Yamaha FZR1000 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1992 Yamaha FZR1000 from United States of America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CBR600F4i

Summary:

Yeah baby, yeah I love it, I love it!!!

Faults:

Minor cosmetic wear, & the valve cover gasket started to leak. The clutch slave cylinder gaskets had a small leak as well.

General Comments:

A blast from the past, this bike is 15 years old & will hang with just about any stock 1000 out there.

Highly dependable & effortless to ride.

A few modifications & this bike is an absolute scorcher.

Buy it, ride it, love it. The FZR is an awesome bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2007

1994 Yamaha FZR1000 from United Kingdom

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27500 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki GPZ900R

Summary:

God made the exup1000r

Faults:

I'm a newbie to all this new computer gear, but my bike is very rapid with a 16 tooth front sprocket, which gave it the giddy up neddy it needed to keep with modern stuff.

It`s well put together for an old un; a bit like me; I'm 59 & still keep up with the young uns.

Recomended to anyone looking for a fast cheap superbike. Snake Byte UK brakes need a sort out though; R1 blue spot`s do the job with HH pad`s.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2007

1994 Yamaha FZR1000 from Malta

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VF1100C

Summary:

My opinion is it's an old timer, and some new ones cannot still beat this bike

Faults:

My clutch basket broke after two runs on a quarter mile race.

General Comments:

This motorcycle becomes to become fast with some modifications on its gears and engine.

However, I wouldn't suggest changing the dog bones on it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2007

1995 Yamaha FZR1000 from United States of America

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired3500 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha ZX10

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

Fuel pump, and a lot of tires.

General Comments:

The first stepping stone for the now R1.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2005

1992 Yamaha FZR1000 from United Kingdom

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CBR900RR Fireblade

Summary:

170mph+ 140bhp+ The bikes rock and will keep with ANY new tackle on the road today, BUY ONE! :)

Faults:

Nothing whatsoever.

General Comments:

I have a 1992 Yamaha FZR 1000 Exup RU.

Since I bought this bike, I have made many modifications, which include 2002 R1 calipers, and 16/48 gearing.

This bike is awesome!

My brother has a Thunderace, and I can reel him in under power each and every time. I also raced a 2002 CBR954RR FireBlade, and he couldn't pull away from me either.

Check my web site and forum for more information: http://www.fzr1000.co.uk

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2005

13th Nov 2005, 03:49

I agree with you, when well looked after they can keep up with most new kit. Maybe I think the upgrade on brakes is a good idea.

17th May 2006, 19:37

Easier to ride fast than a GSXR, they corner like they`re on rails without having to climb all over the bike. I loved mine, but it was boring unless you had someone to race all the time. Unless you were doing at least 120+ round the corners, there was no skill or effort needed : (. I then bought a DR Big 800, if you went round a corner at 80 mph, whilst trying to hold it steady, you felt that you had achieved something LOL.

31st May 2009, 05:44

I own one as well, I'm the 2nd owner of the bike, I've had it now going on 4 years and I haven't had an ounce of trouble with it. The only modifications I've done with it is spot lights and louder horns. I keep up with all the latest bikes even better than them (though skill & experience also helps) I can't fault it, though the brakes could be upgraded.

Dave (OGUB Riders dumaguete city philippines)

1987 Yamaha FZR1000 from United Kingdom

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda H100A

Summary:

Bloody marvelous

Faults:

The only problem I had with this bike was the alternator, which packed up at forty thousand miles, but I was able to get this rewound for £70. Yamaha wanted £480 for replacement one.

General Comments:

A lovely bike. Would love to get another one. Even though I'm six foot five, I still found it comfortable, even on long distances. A perfect first big bike.

A cheap to insure, cheap to run, and still does 160 plus, eighty's super sport.

I managed to keep up with my mate's Ninja 900 with no trouble.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2005

18th Jul 2007, 23:42

Good god man, you do 160 mph on this aging bike?

22nd Nov 2010, 12:54

After checking everything over, there should be no problem running these speeds in a safe environment. This bike was designed to handle these speeds. I've had mine over 100 mph a few times, and it was very stable.

24th Dec 2010, 06:21

I'm the only owner of a 95 FZR1000G, and yes, a 15 year old bike can do over 160mph easily. Mine does, on a track of course.

Fantastic bike to own and to ride. So few around, and so few that know what it's capable of, so its easy to have fun with the ignorant newer riders who don't know of anything before 2000 models.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews