2007 Suzuki Boulevard M50 from United States of America - Comments

27th Jun 2007, 19:03

And Suzuki says I was the only one to complain about the vibration.

2nd Jul 2007, 13:19

I have the 2007 M50 Limited, and I don't have any of these issues...

5th Jul 2007, 19:38

Well just got my M50 back from the 2nd dealer, and they found the engine valves were out of adjustment after first dealer tried to adjust them. Cost 104.00. But now the bike is much better, and half the vibration is gone. Still have a vibration between 45 and 55, which makes the car behind you look like he has 6 head lights, but only in the left mirror.

11th Jul 2007, 08:01

It sounds like you just got a bad one perhaps? I don't have any of the issues that you are having. Though I can see your frustration.

The vibration some people have talked about, I have a bit of vibration, but it's not unbearable by any means. I just figure it's not a high tech $30k bike. Most of you, including me probably have spent about 6 - 7k on it or less.

I feel for you mate, I hope you can get the issues fixed, and experience the M50 as I do. It truly is a great bike (In my opinion).

13th Jul 2007, 12:45

Also being an owner of the '07 Limited M50, I haven't noticed that problem. When I FIRST got the bike, it had an odd clicking sound, but once I put about 500 miles on it and did the initial replacement and tightening of everything, it went away. I have heard of several people with this problem, but every '07 model owner I have talked with has not had it.

21st Jul 2007, 17:52

I get my M50 on Thursday. I have not even ridden it, but have paid for it already. I have heard nothing but good things about it.

25th Jul 2007, 15:51

I need to add a comment here.

I own the Suzuki Boulevard M50 in the midnight blue.

I absolutely love this machine.

I lowered it 3", added Vance and Hines packed baffle mufflers, very good addition if you want it to sound like a Harley, but not crazy loud.

I added Arlen Ness mirrors in black and other goodies.

I must tell you that lowering this bike makes it very fun to ride on wet roads, and on dry roads you want to lean it way over because of the lower center of gravity.

I took this bike to the Tail of the Dragon, and it performed flawlessly.

I plan to ride it 1000 miles in the fall on a trip.

This bike does not vibrate. If yours does, you have a problem and it is not normal at all.

My mirrors do not shake at any speed or rpm.

If you want to contact me please do so. My email is ken@shape-master.com

Also, I would like to meet up with other M50 owners to talk bikes if you live in my area of the country.

Best,

Ken.

4th Aug 2007, 14:40

I have a 07 M50 Limited and the dealer installed a 2" lowering kit and hard chrome custom pipes. One of the mounting bolts from the pipe mounting bracket hit and rubbed a hole in the lower bar of the swing arm. The dealer is replacing the swing arm and installing zero clearance bolts, but watch out for pipe/lower kit combos to make sure everything clears.

I have noticed that the left mirror vibrates enough that it's a fuzzy reflection of cars behind me.

But I have enjoyed the bike so far, and pipes are a must for this bike; makes it sound great.

16th Aug 2007, 21:28

Over 2500mi on my 2007 M50. No noticeable and/or abnormal vibration, smooth throughout the RPM range.

In order to keep the M50 inexpensive, many parts which appear to be chrome or metal in pictures are actually plastic.

The paint job may be considered below average at least to myself, so I had the bike repainted black.

The M50 is easy to handle at slow and brisk highway speeds.

The M50 has more than adequate power to be nimble on city streets and highway super-slabs.

19th Aug 2007, 10:01

Could some of these vibration problems be coming from the drive shaft? My son and I have been looking for a bike and reading the bike mag reviews. Several reviews said something about vibration with drive shafts.

27th Jan 2008, 20:54

I have a 2003 Suzuki Savage LS650P (now known as the Boulevard S40). These bikes are known to vibrate, especially mine with the single cylinder (the largest displacement engine you can buy with a single cylinder at 655cc). When looking in the rear view mirrors, you can see the vibration, as everything looks fuzzy. I am surprised this is the case with a V-twin bike like the M50.

2nd Feb 2008, 00:23

I’ve got a 2007 M50 Limited, and I do notice a little vibration at high speeds, but it seems to dissipate after the bike gets used to the speed (or maybe I just get used to it). My mirrors were vibrating at high speeds also, but I find if you loosen the bolts slightly, it stops the shaking.

You are correct about the vibrations on the shaft drives. From what I’ve read, the rear suspension on this type of bike needs to be a little firmer than belt or chain driven bikes. Something to do with less flexibility on the shaft drives.

19th Mar 2008, 22:42

I have a 07 M50 Limited and was just not feeling right after 50+ MPH. I just installed floor boards and new after market hand grips, and it rides much smoother at higher speeds.

24th Apr 2008, 14:43

I have the same front wheel oscillation in my month-old 2008 M50 that was described in above in the "Good bike for the money if not defective" post. I hope the person that made that post reads my saga below and lets me know if/how he/she ever resolved his/her problem! nicocorea@hotmail.com

At between 40-55 MPH, it feels like the front tire is out-of-round -- the front seems to hop up and down as if the wheel was slightly egg-shaped. At higher speeds, it smoothes out. I mentioned it to the dealer when I brought it in for the 600 mile service. One of the techs took the bike for a ride and said he couldn't detect anything abnormal. So I rode another few hundred miles thinking "it's just me." But as I got more and more familiar with the bike and with riding on a wider variety of roads, there was no more fooling myself: the front end absolutely moves up and down at the same rate as the front wheel is spinning.

So I returned to the dealer and asked them to balance the front wheel. They put wheel on the balancing machine and reported that the wheel was balanced, but that the tech noticed a "flat spot" on the tire. They agreed to replace the front tire free of charge. I was happy as a clam! I wasn't imagining things after all! They replaced the original IRC with a Dunlop -- but it was free, so I didn't argue. But then I rode off the dealer's lot, got up to speed, and alas, the hopping was still there -- in fact, it was more pronounced! So it wasn't the tire after all, I thought, it must be the wheel itself.

I decided I needed an unbiased, independent opinion. So I took a recommendation from a fellow rider at work and took the bike to a motorcycle wheel specialist that he recommended. They came back to me with the following report: they verified that the front end is indeed "hopping", the wheel is perfect, but the tire is out-of-round.

What is the chance that I get two bad tires in a row? So I took the bike back to the dealer and explained that the tire replacement made the problem a bit worse, that I had another shop take a look at it and they verified the hopping, and that the other shop's conclusion was that the new tire was bad.

The manager himself took the bike for a spin and -- of course -- said there's nothing at all wrong with the bike. I argued with him for a while to no avail. Finally I told him I wanted to buy a new tire. He had none in stock, but I ordered a Metzeler ME880 because I've heard good things about them. It should be here early next week. If the new tire doesn't solve this problem, I'll have no idea what to do next!