Yamaha YZF1000R Thunderace Reviews

1997 Yamaha YZF1000R Thunderace from United States of America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha 550 vision

Summary:

If you have one, you're dumb to get rid of it

Faults:

Nothing..

General Comments:

Very fast for its time; I love this bike..

The seat is slightly uncomfortable for longer rides, but I still love it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2010

1997 Yamaha YZF1000R Thunderace from United States of America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired18678 miles
Most recent distance23543 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha 550 Vision

Summary:

I love it. Super fast and handles great

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the 9th bike I've have owned since I was 16, and the fastest.

I was I little worried about the size when I first saw the bike, but I just had to have it.

I was very satisfied with the power it has. I just had to take it to a 1/4 mile track and see what it could do. Remember, I had only had this bike about a week when I did this. The owner before me jetted up the carburetors and put an after market pipe on it. When I took it to the track, it did 137 in the 1/4 mile, only hit third gear, and still had more in third gear before I would have had to shift it to 4th. I never got to shift it to 4th. Hit the finish line at 137 mph. Now that I have had the bike years, I think I could get 140 out in third, and probably would top out somewhere around the high 170's, not really sure how fast it will go, but maybe I will someday.

I'm very happy with this bike, and will never will get rid of it. It's a rare bike and there are not too many of them in the USA.

Not having a problem with it not holding the oil in it yet, but I'm sure someday it will, but that's OK.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2010

1997 Yamaha YZF1000R Thunderace from United States of America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.9 / 10
Distance when acquired27318 miles
Most recent distance28023 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki KZ1000A2

Summary:

AWESOME

General Comments:

So far all good; love this bike.

Was not sure of a sports bike, as I am 6'4", but it is very comfortable.

Had her up to 130mph last weekend with plenty of throttle left. Did I say I LOVE THIS BIKE?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2008

27th Feb 2009, 19:53

I just bought this bike, but I will let you know. The person I bought the bike from souped up the engine. I will you guys know how fast she goes.

2001 Yamaha YZF1000R Thunderace from New Zealand

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Most recent distance45000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleKawasaki ZX-7R

Summary:

If you're able to ride it, you'll love it

General Comments:

The Thunder Ace is one hell of a bike; we all have our own thoughts... but remember dead men tell no tales.

I've had a lot of bikes, sports models being GSXR750J, ZXR750h1, ZX750R, all at different states of mind & age.

It's a very very good ride.. still own it and don't want to sell... next bike will be ZX14.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

1998 Yamaha YZF1000R Thunderace from United Kingdom

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired9000 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki ZX-6R

Summary:

A great bike, not to be underestimated

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Bought the motorcycle in 2001 as an upgrade from my old bike. The looks impressed me and the general opinion from owners made me decide this was the bike or me.

No disappointments here, from the word go I can only describe this bike as the best ride I have had, with as much speed as you like with blistering take off. Cornering and roundabouts are not as good as later sports bikes, but all else more than makes up for this.

Good comfortable riding position, fantastic midrange and stopping power, gives you the confidence to get on the gas through the gears.

Reliability seems to be faultless, no problems whatsoever in all the years I have owned this bike, more sports than tourer, a real gem that's staying with me.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

2nd Nov 2006, 08:45

In portugal we love fast bikes, but I made a bad call, the ace uses too much oil. Mine has 21000km and to go 1000km it USES 500ml.

1997 Yamaha YZF1000R Thunderace from United Kingdom

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance22345 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha YZF1000R Thunderace

Summary:

Will NEVER be without one, even if I buy a different make and model etc

Faults:

Zero faults.

General Comments:

By today's standards, this motorcycle is an old and heavy item. It never really was a popular bike with the bike journalists, always pulling it down, never showing it in the magazines.

Both the front and rear suspension can be adjusted by 3 ways - compound, rebound and damping, and when this is set up to suit the rider, it is an amazing piece of kit. In a rare article by Performance Bikes, they set up a Thunderace and were overtaking R1's on the outside of corners.

The engine is bullet proof, only needing oil and filter changes at specified intervals, spark plugs every blue moon, and valve clearances every other blue moon.

Once aboard and riding the Thunderace, it is remarkably nimble. I am 6 feet and 3 inches and even with the wife on the back, it is still easy to maneuver through town.

The national speed limit can easily be broken in first gear, and I am talking about the motorway speed limit here. 2nd will bring 100mph, 3rd brings 120 mph etc. There may be other newer bikes that easily beat that, but remember these bikes started out way back in 1996, 10 years ago, just imagine what bikes will do in the next 10 years compared to the so called dogs B's now.

Passengers are sat quite comfortably and are not perched on your shoulder like a parrot compared to other bikes.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th December, 2005

9th Aug 2006, 23:33

I agree man, I've owned a 97 since new. It has 81000KM and it runs very good, but it's always using some oil. Even so, I wouldn't change it for an R1. I drove 99 and 03 R1s, and I think the Thunderace is a better bike than the R1 from 98 to 03, not to mention that is way more stable at high speeds and more comfortable. I occasionally do 1000KM trips in one day.

Yarek from Ontario, Canada.

3rd Sep 2007, 17:51

Again I agree, I own a 98 Thunder Ace. Two years ago I bought a 2003 R1 to replace the Thunder Ace, but the Thunder Ace did not get replaced; I kept it because it's so damn good. I just can't fault it.

27th Jun 2008, 21:41

I've had my 97 YZF 1000R from new here in the US(Only sold one year here). Must say it's tough to beat on trips, a limo by sport bike standards today, but I can ride all day on it - it has room to move around and laughs at speed and distance. I just would like some better mirrors and not see so much oil pumped out - it's always done this. Not changed out the clutch yet (42000 miles) but I suspect a Falicon upgrade will be in order next year.

Enjoy it!

Glyn.

7th Aug 2011, 10:26

I decided to buy a bike in England and go touring Eastern Europe with my brother, whom I had not seen for nearly 30 years. He lives in Germany, and I live in Australia. I bought the Thunderace sight unseen, except photo's on the net. I am 64 and have ridden bikes since I was 14, and have owned and loved many bikes. But the Ace is literally the ace.

I had to fit a "comfort Kit" as the silly boy racer position was untenable as I have a frozen shoulder. Two years now I have owned and ridden this bike, and I have decided that like an Egyptian Pharaoh, I will be buried with my steed.

Awesome bike; bought it, arrived in England, rode away on it, and have covered over 20 000 miles with no problems at all.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 6 reviews