Honda CT90 Reviews

1971 Honda CT90 from United States of America

Model year1971
Year of manufacture1971
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2010
Distance when acquired4200 miles
Most recent distance4250 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB125S

Summary:

Fantastic, they should still be in production

Faults:

The only thing I have had go wrong is the battery goes dead, but that is from very little use, not a fault of Honda!

General Comments:

For my uses around my hilly property, just as a get around rig it is fantastic. Once it's going and warmed up, it just goes.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2010

1970 Honda CT90 from United States of America

Model year1970
Year of manufacture1970
Most recent year of ownership2008

Summary:

The poster bike for Honda reliability

Faults:

Just a failed battery, can't blame that on Honda though.

General Comments:

Fantastic! Not a great on-road bike, but it was built for TRAIL use, while legal for roads that get you to your favorite dirt!

You almost don't care what goes wrong with these things, cause most mechanically minded people with a manual and some tools can keep these mini trail tanks running nicely.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th May, 2008

1978 Honda CT90 from United States of America

Year of manufacture1978
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 2 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 2 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.1 / 10
Distance when acquired236 miles
Most recent distance1900 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB700SC Nighthawk

Summary:

A delight for the right people

Faults:

Almost nothing really. Most things were normal wear, the little bike has been reliable.

General Comments:

This is a little multi purpose 90cc motorcycle and has serious power limitations for on road riding. However when used within its limits, the little tiddler is a delight.

For what it is the handling isn't that bad, and although I wasn't expecting too much, time and time again it has impressed me with what it has.

Comfort isn't bad; everything is right where it out to be for a bike its size, and the seat is cushy and comfortable. I did need to tilt the gearshift lever forward to facilitate easier shifts, as I am rather tall.

I especially like the low range of the transmission, in low the bike is slow, but will go just about any place you want. Perhaps that's why they call it a Trail 90?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2008

1967 Honda CT90 from United States of America

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Handling marks 3 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2420 miles
Most recent distance5423 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha RD 250

Summary:

Good bike for what it is

Faults:

The exhaust system rotted out.

There are various small oil leaks everywhere.

General Comments:

Top speed of 50 MPH on level ground and no head wind.

Feels unstable after 40 MPH.

Super fuel mileage.

Super relible, starts first kick every time.

Ugly little bike, I get lots of smiles when people see me riding it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2006

6th Jan 2008, 19:29

All I want to say is, you gotta love them.

21st Feb 2008, 12:08

My 1967 CT 90 is great for hunting. Now has 2500 rough miles on it. It's street-legal and I enjoy riding it.

Last time out it had carb trouble, but in Spring 2008 I will remove & clean the tank. I'll also look for new points.

It has been a good bike for me.

Kurt.

29th May 2008, 09:48

Yes my HONDA CT 90 is running again. Could not find new points for it, so I cleaned old ones, set the gap and timing, and it fired up on first kick. Have collectors plates on it and enjoy riding it.

Kurt.

1980 Honda CT90 from United Kingdom

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership1989
Acceleration marks 1 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 1 / 10
Handling marks 0 / 10
Braking marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.7 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

A cheap thrash bike

Faults:

Nothing, but it did blow up less than one week after I sold it for twenty five pounds.

General Comments:

This bike was reliable.

The brakes were horrific, very dangerous having the front wheel rise up as you brake.

I rebuilt the motor and threw it some tyres and some brakes.

I completely redlined this bike every day for over one year and it took all the abuse.

Being air cooled it would idle lumpy when it really had a good thrashing.

I used to love thrashing this thing down the road and seeing peoples faces shocked at how loud and how fast I was going.

I fell off it twice, a little too drunk from the previous night out!

Still I would just pick it up and ride off again.

The handling bordered on dangerous, very under engineered.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2004

21st Dec 2004, 17:01

Good one mate. You are bang on, these bikes are built to be dropped!

1984 Honda CT90 from Australia

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership1990
Acceleration marks 1 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 1 / 10
Handling marks 1 / 10
Braking marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous motorcycleMZ ETZ 250

Summary:

Cheap, but nasty transport

Faults:

Nothing went wrong while I owned it.

General Comments:

An uncomfortable bike that was so slow that it was almost dangerous in unexperienced hands.

Had a lousy riding position for a 5 foot 8 guy. Unstable at any speed above 40 MPH.

The economy was its saving grace and the fact that nothing went wrong with it.

I had a step thru C70 later on and that was a much better bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2004

28th Jun 2005, 22:29

Well put, however way too harsh on the dear old girl.

I own the CT90 and the C70 mentioned, both in excellent shape and ridden every day, alternatingly. The c70 IS the more comfortable and seems to have been engineered with the adult frame in mind. It can carry two adults safely and with style.

Too bad it only has three gears though. The ct90 goes real FAST! (in comparison) 4gears+90cc's =P-O-W-E-R! God it is a bit unbalanced with that massive "slain deer carrier" on the back and the gallon spare tank of gas. Don't carry passengers.

They are both terrific and historical motor footnotes, that live in the present with one foot in the past.

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 6 reviews