Honda CB900F Hornet Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2008 Honda CB900F Hornet from Australia

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance137 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha YZF600R

Summary:

Fine bike for the riding position

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I picked up the new CB900 Hornet, and with a friend, went round some bits near Newcastle and back again. We did 137k of traffic, highway, twisties and suburbs.

I found the Honda to be a flattering bike to ride with very good (almost scary) turn in and balance, and the brakes are near perfect for town and the twisty bits as well.

I'm no demon rider, and have never been round a track, but don't mind a corner either.

It made me feel like I could corner that bit harder if I wanted to. It was a very narrow feel to the knees, more like a smaller bike; it's even quiet like one. But just one poke......

Having said that, I have just jumped off a

1995 YZF600Rg, which in February did good duty down round Tasmania touring trouble free, solo. I found the riding position to be a bit awkward after an hour or three of highway.

The CB is definitely the sweetest all round thing

I have ridden to date for traffic, highway (naked), suburbs, twisties, and wish I had bought one before.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

7th Dec 2008, 18:29

Agreed. It's the perfect city/cruising bike and makes a damn fine tourer, despite zero storage and fairings, who cares? I did 400k in one afternoon and after a short rest wanted to keep riding through the night (but resisted temptation).

9th Dec 2008, 15:38

I am looking at buying one of these bikes (used, 2007, 4k miles, 5999.00 USD, North Carolina) - looks exactly like what I am wanting. Stepping up from a 2008 Ninja 250R that I bought for my wife (and she decided she did not want to ride after all) - I have been stuck riding the little 250 since March 2008 - I weigh 255 Lbs. - NOT COOL.

Any quirks to be concerned with these bikes? Faulty wiring, weak transmission, etc...?

The bikes are great looking and they feel very well balanced.

2006 Honda CB900F Hornet from United Kingdom

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1700 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CBR600FY

Summary:

Next best thing to an aeroplane

Faults:

Rust!!!

General Comments:

A nice looking bike that drives beautifully and handles OK.

However my main gripe is that even though I've only ridden this once in wet weather, the brown stuff is starting to appear after only 8 months of ownership from new. The bike is garaged always, but I am bloody annoyed that I am now chasing rust like I used to do on machines 10 years and older. This says something about the finish to me.

I purchased a new Honda because everyone seems to applaud their build quality over other makes. But I have to disagree, as with everything now, things are built to a price and this Hornet is losing credibility with me just on this one fault.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th March, 2007

24th Nov 2010, 20:26

Maybe you have it in a damp environment. Or are you storing it near chemicals. Some chemicals just by being near things can cause a problem such as yours. Chlorine is one example.

2006 Honda CB900F Hornet from Australia

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda XR650R

Summary:

Simply Superb

Faults:

Nothing as yet.

I've owned quite a few Honda motorcycles and cars, and they rarely give any problems.

General Comments:

This bike has been a revelation, my last roadie was a CB1300 which went hard, but was a bit slow/sluggish in the cornering department.

My Honda CB900F is my 37th bike, and amongst that number is a 'busa, a ZX12R, GSX750R and a Suzi'TL1000. I traded the TL in on the CB1300 in September 2005. I have plenty of photos to support my ownership of these bikes, in fact I've got hundreds! The XR650R was an attempt to ride hard, but off-road, unfortunately my trails have been recently fenced off, plus I missed the road bikes.

The Hornet as it's known in 'Oz has been fitted with Staintune pipes, which has given it a more aggressive note and made it go harder.

My wife loves it, it's a nice colour and seems civil after the ZX12R! Importantly she will hop on the bike, it's that comfortable.

I'm enjoying road riding again. The bike has enough go to mono up my driveway, and despite the fact that it isn't run in yet, it has almost reached the speeds that my faster road bikes have on my favourite bit of road west of Newcastle (not top speeds, this section is pretty twisty). It flies, I love it and I'm hoping it may be the long awaited 'keeper' that we all lament after we sell them.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2007

Average review marks: 8.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews