycle.

The seat is uncomfortable, needs a lumbar support.

It's been modified to a very nice retro look.

It's a handsome machine heavy, but soft on the ride.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2010

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from United States of America

Summary:

Awesome machine.. don't make 'em like they used to... too bad

Faults:

Speedometer cable rattled... that's all.. been running excellently.. (if that's a word)

General Comments:

This bike will turn the heads of even Harley owners I've come across, (and passed)... been on several poker runs with a bunch of Harleys, and always got the "thumbs up" from all of them... Most reliable bike I ever owned, and I never liked Hondas... go figure.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2010

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from United States of America

Summary:

Last bike I'm buying, rebuilding for my son

Faults:

Front fork seals at 10,000.

Starter at 10,348.

Carburetors rebuild at 11,024.

Brakes, carburetors, coils, A&B cam chains 17564.

General Comments:

Best Motorcycle I have ever had. Hey Honda, start making more parts, keep your 1 year product alive.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2009

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from Taiwan

Summary:

I'm grateful to have such a great, elegant and powerful bike

Faults:

When at idling, the motor generates a kind of fuzzy sound, somewhat like that of an old machine in operation.

The motor is a bit cold-blooded, and needs to run a distance of at least 2 miles with choke on even after it's properly warmed up to get normal performance.

General Comments:

It's a powerful, smooth, fun-riding, multifunctional, and economical big bike.

I have simultaneously owned a 1978 Kawasaki KZ1000, a 1981 CB900 Custom, a 1983 CB1100F, a 1985 Sabre V65 and this 1983 Custom 1000 in the past 2 ~ 5 years, yet this 1000 Custom is, the way I think, the best among them in every aspect.

I once rode it on a local expressway and made a solid 130 mph!!! Given some more time and guts, I think I could "break the speedometer".

Please bear in mind that I live and work all my life in Taiwan, which is a country with very complicated and, in most of the time and situations, rough and crowded road systems which makes these heavy bikes harder and less advantageous to drive, yet whenever I'm on this Custom 1000, everything seems much easier and safer.

I love this bike, and I'll keep it straight and sweet for many many years to accompany me.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2009

8th Apr 2013, 20:27

I have no problem with the idle. Just let it run with the choke for about 4-5 minutes, and it runs like a charm.

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from United States of America

Summary:

Rock solid, fast,and enjoyable.

Faults:

I opened the air box to find about 75 ACORNS & HICKORY NUTS INSIDE! Yet... the bike not only reached 95 mph, it was only running on TWO cylinders! We replaced one of the two ignition modules so that cylinders 2 & 3 would join in.

General Comments:

Low enough to be in/on the bike. Good low center of gravity. Smooth strong acceleration.

Seat a little uncomfortable after 30 minutes. Only one seating position. Handles predictably & surely.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2008