Yamaha XV920J Virago Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1982 Yamaha XV920J Virago from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2000
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired24000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

She is a great ride

Faults:

Oil light LCD dash will not turn off. I have oil pressure at the valve oil line to each cylinder.

General Comments:

This bike handles very well because the center of gravity is low.

I would like it to be a little more reliable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th May, 2008

6th Jul 2008, 18:38

I just purchased a 920 and am doing much on-line research. I read somewhere that the oil sensor is very sensitive and the oil must be maintained between the lines of the add stick or the light will stay on. Maybe check your oil level..?

1982 Yamaha XV920J Virago from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles

Summary:

An excellent bike for daily driving

Faults:

Starter motor gave out completely.

Crankcase seal started leaking.

General Comments:

I bought this bike last spring, after having not ridden in 20 years. I love it, the power is good, comfort is great, and having a 920 instead of something too small is nice.

I love the looks, and the comments. It is especially nice because it seems like I keep running into other bike people that have either had one previously, or still do.

While I have had the "standard" Virago problems, such as the starter motor, or the kickstand sensor, I was actually able to find another '82 920 that hadn't been ridden in 6 years, that the guy was selling for $400. I bought it, and that is my spare parts machine.

That's the other thing I like, overall, the bike is pretty easy to work on in the garage, and I haven't found a repair yet that I can't handle.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2007

1982 Yamaha XV920J Virago from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006

Summary:

This will always be my favorite bike

Faults:

I have the starter sounds too, like everyone else. I had to put a new seat and needle in the carbs. when I first acquired the bike. (It was previously my brother's and then sat in a shed for 3 years.)

General Comments:

I have the European style of the bike. I found this out when trying to get a tach and speedometer for it. The Canadian/Euro model has a round headlight and a tach and speedometer instead of the digital "fish-finder" type gauges. I prefer both the round headlight and the more common style of guages.

I recently replaced the huge headlight that was on it (the size of the bat signal) with a smaller one. I also purchased the only exhaust system I could find in Dennis Kirk, Jardine slip-on mufflers, and took out the baffles. This eliminated the 2 trumpet style mufflers and put more sleek pipes on one side.

I repainted all myself and have put countless hours in to making it an awesome machine. It's a comfortable ride, but I'm thinking of finding a way to put a smaller seat on it, more of a gunfighter or solo seat.

It's very quick, and I can take all my Harley buds off the start and in the quarter mile, and even after that they can't pull away from me.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2006

21st Jun 2007, 13:31

I myself have been planning to replace the exhaust system on my bike, but was unsure as to what will fit perfectly without much modifications. Do you have an actual part number that I could use as reference when doing my research? Thanks for any info given. Aloha!

1982 Yamaha XV920J Virago from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 4 / 10
Handling marks 4 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.9 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance34000 kilometres

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

This bike has been a good solid dependable bike.

General Comments:

I wish it had a six speed transmission, as I feel it revs too high on the highway.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2005

21st Jun 2007, 13:41

I can't agree with you more. Lower revs at high speeds, greater gas mileage. Right now, my bike gives me about 32 to 40mpg, at last estimation. Guess that's OK compared to an average car?

16th Jul 2009, 22:54

I recently switched to premium fuel for my Virago 920.. I figured that with a fuel capacity of less than four gals, it didn't make much difference in fill up price. My mpg went from 38 mpg to almost 45 mpg.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 10 reviews