1986 Kawasaki 454 LTD Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1986 Kawasaki 454 LTD from Canada

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres

Summary:

Great value, power, and economy

Faults:

The carbs are sure fussy on it cold, it's very easy to flood below 15C. Once it's warmer out or the engine is warmed up, it runs awesome. They've been synchronised, and I've tried injector cleaner with the gas, so I may just try a different dealer if it persists.

General Comments:

Awesome value in this bike. I bought it cheap enough ($1200 CDN) ready to ride and it's been great. I'm having the tank repainted for a couple scuffs, and to sharpen it up a bit, and I'm sure it will make me money when I'm ready to sell it and go bigger.

I'm 6' tall/200lbs, and it's still very capable for my size. I've ridden a lot of late model bigger bikes, from Honda's to Harley's, and I'm not at all disappointed with mine.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2006

1986 Kawasaki 454 LTD from Puerto Rico

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles

Summary:

A little-big baby

Faults:

Definitely the cables: Clutch, speedometer, tachometer. Now are fine.

Suspension has to be fixed.

General Comments:

I bought this little-big baby 2 years ago. And I love it. Smooth ride, enough power, low gas consumption, 6-speed transmission, great sound, automatic signal lights. Wow, a lot of gadgets for that small piece of art of 1986.

This little baby was found in a backyard with rust, no tires, and many loose parts. With love and patience, the 454 is my joy and my pride. And it looks great!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2005

1986 Kawasaki 454 LTD from United States of America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance18000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB550 Four

Summary:

A great all around bike with a lot of power and great looks

Faults:

The cooling fan sensor went out 2 days after I bought it.

The kickstand kill switch shorted out the first time I washed it.

General Comments:

Extremely punchy across the whole operating range.

A very tough bike. It has taken everything I have thrown at it.

It rides great and handles well.

Don't pop the clutch and you will be OK, otherwise you will be on your back like I did the other day.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2005

1986 Kawasaki 454 LTD from Canada

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleHonda CB900F

Summary:

An excellent small displacement motorcycle

Faults:

The speedo cable packed it in about 3000 km ago.

Carbs have been a headache the last 1000 km or so.

General Comments:

I found this little jewel stashed in a corner of a guy's storage shed and talked him into selling. It has been a joy to own and ride. I do not baby it, in fact, I love the engine so much I can't stop flogging this little bike and it just keeps delivering.

The problem with the carbs is not a big deal... the bike is 19 years old and I'm sure it has never been tuned or had any part rebuilt. It's definitely a keeper.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2005

19th Apr 2006, 15:21

I recently purchased a 454 for my wife, great bike, she really likes it. With the high price of fuel and prices increasing daily, this little gem can surely keep money in the pocket.

10th May 2006, 02:02

I just purchased the Kawasaki 454 LTD. I truly love this bike. I too am having some problems with the carb. Not much though, only seems to be a little bothersome near the top end, or in 6th gear going up a hill or something. I also need to replace the front forks, for they both leak and the rear tire. All in all, I'm really happy with this bike.

1986 Kawasaki 454 LTD from United States of America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles

Summary:

A hot bike that still gets attention from the guys

Faults:

Have had no breakdowns. But did discover a rock in the belt one time.

Do have problems keeping the carburetors synchronized. This needs to be done often.

General Comments:

This motorcycle has a lot of off-the-line punch.

I can pack my saddle bags with enough for at least a week, take off and not worry that it will carry the load. It even handles two-up with ease.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2005

1986 Kawasaki 454 LTD from United States of America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles

Summary:

Kick ass fast on a budget!

Faults:

1986 454 LTD (en450)

My clutch blew out and needs to be fixed before I drive it any further.

Starts rough some times, but runs like a dream after that.

General Comments:

An awsome small bike. Only a 454, and it can handle 2 riders and blow my brothers 600cc away like it was standing still.

A nice ride even though I am over 6 feet tall. Quick and comfortable, I would buy another Kawasaki since I bought this bike.

Two chrome pipes and a good look and sound. Good standard options like belt driven, liquid cooled, sissy bar, automatic turn signals (mercury sensors?).

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2005

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 10 reviews