2009 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Summary:

A bike really to enjoy and have fun with

Faults:

Replaced the chain and sprockets.

General Comments:

I bought my bike six months ago and I'm very happy with it. It drives well and easy. I mostly use it for freeway use, so went up one tooth on my front sprocket and now get 120kmh @ 7800 RPM. Also using a synthetic 20w50 motor oil which really smoothed everything out. I need to sort my carburetor though because I only get 26km/l of petrol.

It's a joy in traffic because I glide in between cars without having to take a deep breath. LOL. I would recommend a Twister to anyone who needs to commute, as I travel 140km per day when I use it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2019

2006 Honda CBX250 from Chile

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Changed speedometer cable at 25.500km or almost 4 years used.

Had to make a new key at 38.800km or 6.5 years.

Lastly, the Yuasa battery lasted till last week. That is from Jan 2006 until June 2014... 8 years 5 months!

Regular oil and filter changes (3.000km).

Tires lasted 23.940km, and the second set was changed at 44.800km.

General Comments:

Excellent bike, I use it on a daily basis - 15-20 km - with short trips of 320 km 2-3 times per year. I get 26-27 km per liter city, and 33 km per liter highway.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2014

2006 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Summary:

Unbelievably good value, and super cheap to use and maintain

Faults:

Headlight bulb stopped working at 5000km. Other than that, not a single problem.

General Comments:

I bought my bike in June 2013 with 1700km on the clock when it was 7 years old. The previous owner used it briefly and then left it to gather cobwebs.

I was skeptical buying a bike that stood for so long, but I am fairly good with servicing and repairing bikes myself, so I took a gamble that seriously paid off. I also bought it for a steal (ZAR14000), whereas new ones are almost ZAR38000 now (May 2014).

I mostly use it for commuting 44km per day, but recently took it on a two week, 3500km solo trip from JHB to Cape Town and back. Long story short, the CBX250 was 100% reliable and consistent throughout the trip. Cruises comfortably at 110 - 115km/h, and got it up to 145km/h for brief periods, but fuel consumption and comfort were compromised at higher speeds. It's comfortable enough for 9 hours riding in a day, and I never experienced any discomfort at all.

I averaged 32km/l on the trip, with about 20kg luggage in saddlebags, which I think is amazing.

I do all servicing myself and takes less than 2 hours and ZAR100 to complete the service. I will use this bike for as long as it lasts, since it saves me an hour a day in traffic, and a small fortune a month in petrol. Super easy and rewarding to ride. It's no surprise I see so many of these in my neighborhood

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2014

28th Sep 2014, 08:20

I purchased my 250 CBX in 2011 and have put just short of 6000km on the clock. What a marvellous bike, I live in Durbanville (South Africa) and regularly go on ride of 300km through the magic Western Cape mountains. It has never let me down and happily goes along at 110 km/h. Fuel consumption is a miserly 28 km per litre.

2006 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Summary:

Funflippentabulous

Faults:

Nothing at all unless a headlight globe counts.

General Comments:

This is a truly awesome machine.

200 km dirt track riding, 2 up with the top box full of ice and refreshments... DONE.

1000 kays in a day... DONE.

Everyday transport... DONE.

Swapped out plug for an iridium one, manufactured own foam filter, 130 km/h and 21km/l, BEAUT!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2014

2009 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Summary:

Fantastic in its class

Faults:

None seriously.

The head gasket had to be replaced twice due to oil perspiration.

General Comments:

Great bike for commuting in traffic, with plenty of torque low down.

Great for accelerating at low speeds to get-out of a spot.

Good bike for short runs into the country, but would not tour with it, as it could be a strain on the engine, and it's not the most comfortable bike.

Handles very well and is light.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2013