1974 Honda CB750 from United States of America - Comments

14th Jun 2008, 20:02

I just bought a 1974 CB750K for $400. It's in pretty good shape and runs well.

I have been trying to find parts to restore it, but I am having no luck. I need a fuel tank (it has a minor dent), an exhaust system (it only has straight pipes), and new suspension (has a lowered system on it). I plan to get the engine rebuilt this winter also.

Other than those minor things, it is a great bike. I weigh 370 lbs and this bike will move in a hurry. I am pretty sure the speedo cable is stretched also, but since I only drive it around town, I am not to worried about that.

I have ridden a lot of bikes over the last 25 years, and I have to say this is one of the most fun.

15th Jun 2008, 16:08

I'm looking to buy a 1979 cb750. The exhaust has been replaced by a 4 into 2. I'm searching for any original-style exhaust because, in my view, the 4 pipes were awesome looking. Heard of any aftermarket reproductions of the 4 pipes?

26th Jun 2008, 05:34

Well I don't know what sort of CB750 some of you blokes have, but my old CB750 is clocked for 85 mph. She is a 1982 CB750 DOHC, and she levels out at 115 to 120. My mate, a cop, clocked me on his radar system, and the old bike was screaming her heart and soul out, but to be honest I mostly just cruse along at about 55 to 60 mph, and enjoy.

By the way, my CB750 is on the road six days a week, no matter what the weather is like, and in Ireland it mostly rains.

29th Jun 2008, 18:56

I own a 1974 CB 750 four, I'm interested in buying an aftermarket seat for it, something that is a little more comfy for two people, especially since I'm 250 lbs! Any ideas where I can buy a seat??

2nd Jul 2008, 18:57

To the guy looking for the seat for CB750. Where you located? I have a brand new one. Leave a contact number or an address.

6th Jul 2008, 12:56

1976 750F. Great bike. I ride it daily to work a 60 mile round trip. Planing on taking it to the Blue Ridge Parkway soon.

10th Jul 2008, 10:52

My son just bought a'75 CB750. Any info on how to change oil would be greatly appreciated (shortcuts?). It has not been run regularly for a few years, but it seems to be running okay.

Also what problems can he expect when he puts 10% ethanol gas in it?

24th Jul 2008, 22:46

I run a '74/'75 (engine was replaced before I bought it and is '74 remainder is on a 75 frame). These are great bikes, but there really is no short cuts to the oil changes. You need to drain from BOTH plus and remove the filter housing and clean/replace all the filters, o-rings, and casings.

As the repair manual says, use 10w40, replace filter EVERY OTHER oil change, and change oil 2,000 Miles OR 2 Months.

As to the Ethanol Fuel, I personally do not recommend it as these beasties where not made for it. Remember some of these bikes where built back in the days of LEADED FUEL, and that the OCTANE ratings have changed over the years, and these bikes should have at least 85 octane.

14th Aug 2008, 12:44

I have a 77 CB750 4 k. I love it. My first bike, that I bought for $300. It scared the guy I bought it off of.

This bike is a tank, and it can hold 9000 rpms for a long time. When they say bullet proof engines, they mean it.

I can also say it is 4 into 1, and I have had it maxed out at a true 120mph. And I have gotten about 2 inches from dragging the pegs.

Great bike; I love it.

21st Aug 2008, 19:13

I found this site while looking for help with dismantling the carbs on a 750 a guy set out by the road for the trach pickup. He hadn't ridden it in 12 years.

Kick starter turns it over so I thought the carbs would be the first step in seeing if I can get it going. The tank, and the nasty gas in it were removed. The carbs are dry. I've removed them from the mounting plate, but cannot get the valve to part company from the throttle body. Just how do you go about removing the needle valve from the carburetor?

Any suggestions appreciated. Thanks, Bill.

22nd Sep 2008, 08:30

To the guy about the carbs, search CB750 on E-Bay. There are kits, books, and completely rebuilt carbs on exchange, or rebuild yours for $175 fully sync'ed.

17th Mar 2009, 21:22

Okay people, for one, if you don't have a CB 750, don't try to tell the ones who do what kind of speed to expect. I have 3 CB 750s; the one that's all stock and original can do 140 mph before you float the valves @ 9600 rpms. My cafe racer will do 162 before the same happens to it, but the rpms are @ 9700.

19th May 2009, 13:01

I'm a beginner looking for a classic bike that I can grow into. I found a used one for $1500 obo, but one of the carbs needs to be rebuilt. I haven't seen it in person to know if that's a good price or not, but I'm wondering if this bike is too much for me. Too heavy or perhaps needs too much mechanical knowledge to keep up without breaking my wallet? Any thoughts?

7th Aug 2009, 22:53

Just purchased a 1974 Honda 750 CB that is in good condition and runs great. It needs a new seat and some other minor parts.

Does anyone have a suggestion where you can get used or new after market parts for this motorcycle?

FYI - for those individuals riding these older motorcycles over 100mph, I hope you have good life insurance. These old bikes are for cruising not racing. If you want to go over 100mph, get a bike that was built in 2000 or newer.

1st Mar 2010, 19:32

In talking to others about my experience with a Honda 750, I have found it to be not that much different. Those in praise of the machine I don't think have owned it long enough to get to know its charms, or are too infatuated with it to see reality.

I purchased a 1974 Honda CB 750 brand new in 1974. The transmission had a very loud howl at 50 mph. After much hassle with the dealer, the entire transmission was replaced. It was better, but still not as quiet as I thought it should be. I have heard others have the same complaint.

It is very cold blooded as others have mentioned, however once running, it runs well.

Reliability however was terrible. A stuck carburator float, a main fuse that would blow for an unknown reason shutting down the lights and engine (really nice as you round a curve at night), a cheap chrome job, such that the wheels rusted inside the wheel rims where the two halves are welded together, resulting in a cut inner tube and a flat tire, a poorly routed chaffed wire under the rear fender shorting out the tail light, all four mufflers rusting out after 4 years (cheaply built although not cheaply priced). Don't spill any brake fluid if you add fluid to the front brake master cylinder. If you do, the fluid will drip down on the starter button and dissolve it completely out. Nice design. The list goes on. The bike is top heavy and the brakes are sub par; the front fading and the rear drum grabbing when they get wet.

The CB 750 is considered a "super bike", but in my opinion there is nothing "super" about it. I now drive a 23 year old Harley Davidson. It has been far more reliable, more comfortable, has better brakes, better handling and better looking even if it doesn't accelerate quite as fast. I've owned three Hondas in my life and will never own another.