Honda VFR750 Reviews

1993 Honda VFR750 from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired9400 miles
Most recent distance10300 miles

Summary:

So far, this machine has been very reliable

Faults:

There is a slight ticking sound at start up, but goes away once the bike has warmed up.

General Comments:

For a bike almost 20 years old, it starts up as soon as you press the starter.

The seat is not as comfortable, but that could be me getting used to it.

Also, being almost 20 years old, I'm have a very hard time finding replacement fairings.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2012

1996 Honda VFR750 from United Kingdom

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired39200 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda NT650V Deauville

Summary:

Quick, handles well, comfortable

Faults:

Needed a new rear tyre.

General Comments:

Awesome bike. Pulls like a train, and handles like it's on rails.

May well be the best bike Honda ever built.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2012

1984 Honda VFR750 from United States of America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki DR650SE

Summary:

A true original Japanese sportbike

Faults:

I bought it used in 2006 with 34,000 miles on it for $1,000.00.

Shocks blown out. The front shocks were rebuilt with new seals.

Rear tire bald. Replaced rear tire.

Carburetor cleaned, and rejetted.

Clutch not working. Rebuilt the hydraulic clutch.

Gas line leaked. Replaced hose, and connection.

Battery died. Replaced battery.

General Comments:

This bike is currently 25 years old. Therefore, I would expect that some components would need to be replaced.

However, this bike is a tank, and sleeper.

It is a bit overweight, doesn't have the handling of more modern sportbikes, and doesn't have the top speed of more modern sportbikes.

However, this bike is extremely reliable, and in my opinion will run forever. It starts right up every time. Not once has it failed me except for when the battery was dead.

This bike is extremely powerful as well, and the front end wants to come off the ground when accelerating heavily.

There is a wicked powerband once you reach 8,000 R.P.M., where it just takes off. I had this bike up to 140 M.P.H. and was really scared.

You can putt around or just cruise in 5th gear, and then open the throttle all the way and hit 110-120 M.P.H. easy without downshifting.

The handling is not all that great, and a bit uncomfortable for long distance traveling.

I'd have to say this in one the first Japanese "True" Sportbikes admitted into the United States in the 1980s.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2009

1991 Honda VFR750 from Canada

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance40000 kilometres

Summary:

An excellent sport touring bike

Faults:

Absolutely no faults with this motorcycle.

General Comments:

An excellent motorcycle on the highway.

Shortly after purchasing it, I installed a Two-Brothers slip-on muffler, which made the V4 engine sound amazing.

Mid range power is phenomenal.

My two complaints are: vibrations always made my right hand fall asleep during long rides, and the seat made my buttocks fall asleep during long rides.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2008

1990 Honda VFR750 from Canada

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance99945 kilometres
Previous motorcycleBMW R60/5

Summary:

This is the best all round bike I can think of

Faults:

Fuel pump @ 99,440 ks.

Seat recovered @ 97,000.

New paint (red had faded from the sun) @ 97,000.

General Comments:

I have ridden many bikes, having previously been in the MC business (retail/service) for many years. It is as comfortable as a touring bike yet still looks and "feels" sporty. The gas mileage is a bit higher than some other bikes, but it is still cheaper to drive than my truck!

I run Metzler tires exclusively. I have found trust and confidence from this bike and rubber combination and would never deviate from it.

After owning this bike and loving it dearly for so long, I wondered, how many more miles can I rack up before something really goes wrong? So I got another one, same year with only 12,000 kms on it. It's waiting in the barn. I suspect it will be there for a while.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2008

1986 Honda VFR750 from United Kingdom

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance43500 miles
Previous motorcycleBMW K 75 RT

Summary:

No bike of this age should be as good as it is

Faults:

A duff battery shortly after I got the bike.

A wiring connector came loose causing a break down.

General Comments:

When I purchased my VFR750FG, it was already 18 years old, but in good condition and cost me £1250 with Krauser hard 30L panniers.

The previous owner had bought it new and only done 31000 miles in 18 years.

A service and a taller screen have given me an excellent bike.

The brakes are below par compared to more modern stuff, but it is a comfortable, fast bike with excellent build quality.

In the 15 months I have owned and ridden it all year round, I have put another 12000 miles on it, and think it may be the best bike ever made.

It returns 40mpg ridden hard or 46mpg ridden normally.

It pulls cleanly from 3000rpm, and above 7000rpm takes off like a scalded cat to the 12000rpm redline.

I've seen 140mph on foreign motorways and think it will hit 150mph with the standard lower screen and no panniers.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

23rd Feb 2007, 18:24

I had an 89 VFR and it was fantastic. I agree that the brakes were not brilliant, but adequate. A bike that old, if the brake lines have not been replaced, they will swell affecting braking. Replacing with braided brake lines makes a huge difference.

22nd Mar 2007, 03:52

I posted the original review and have just changed my VFR for a Kawasaki ZRX1200S (I'll write a review after I have owned it for a while).

My VFR and I had covered 21,000 miles together in 1 yr 10 months.

Since the first two issues were rectified it has been 100% reliable. Reliable and predictable to the point of dullness some may say.

Fuel economy dipped to 38mpg in the final few months of ownership. Maybe this was my confidence with the bike.

It was coming to the point where a major service with new chain, sprockets and brake pads would be needed, so I traded it in for £500 against my new bike.

I would definitely have another one day, they are great bikes.

11th Mar 2010, 07:40

After years of boring middleweights (Divvies, GS 500s etc) I bought a 1986 VFR for £680. I soon replaced the collector box and rear silencer for a s/hand stainless steel item for £60 and had a really cheap sports bike. In this case cheap doesn't mean bad, as I've covered a further 4000 miles without a problem, other than conking out once due to an overheating reg/rec unit. I sorted this by relocating it to the rear footrest bracket.

The bike is far more solid, powerful and comfy than I'm used to, though 40 mpg has come as a bit of a shock compared to my previous bikes. For my daily 40 mile commute it's perfect, & I will probably get a newer, shinier one when I can afford it. In my opinion, you won't get a better/faster bike for the money.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews