2008 Suzuki Boulevard M50 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2008 Suzuki Boulevard M50 from United States of America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1005 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB250 Nighthawk

Summary:

I love my bike and have no regrets buying it

Faults:

I have had no major issues with this bike.

General Comments:

The bike is by far the best bike I have ever ridden. Although, I have only owned one previous bike, I have had the liberty of riding several different bikes, and this one by far beats them all hands down.

Now that I have been through my break in period and can really get out there and run it through its paces, the bike is AMAZING off the line. Especially for a 800cc.

It hands better than some sport bikes I have ridden, and that is no exaggeration by any means of the word.

My only complaints, and this seems to be across the board, is that the rear brakes are a drum and the pipes are a little too quiet. I adjusted the rear brake a bit and that seemed to help, but you have to make sure you adjust the rear brake light switch as well, and the pipes are going to be replaced very soon.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2008

6th May 2008, 01:47

Reply to "...No Regrets..."

I'm the rider who wrote the "Great Bike" comment.

All I an say is that you've made a wise and decisive choice.

You could not have made a better purchase. I've ridden several bikes in my past, but the M50 is by far the most comfortable, ergonomically-correct, and easy handling bike I've ever ridden. I have been really satisfied with my '08 M50.

When I first sat on the bike at the dealership, I noticed the slight forward lean, and asked the the salesman to rotate the handle bars back. He said, "we can do that for you, but why don't go for test ride, first..." Good advice, as I never had the handle bars rotated back. Everything fit so well from the get-go... from the mirror positions down to the footpegs... I was set. I have a blast riding to and from work, and on weekends.

All my friends who've had the opportunity to ride my bike likes the footpeg position... not too far forward... not too far back. I've also been told by many (including the Mrs.) to put a windshield and saddle bags. However, I like the looks of the bike so much that I prefer to ride it "nekid". It looks great just the way it sits.

The next order of business is to do research on pipes, and maybe (and I mean do maybe...) saddle bags. I do want it to sound louder, but not H/D loud.

Take care and ride on!

1st Oct 2008, 15:27

I picked up my new 2008 M50 on 01.10.08. Without question the sexiest best handling cruiser I have ever ridden. To all other M50 riders - WE ROCK.

20th Oct 2008, 23:58

Too true, I got mine on 01.09.08, magnificent ride.

5th Dec 2008, 18:00

I own a black 2008 M50. My first bike and I love it.

I have added a Vance and Hines Cruzer exhaust and a V&H fuelpak. Highway bars are on their way.

The base bike is great, but once I added the pipes it turned to awesome! One thing I recommend is swapping the handlebars with the C50's. They will sit a little closer in so there is no reach. My buddy liked mine so much he bought the yellow one.

16th Sep 2009, 18:21

I have just put a deposit down on a 2007 M800/M50.

I have not yet passed my test, but I couldn't let this bike slip through my fingers.

It has had some Highway Hawk Turn Down Pipes and looks well nice. I just can't wait to pass my test and get out on the road.

All your comments have really helped me decide on an M50, so cheers.

Will post something once I am cruising... COME ON!!!

23rd Apr 2011, 21:42

Love the bike, had it for a week. Has anyone changed pipes or removed the baffle?

abferrara@comcast.net

2008 Suzuki Boulevard M50 from United States of America

Year of manufacture2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles

Summary:

Great bike

Faults:

No problems experienced.

General Comments:

The 2008 M50 is my first bike, and it absolutely performs as other riders have experienced. The M50 is very smooth, comfortable, handles great, well balanced and no wicked vibration. It is a very easy bike to ride.

I have read other forums, with (subtle) complaints, regarding seat comfort, handle bar position, shaft jacking, quiet pipes, and rear brakes. I only find the quiet pipes and rear brakes to be true. A rear disk brake would have been nice. However, during my break-in service, I hope the rear brakes will be addressed, and perhaps changing the pipes at a later date may be in order.

The seat if very comfortable. On the second day of having it, I rode for three hours with no "lower posterior" issues. Then after a 2 hour break, I rode another 3 hours.

The Suzuki M50 is a great bike for the price. Not to mention, its looks. The M50 is definitely unique.

If your final decision is to purchase the M50, you have made a good decision. However, do expect people to approach you (or roll up in their cars on your right side) to gawk and/or ask you brief questions about the bike you're riding.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2008

5th Mar 2008, 05:51

Nice review; I tend to find people who make lots of complaints about the bike to be too particular in their tastes, and the bike just doesn't match what they are looking for. The M50 is a solid bike, through and through.

15th Mar 2008, 19:37

I bought my 2008 M50 about a month ago. I love it. It had been 10+ years since I owned a bike, so I wanted a mid-sized cruiser that would have great maneuverability and allow me to ease back into the biking scene.

The M50 has given me a great riding experience so far. I am 5'9" and 200lbs and it fits me like a glove. It is a very well balanced bike that corners very easily and has more than enough power for the type of riding that I am doing.

If I had to change one thing about it, I would put in a 6th gear or make the 5th gear a little higher for highway cruising. It's not bad now, but could be better.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 14 reviews