Suzuki GN125 Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1999 Suzuki GN125 from United Kingdom

Model year1999
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GN125

Summary:

Good on fuel

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

I have found the motorcycle very reiable and it never let me down, even in cold weather. I would recommend the GN125 to any learner.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2006

1994 Suzuki GN125 from Republic of Ireland

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired800 miles
Most recent distance1063 miles
Previous motorcycleAprilia RS50

Summary:

A dream come true

Faults:

Front brakes are slippy.

Pressure builds up in the petrol if not used for a while, which leads to back firing.

Right wing mirror keeps loosening.

General Comments:

To be honest it's an amazing bike.

The insurance is cheap, which is great for young riders.

The bike runs on fumes nearly, full tank and you're sorted for a few weeks.

The handling is something else, you feel comfortable taking corners and while in traffic.

Me personally I'm not the most confident rider in traffic, and on this bike I feel like it's all OK.

My last bike was the Aprilia RS 50, and it was great when it was running, but when it comes to handling, it was terrible. Then I rode the GN125 and it's like a weight has been lifted.

I live in the middle of nowhere, so it's nice to have all the little country roads to cruise around on. The main roads are great too, but it's not a very fast bike, pushing it you might do 75 mph, but at that speed you're going to feel the bike straining.

Great bike in all, and without a doubt, one to look out for if it's your first bike...

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2005

1996 Suzuki GN125 from United States of America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 2 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 2 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.1 / 10
Distance when acquired9600 miles
Most recent distance12100 miles

Summary:

It's reliable, light, slow, and stable... but did I mention slow?

Faults:

Front fork seals leaked when I bought it, cheap fix.

Needed a new horn.

General Comments:

This bike has been amazingly reliable. I've used it for more than it was intended for, riding it at 55-60 mph over a long period of time.

The bike also has no power. No wheelies, not even in first. Not a good commuting machine. Keeps up with city traffic okay, but even at 50 mph the bike begins to feel strained. Against the wind, 4th gear is required to maintain 55, putting it very close to the red-line. Despite this, I've never had any engine problems.

It's very light and can be driven by anyone. I've taught a few friends to ride on it without any problems. Acceleration is stable and controlled, but very slow.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2005

24th Jul 2010, 10:46

Sounds like you had your foot on the back brake.

2004 Suzuki GN125 from United Kingdom

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.1 / 10
Distance when acquired298 kilometres
Most recent distance3125 kilometres
Previous motorcycleAprilia Rally 50

Summary:

Avoid like the plague

Faults:

Constant idling and firing problem. The bike tends to run really badly when it has warmed up.

The speedo leaks water.

The ignition barrel works loose.

Rust is a constant battle and the bike is only 8 months old.

The front brake is useless.

Water keeps getting into the petrol tank and then into the carb, which causes misfiring.

I could go on all day, I really could.

General Comments:

This bike has been a constant irritation ever since I drove it off the forecourt.

I paid two thousand of my hard earned pounds for it, and since January it's been back to the dealer 6 times.

It's slow even after I had a larger front sprocket fitted. 55mph is all you will get.

The rev counter reads false. One minute it says 8.000 rpm, then the next it says 9.800 rpm.

The dealer has been very unhelpful in rectifying the firing problem.

I will never ever buy another Suzuki ever again.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

3rd Dec 2005, 12:51

I am afraid Mr Suzuki makes cheap and (sometimes) cheerful bikes. He does not make great bikes at that level, and I had a GN250 for ten years, which was far better than yours, but the quality is pathetic.

I now have a Kawasaki, which is good, but for quality there is only one bike - Honda.

2001 Suzuki GN125 from Nepal

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 4 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance16000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleHero Honda CD100

Summary:

Amazingly Comfortable!!!

Faults:

Well, I must say that they could install better mud guards so that the bike wouldn't get dirty so often.

And in just two years the key lock has also broken. Meaning I have to check once in a while if the key is still in the lock.

The tail light could also use a little styling and the seat for the pillion rider could be made a tad more comfortable.

General Comments:

With the GN, there's no compromising comfort. Its combination sports bike and cruise bike design make it one of the most outstanding and fun to ride bikes on the international market.

The gloss from the chrome and the absolutely stunning arrangement of lights in the front dash, reminiscent of those of the legendary Harley and the 125 cc compact Japanese power pack, make the GN what it is. Also, its long heritage dating back from the 90s also adds to the charm of this amazing rod.

But most importantly, it is the laid back design and shot saddle height that should appeal to most people. Be it while navigating through the narrow city lanes or cruising blissfully on a highway, the sense of security that comes with a GN is irreplaceable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

18th Jan 2005, 05:51

Is this review meant to be a joke? A GN125 is about as useful on the highway as a ride on lawnmower. The bike is a sound design, but is certainly not part sports bike. Who has ever heard of a 10 to 15 year history as 'heritage'?

What is the international bike market like in Nepal anyway? Is it easy to acquire european or american bikes there? I once thought that my Yamaha Xs250 was the best thing sinced sliced bread, but after riding the guts out of it and reading about bikes and stopping most weeks at the bike shops on my way home from work, I now realise that it is what it is; an old japanese runabout that is great to blast around town on and keep as a spare bike or for others learners to have a go on.

Having said that, I am not currently riding as I am living overseas, so would love to get my hands on even a GN250. Keep on riding, whatever your steed.

5th Nov 2005, 14:58

I've been learning to ride on a GN125 today and must say it's quite a nice little bike. Unfortunately, it's not as comfortable for me as I'm six foot two, but I did find the handling confidence inspiring, the fork position making it not too quick to turn in, and the handlebars giving great confidence to lean over and to counter-steer.

The switchgear is nice quality, and easy to use with gloved fingers, although the training bike I'm using has a cracked speedometer. I've got it up to 60mph, but I had to drop it down a gear from fifth.

Because it's a small custom with no wind protection, it's hell when you get on the open road, especially in the windy wolds where I am learning. The combination of this and the seat height gives me backache after a while, but it's still huge fun, and the engine sounds meaty for a little bike.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews