Honda CB1000 Custom Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from United States of America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Distance when acquired16386 miles
Most recent distance16400 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GSF600 Bandit (Unfaired)

Summary:

This bike is clearly a home wrecker

Faults:

I just bought the bike with 16,000 +- miles on it, and haven't had much time to ride the bike yet.

I have noticed that there's a valve cover gasket leak that has to be addressed, and one of the carbs may have a slow leak.

Oh yeah, I will need some new brake pads and possibly new rotors if they cannot be turned.

General Comments:

So far from the 5 mile trip I have taken on it, it seems to be a pretty strong and powerful bike.

I can't wait to get the leaks and pads fixed. I see a lot of miles and fun times on the bike. Hopefully the few little parts that I do need will not be hard to find.

I love the styling, and the raised white letters on the wheels look great. I think this bike has found a permanent home.

I think I got a pretty good deal on the bike. I paid $1200.00 (US Dollars) for the bike with +- 16K miles on it in decent shape. What do you think?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2007

23rd Feb 2008, 14:48

Sounds like you did alright on your deal; I have seen prices go to as high as $3k, but the bike was mint.

26th Jul 2008, 13:25

CB900 parts will work on your 1000. I have two CB1000; one is a parts bike, it has the rotor on it. e-mail jimboabe@yahoo.com

27th Mar 2010, 20:08

I hope you enjoy your CB Custom.. Just a one year run of that bike.. sounds like a really good deal. I purchased a 1981 CB900 custom 23,000 miles 1100.00 dollars. Never been down. Safe riding to all! 3/27/10.

6th Sep 2010, 12:36

Just got the bike a couple weeks ago. 20,000 miles on it for $1100 with no problems, and it rides great, smooth acceleration, garage kept, and it still has the original paint in mint condition. Great bike, fun ride. I will have it for many more years.

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from Canada

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB900 Custom

Summary:

One of Honda's best motorcycles

Faults:

Carburetor jets needed replacing,

General Comments:

Wonderfully reliable motorcycle.

Extremely good touring machine with Honda-line fairing.

Acceptable brakes and handling for such a large machine.

Quick acceleration, lots of top end.

High range cuts rpm on highway dramatically.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2005

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom from United States of America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

Possibly the greatest street bike ever built

Faults:

Carburator overhaul, disc brake pads, tires.

Requires a tuneup every 4000 miles.

General Comments:

Wonderful old upright street bike. This thing turns heads, even in a crowd of brand new Harley's. I bought it from a cycle shop that was trying to reduce their inventory a couple of years ago, not knowing there is a whole following for these machines. The only year Honda made a CB 1000 Custom was 1983, and I lucked out and accidentally found one.

This hunk of machinery will cruise all day long at 100 mph, or ride around town and still be easy on the rider. I have attained as high as 53 miles to the gallon, and as low as 35, but learning how to use the dual range 5 speed transmission helps economy and performance. That's right, a 10 speed motorcycle.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

3rd Jul 2005, 05:27

I have a CB1000 Custom also and love it. Where can I find more info on these bikes?

chris_salisbury@msn.com

15th Aug 2005, 03:40

I am looking to buy one of these beauties, where can I find more information on this motorcycle?

Thank You.

Phredus@gmail.com.

4th Sep 2005, 17:42

I've been thinking of putting mine on ebay, I'm not sure though. This is A BEAST THOUGH. I love eating up crotch rockets on my grandpa bike, what a sleeper.

Definatly one of the best bikes I've ever owned, whats the market value on a bike this rare?

mordantprick@yahoo.com

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 17 reviews