Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE from Netherlands

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17500 kilometres
Most recent distance36300 kilometres

Summary:

It's my Italian girlfriend..

Faults:

Replacement of the clutch-lever after my bike fell on it on the camping-site.

Further on just the normal maintenance.

General Comments:

It handles very well for a beginner like I am.

Fully packed with 2 H&B cases, and 2 tail-bags, it still handles OK, if you adjust your riding style.

It took me over the Gotthard pass, Furka pass and Grimsl pass in Switzerland on the same day fully packed!

Last September I visited the French Alpes, Monaco and the Ardeche and had lots of rain, but it never stopped running. Italian bikes and water... myth busted I would say.

The homeward journey was over 840 km in one day, and I must admit that my butt was happy to be home. No complaints from the Guzzi however.

In the weekends I'm touring in Holland with friends on much faster bikes, and they have to admit that I keep up very well with them.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2007

2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE from United States of America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance40500 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki DRZ 400

Summary:

It's a great machine designed to last a long time

Faults:

Tail light burned out twice.

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable 750cc bike that I have ever been on. I have taken it on long trips across the USA and never a problem. I have gotten as high as 58 miles per gallon on trips.

The straight line high speed stability could be a little better, but it's not bad. The handling in the city is so good that it seems like the bike knows where I want to go.

This is the perfect bike for a mature person that just likes to ride and not have to fuss much with maintenance.

Everyone that sees it compliments me on how nice my bike looks.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2007

2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE from United Kingdom

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous motorcycleTriumph Daytona

Summary:

Poorly built with inadequate quality control

Faults:

Neutral light failed.

Gear box stuck in gear.

Silencer baffle not attached in silencer properly and came loose.

Oil leak from bevel box.

Paint flaking off footrest hangers.

Corrosion on wheels.

Corrosion on engine.

Poor idling.

Spares support poor.

No response from manufacturer on quality problems.

Poor dealership coverage.

General Comments:

Obviously not a well assembled bike with serious quality and customer support issues.

Good handling though, and easy to control. Lightweight.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd May, 2007

2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE from United Kingdom

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance4500 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Kawasaki GPz 305 / Neval 650 sidecar

Summary:

A good basic motorcycle where you can actually see the engine

Faults:

There is a continuing problem with the rear brake losing pressure/air entering. It has has been stripped down twice by the dealer, but the problem is persisting. New seals or a new rear brake cylinder might be required. I certainly do not expect to have to strip it down every few months.

Water was entering into the fuel tank via the void space under the filler cap when the cap was opened after rain. This was traced to a blocked drain pipe.

The low oil pressure waning light came on at low revs up to 2,200 rpm. The dealer traced the fault to a broken oil pressure relief valve. This appears to be a one-off fault, which was luckily fixed the warranty period.

This could be a fault with all modern bikes, but the battery has an annoying habit of discharging after a fortnight of non-use. The battery has been recently replaced, but the problem persists. It could be due to a defective replacement battery or the small discharge required to keep the clock running.

General Comments:

Overall, I am very happy with the motorcycle. It returns good fuel economy at legal speeds. The shaft drive is very smooth and there is no torque reaction. Better still, no chain to adjust!

I bought the larger factory produced wind screen. This has made high speed driving more relaxing as I was getting some buffeting at 65 mph+ with the original screen. I have also had some factory panniers fitted which make it a more usable machine for touring and everyday use.

The gearbox is smooth. However, as mentioned in other reviews, don't be half-hearted with the gear selection from neutral into first gear.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2007

22nd Jul 2007, 17:08

A few things to add since I wrote the above review:

- As mentioned in another review, the paint on the wheels and foot rest supports has flaked off. Probably due to road salt corrosion. It is not kept under cover.

- The fuel cap lock became stuck and the ignition key snapped off in it.

- On some bikes there has been a problem with the headstock. Mine has yet to be fixed, but it is potentially dangerous. When turning below 30mph sometimes it feels as though the steering bearings have locked up. The steering will free off, but by this time the bike will have started dropping into the corner and needs to be stabilised with extra throttle. Not too frightening if you are expecting it, but more severe when braking. With only 8000 miles on the clock, it should not be a problem associated with bearing wear or rusting of the headstock bearings when parked.

- The rear brake problem was sorted out by re-drilling one of the fluid intake holes that link the reservoir to the piston. One hole was found to be fully drilled, but the other drilling had not fully broken through.

2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE from Republic of Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance1880 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XJ600

Summary:

Smooth, relaxing, forgiving

Faults:

Battery died due to neglect, while in winter storage. I got a battery tender and the replacement battery is fine.

General Comments:

The bike is more powerful than you first think. The unhurried, low thump of the v-twin fools you as you accelerate. Next thing you know, you are in license shredding territory.

Not like my Yamaha, where the screamingly busy thrashing of valves makes you think you are going fast, when you ain't.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2006

2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE from United States of America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XJ550

Summary:

The perfect commuter

Faults:

When I first got the Breva, it had an idle problem. When I stopped at a light or stop sign, it would sometimes die. I took it in for the 600 mile service and the dealer found that a couple of hoses to the gas tank were not connected properly. The dealer fixed it and I have not had any other problems.

General Comments:

The Breva is a very nice commuter bike. I just started riding it to work. My commute is around 45 minutes to an hour. About half of it is in stop and go traffic. I get around 50 miles to the gallon. It is easy to maneuver and comfortable.

I don't see too many Moto Guzzi bikes where I live. I have not seen any other Breva's. So the bike is very unique.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2005

2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE from United States of America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance8600 miles
Previous motorcycleMoto Guzzi California III

Summary:

Practical, pretty and economical

Faults:

Nothing went wrong with this bike at all.

General Comments:

This bike is very easy to live with, handles well, is light, and carries two adults in comfort.

Maintenance is easy and insurance is very affordable.

Best of all, it does 50 mpg or better on average. Fuel range is between 200 and 240 miles.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2005

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 9 reviews