2011 Honda CBR125R from Canada

Summary:

Sweet little bike, very flickable and fun on a curvy road, but not exactly a powerhouse

Faults:

Great bike so far.

General Comments:

Fun and cheerful commuter bike, ideal for driving around town or on back roads.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2012

2007 Honda CBR125R from Canada

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Pros:

- Cheap to buy, run and insure.

- Very light weight, flickable, good handling, decent disc brake on both front and back.

- Fuel injection is nice - no choke or cold start issues.

- Ideal for commuting or back roads.

- 0 to 80 KPH is decent.

Cons:

- Runs out of steam at about 90 KPH, and has a top speed of 110-120, depending on your weight, etc.

- Stay off the interstate during rush hour, or you'll get run over!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2011

2007 Honda CBR125R from Canada

Summary:

Perfect for beginners & commuters

Faults:

Three headlamps.

One set of tires.

Smashed signal pod dropping it in rain (replaced by dealer for free).

General Comments:

Excellent starter or commuter bike.

Cheap on: insurance, fuel, parts & speeding tickets.

Handles perfectly in the city.

Blown around easily on the highways.

Reliable fuel injection = no hassles.

Easy to maintain, clean & work on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th December, 2008

2007 Honda CBR125R from Australia

Summary:

Learner's and commuters dream. For anyone else, it's as good as a toy

Faults:

Right hand side footpeg's bottom screw came off at 3000km's under normal usage, resulting the footpeg becoming very loose, and I had to get to a dealer to have it fixed.

General Comments:

Perfect learner's bike, making passing any test very easy. e.g. U turns.

Also good bike for those who just want a small motorbike, but don't want a vesper.

Only uses 2.4Litre/100km, however let's not forget a motorcycle needs to be serviced more often than a car, and service costs are more expensive.

The design of the bike is good and look similar to the CBR600RR, however, the bike is too thin, way too thin, the rear tyre will be thinner than a 600cc bike's front tyre.

Struggles badly uphills, needs at least changing gear down twice to maintain speed on steeper hills.

Lacks top speed, when there are head winds, exceeding 90km/hr is impossible.

Motorcycle loses stability easily when there's cross winds, especially when passing big trucks on highways.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2008

28th Apr 2009, 07:43

I don't like the CBR125R. Looks too much like a moped from the rear. I have been told they struggle up hills by many people. My KH125 and AR125 that I had twelve years ago and eleven years ago respectively would fly up hills at near to their top speed.

24th Jun 2011, 17:11

"I have been told"...

So you haven't actually rode this bike?

2007 Honda CBR125R from Canada

Summary:

Awesome choice for a motorcycle I bought just to flip in a year

Faults:

I lost a screw when it was breaking in. Woohoo.

I have not had the bike long enough for something significant to happen. It sounds really different now that it's broken in; it's a nicer normal sound.

General Comments:

Its handling is really crisp. Insane cornering can be done if you lean over the bike since it's so light.

The acceleration is good enough for city riding. The engine races to redline in first to about 30km/hr, making cagers think you're trying to race so they often go for it. You can do 90~100 km/h on the highway for extended periods no problem.

It's got awesome fuel economy, and contrary to what people think about its small size and large rider, it's as fast as a 600 in the city, thanks to its far better handling and the obstacles encountered normally. Traffic obstacles meant to slow down cars just don't work, because you can either go around or over them. If you mess up the parking, you can always lift the rear end and fix it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2007

18th May 2008, 12:09

With a quarter mile time of nearly 20 seconds, I highly doubt it's as fast as any 600 anywhere. It's a great looking bike, but ridiculously weak for what you're paying for. I would recommend anybody to stay away from this size bike unless their government has a tiered cc limit. In that case, I suppose it would be the ideal bike to learn on, as long as you can accept that you will outgrow it in a matter of weeks.