Honda CBX250 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2008 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleKawasaki 400 twin Road Bike

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

Bike was supplied with the incorrect spark plug.

General Comments:

A wonderful, fuel efficient, bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2009

1987 Honda CBX250 from Canada

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34500 kilometres
Most recent distance39500 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha Zuma

Summary:

Great beginner or commuter bike

Faults:

Nothing - very solid mechanically. Except spare tires can be a little hard to find. Just requires some digging.

General Comments:

I've owned the little CBX for about six months and have added 5,000km to the odometer. Wonderful bike. No problems whatsoever. Light weight and very forgiving.

I've done a couple of 300+km day trips and never once heard a complaint from the bike. Surprisingly comfortable for hours in the saddle.

As it only has 250cc, it's not going to win any drag races but has no problems maintaining highway speed (120km/h). What it lacks in top end speed, it makes up in handling. Very nimble bike.

Outstanding fuel economy (4l/100km or 65+mpg). Simple bike to operate and to maintain.

I fully recommend the CBX250. It's too bad these standard, fun and efficient bikes are few-and-far between. Are you listening Honda, Kawasaki, Yamaha and Suzuki? Bring bikes like this back!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2008

18th Nov 2010, 09:04

Good review.. I have a 1986 CBX250, which I am learning on. It's a fun and forgiving bike. Looks really good as well. Solid colour paint job is nice. Smallish fairing is good. 82,000 k's on the odometer, but with a replacement (low k's) motor. Overhauled the carby with a mate. Got the tyre pressure right. (ask an expert.. from memory was 32lbs on the front and 28 on back.. but do check). Starts easy, good size bike. As per the review, it's hard to find a new bike as enticing.

2007 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5550 kilometres
Previous motorcycleHonda CBR125

Summary:

Offers value from Honda

Faults:

No problems experienced.

General Comments:

The seat is uncomfortable on a long run.

The paintwork on the aluminum side plates at the bottom of the bike is of a poor quality, tending to stain and fade, and does not respond to polish.

The bike rides well, has sufficient power to climb hills with relative ease, and is very good value for money, attracting many an envious admirer.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2008

2007 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance500 kilometres

Summary:

Overall Rating: Excellent!

Faults:

Nothing to date. It is still too early to comment as the bike is still new.

General Comments:

This bike is awesome! Its my first bike and absolutely easy and fantastic to ride. It is the perfect beginners road bike. I would recommend this model to anyone that has never ridden before and want to start. I would also suggest using the CBX250 for your licence test as well, as it is much easier to maneuver on the testing course as compared to a larger bike.

The bike is very comfortable. Perfect for everyday commuting to work and back. The 16,5L tank goes a long way. However, after riding for a little while, I do now feel that the bike is a bit small and I will probably upgrade to a 600 or 1000cc in a years time.

Another problem is the wind factor. At 100km/hour, being a light bike, the wind tends to move the bike around, which causes you to lean more. But here again, fitting a small wind shield will sort this problem out.

Like any rider, once you have a small bike and after enjoying it for a while, you always look at stepping up a notch and upgrading to a larger bike.

I would recommend this bike as a first bike to any new rider, as it is easy to learn on and to get your riding up to spec, especially in heavy traffic. It will also prepare you for the bigger bike!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2007

21st Sep 2007, 18:46

Hello.

I am interested in getting a motorbike and I'm considering the CBX 250. I have never ridden a motorbike before. How difficult was it to get going with this bike?

10th Jan 2009, 23:41

I have owned my CBX250 since March 2008 and have covered about 23000 kms during this time. I live in Howick, KZN, and shortly after buying the bike, I traveled up to Johannesburg; east to Komatipoort on the Mozambique border; then south through Swaziland; and finally down the North Coast of KwaZulu Natal and home to Howick.

I weigh 85 kgs, and covered between 400 to 500 kms per day; during which I found the seat adequately comfortable.

I maintained speeds between 100 to 120 kms/hr, and achieved consumption figures ranging from 29 to 33 kms/litre.

I fitted a wind screen and a GIVI top box, and found these additions greatly enhanced the home comforts while traveling.

Since then I have done a return trip to East London with similar results.

I too would like to get a larger capacity bike, which is likely to be a Yamaha TDM900, however, I am unlikely to dispose of this Honda.

I am less impressed with Honda, as an organization, in this country, however, I would consider any Honda bike again without hesitation.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 12 reviews