Suzuki GN250 Reviews

2004 Suzuki GN250 from New Zealand

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleKawasaki KZ400

Summary:

Good, reliable, but not flash aesthetics

Faults:

Chain didn't last long... about 5,000 K's.

Rear light mount rusted within a couple of months... not covered by the warranty. I'm lucky that my bike is in the garage so not exposed to weather or I think I would rust a lot more.

A lot of the accessory parts (light fittings etc) look cheap.

General Comments:

I really like the bike. I purchased this after not having ridden bikes for 20 years. Was going to keep it for 1 year and then move up, but I like it so much that I have just kept it.

Cheap to run, reliable. Am teaching my kids to ride on it now!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2009

2007 Suzuki GN250 from New Zealand

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 3 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 3 / 10
Handling marks 3 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance11000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha Yamaha 650

Summary:

Cheap but works

Faults:

Electrical problem; keeps blowing a tail light.

After 11 months corrosion on:

Front forks

Engine covers

Foot rest

Light brackets

General Comments:

Very cheap Chinese made.

Extensive corrosion.

Suzuki refuses to fix under warranty. But the Motor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal will fix that!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th August, 2008

5th Nov 2008, 14:07

I heard of a case recently of a 2006/7 GN250 with extensive corrosion - NZ dispute tribunal rejected the warranty claim because the owner had kept the bike outside in all weathers and never cleaned it.

29th Apr 2011, 10:27

I've owned a 96 model for 13 years. It's very reliable, easy and comfy to use. A great commuter, potter about leisurely. Upgrade the headlight to 60 watt halogen, easy enough (with CB 400n lense) as electrics all there for extra power - somehow only in Britain was it decided we didn't need to see. Wax oil the frame and metal.

If you want to go fast (say over 70) or two up, look elsewhere, but with more dosh. For what it was designed for, it's a true classic. From a distance, it even looks bit like a Harley.

18th Sep 2013, 16:44

Hi, am interested in converting my GN250 to halogen headlight, what do you mean by "CB400n lense", is that a Honda, & do you mean the whole headlight unit? Phil.

2007 Suzuki GN250 from New Zealand

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres

Summary:

Great cheap commuter

Faults:

Chain did not last long at all.

Rust is a constant issue.

General Comments:

Very reliable motorcycle, great commuter, also very comfortable to ride.

The only thing I don't like about the bike is that it is geared far too low and at motorway speeds it revs far too high and takes forever to accelerate. However, I have found a simple solution to this issue and it worked very well. I used the front sprocket from a GM400, which is one tooth larger and has decreased rpm at motorway speed by around 12 percent, and as a positive side point it has also increased fuel economy on a long journey quite considerably.

I have had the bike now for around 18 months, and I have found it to be a very enjoyable bike to own and a joy to ride. I work about a half hour drive from home; open road all the way, and have gone for a few very long rides; once rode for 9 hours, only stopping for fuel, and experienced no discomfort. In fact I was more comfortable at the end of the journey than if I had taken my car.

I recommend the bike to any commuter, or anyone wanting a first bike, as it is cheap, parts are easy to obtain, and are also cheap, and it is very easy to ride.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2008

18th Sep 2013, 16:47

Hi, do you mean the front sprocket from a GN250 (not GM)? Phil.

1982 Suzuki GN250 from New Zealand

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 kilometres
Most recent distance27000 kilometres

Summary:

Ideal for learners

Faults:

Exhaust pipe got little bit rusted... I guess it's because of its age.

General Comments:

Good, especially for a learner.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2008

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews