1998 Honda VTR1000F from United Kingdom - Comments

27th Jan 2005, 19:53

I own a 2002 superhawk (red) with sharkskinz lower fairing and tapeworks graphics kit. I love this bike for its monster torque and great handling.

Being in South Florida, most people have inline 4 cylinder bikes. I get lots of compliments, and people are always asking, what kind of bike is that?

Great handling. Comfortable and great for everyday riding.

10th Mar 2005, 20:42

I also own a Superhawk. It is a great bike.

My only complaints are that the gas mileage is horrrible and parts are rare. Otherwise a great bike.

I would like to find a full lower fairing that looks good.

13th Mar 2005, 10:56

I am the guy who posted this review, I am glad to say some months on I am still very pleased with the bike. So much so that I have convinced a friend that it's the best way to go after their Bandit. I only have one problem, I love this Honda so much it upsets my dad... he's a Kawasaki Dealer!!

21st Jun 2006, 11:35

I bought one in 02'. I have raised the rear with a 5mm shim under the shock mount, added 2 teeth to the rear sprocket, and I have a set of 2 bros. pipes on the way. As far as the gnarly backroads go... nothing can keep up. I humble squids on repli racers on a daily basis.

5th Nov 2007, 15:39

I just bought a 98 Superhawk, and all I can say is I will keep it forever, even if it ever stopped running, it is a collector's piece...

I get a lot of sportbike and Harley guys staring at the sound and look of it; that brings a smile to my face as I ride off!!!

13th Oct 2009, 22:44

Yup I love my Red Sonja. Her looks are so different to all the others that it will never be outmoded. And what a blast to ride. She doesn't have the outright power of the new liter class bikes (although 110hp still gives the new 600's a run for their money), but there are damn few bikes with torque like that. The number of times I have left a very surprised rider on a supersport class bike in my wake. Acceleration is brutal. Overtaking of cars is almost disdainful, and is over so quickly it still surprises me. The torque is available at any revs, in any gear.

And she purrs beautifully - nothing like a big V-twin. I have standard pipes, but would like to get aftermarket ones. Other similar bikes I have heard with aftermarket pipes have a VERY commanding note - makes the hair on your neck rise. What an absolute pleasure at the price. The bad fuel economy and small tank are nothing - for fun like this at this price.

2nd Mar 2010, 12:35

I had never even heard of a VTR when I started to look for a sport bike. I was looking for a VFR... Sooo glad I found the VTR instead of the VFR. Between the looks from the Harley guys, and the pure torque, I just love this bike.

10th May 2010, 10:37

I have a 1998 VTR1000 v-twin with a dyno jet kit, pear valve block offs, adjustable cam tensioners, K&N in a mod box, Scorpion cans, Vortex sprockets & keyless gas cap, Goodrich SS brake lines, R1 rectifier, in matte black finish with polished frame, swingarm & wheels... love this torque monster and how she handles... Looking to do a fork swap in the future and install a Colin Edwards red, white & blue stars & stripes race replica plastic kit.

http://www.youtube.com/user/capecodcuda#p/u/19/4TDvnV6dnpc

4th Apr 2012, 11:14

Did you ever find a lower fairing? Where can I get them?

Add another comment

Note: A Comments RSS Feed is available.