2006 Honda CBX250

Summary:

Unbelievably good value, and super cheap to use and maintain

Faults:

Headlight bulb stopped working at 5000km. Other than that, not a single problem.

General Comments:

I bought my bike in June 2013 with 1700km on the clock when it was 7 years old. The previous owner used it briefly and then left it to gather cobwebs.

I was skeptical buying a bike that stood for so long, but I am fairly good with servicing and repairing bikes myself, so I took a gamble that seriously paid off. I also bought it for a steal (ZAR14000), whereas new ones are almost ZAR38000 now (May 2014).

I mostly use it for commuting 44km per day, but recently took it on a two week, 3500km solo trip from JHB to Cape Town and back. Long story short, the CBX250 was 100% reliable and consistent throughout the trip. Cruises comfortably at 110 - 115km/h, and got it up to 145km/h for brief periods, but fuel consumption and comfort were compromised at higher speeds. It's comfortable enough for 9 hours riding in a day, and I never experienced any discomfort at all.

I averaged 32km/l on the trip, with about 20kg luggage in saddlebags, which I think is amazing.

I do all servicing myself and takes less than 2 hours and ZAR100 to complete the service. I will use this bike for as long as it lasts, since it saves me an hour a day in traffic, and a small fortune a month in petrol. Super easy and rewarding to ride. It's no surprise I see so many of these in my neighborhood

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2014

2006 Honda CBX250

Summary:

Funflippentabulous

Faults:

Nothing at all unless a headlight globe counts.

General Comments:

This is a truly awesome machine.

200 km dirt track riding, 2 up with the top box full of ice and refreshments... DONE.

1000 kays in a day... DONE.

Everyday transport... DONE.

Swapped out plug for an iridium one, manufactured own foam filter, 130 km/h and 21km/l, BEAUT!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2014

2009 Honda CBX250

Summary:

Fantastic in its class

Faults:

None seriously.

The head gasket had to be replaced twice due to oil perspiration.

General Comments:

Great bike for commuting in traffic, with plenty of torque low down.

Great for accelerating at low speeds to get-out of a spot.

Good bike for short runs into the country, but would not tour with it, as it could be a strain on the engine, and it's not the most comfortable bike.

Handles very well and is light.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2013

2005 Honda CBX250

Summary:

Fun, functional, reliable

Faults:

Nothing major, jerked at steady throttle, but cleaned carb, air box/filter, adjusted spark plug, checked valve clearance and running smooth now.

The seat gets hard after 60 kms riding.

Slightly underpowered. A 300cc motor would be awesome I think.

General Comments:

I wrote a review on my Twister a week after I bought it in October 2011 (my first bike, but have ridden before). Had the bike about 4 months now, and she's been real good to me.

I do a lot of city riding, and this is where it excels. It's a great commuter, as it turns and corners well, and has enough power to keep you ahead of the congestion.

I service the bike myself, as it's easy to work on. Only trouble is the short service intervals. She handles better with a 130/80 at the rear, Pilot Activs.

I'm really impressed with the bike, I love mine, once again, super fun ride and good looking too.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 2012

2005 Honda CBX250

Summary:

Super fun bike

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

I bought a 2005 CBX Twister about a week ago, and I'm loving it. It's in excellent nick and looks great in bright red.

Finding it incredibly easy to ride, and it handles well while city riding. It's nippy and has a cool engine note.

It's quite chunky for a 250, and it has this aggressive stance, which makes it really attractive.

Looking forward to some fun times with this bike.

My chain/sprocket wear indicator label peeled off from the swing arm. Where's the exact spot to place the label again?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2011