Honda CBX250 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2005 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Distance when acquired17486 miles
Most recent distance17662 miles

Summary:

Super fun bike

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

I bought a 2005 CBX Twister about a week ago, and I'm loving it. It's in excellent nick and looks great in bright red.

Finding it incredibly easy to ride, and it handles well while city riding. It's nippy and has a cool engine note.

It's quite chunky for a 250, and it has this aggressive stance, which makes it really attractive.

Looking forward to some fun times with this bike.

My chain/sprocket wear indicator label peeled off from the swing arm. Where's the exact spot to place the label again?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th October, 2011

1987 Honda CBX250 from Canada

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 4 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 3 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired27800 kilometres
Most recent distance28900 kilometres

Summary:

Could not ask for a better beginner bike

Faults:

Nothing as far as break-downs.

I dropped the bike at low speed and the only thing that was damaged was the clutch lever. No fairing damage, no engine damage, nothing. A testament to this bikes usefulness as a first bike.

General Comments:

Fantastic beginner bike. The CBX250 is very stable and does not respond erratically to mistakes, such as hard downshifts on loose gravel or dirt. Also responds predictably when locking up the brakes. Power is adequate but mild with a smooth power band, also good for beginners. Braking power is awesome, allowing the beginner to make up for poor judgment as well.

The bike is a 250cc so power levels are mild. Had little trouble on the highway, generally around 110km/h, but as high as 140 at times, and is the equivalent of a generic 4 cylinder car in the city. Acceleration at highway speeds is predictably slow.

I have ridden the new CBR125, and found the power plant in that bike was simply too underpowered for highway driving, and another friend and I both prefer this CBX250, despite the age.

At 6'1" 240lbs, I was worried I would not fit on the bike or it would have trouble dragging me around. I fit fine and with the gf on the back we top out the weight capacity on the bike, and it still goes just fine.

Most will outgrow the 250 in one or two seasons, but this was the perfect bike to make mistakes and learn on without getting myself into trouble. It's used, it's cheap and you can sell it to the next new rider knowing that it will be the most responsible investment you can make to yourself and new riders to come.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2009

16th Sep 2010, 01:54

I just picked up one of these weeks ago, an 1987 as well. So far starts and rides great, 18 500 km on it. I'm quite surprised at how well the 250cc single air cooled engine does. Would love to try it against a Ninja 250. At a dry weight of 255 pounds, probably the lightest street bike I've ever ridden. Love the way it corners and carves around pot holes.

14th Aug 2012, 07:24

Hi.

I am a proud owner of a CBX250, and my boyfriend owns a Ninja 250. Sadly, there is a very big difference in the feel and responsiveness between the two bikes. The Honda however doesn't struggle as much with pillion as the Ninja does. As far as speed is concerned, maybe one day I'll try to take him on.

2008 Honda CBX250 from South Africa

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance23000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleKawasaki 400 twin Road Bike

Summary:

Excellent value for money

Faults:

Bike was supplied with the incorrect spark plug.

General Comments:

A wonderful, fuel efficient, bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2009

1987 Honda CBX250 from Canada

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34500 kilometres
Most recent distance39500 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha Zuma

Summary:

Great beginner or commuter bike

Faults:

Nothing - very solid mechanically. Except spare tires can be a little hard to find. Just requires some digging.

General Comments:

I've owned the little CBX for about six months and have added 5,000km to the odometer. Wonderful bike. No problems whatsoever. Light weight and very forgiving.

I've done a couple of 300+km day trips and never once heard a complaint from the bike. Surprisingly comfortable for hours in the saddle.

As it only has 250cc, it's not going to win any drag races but has no problems maintaining highway speed (120km/h). What it lacks in top end speed, it makes up in handling. Very nimble bike.

Outstanding fuel economy (4l/100km or 65+mpg). Simple bike to operate and to maintain.

I fully recommend the CBX250. It's too bad these standard, fun and efficient bikes are few-and-far between. Are you listening Honda, Kawasaki, Yamaha and Suzuki? Bring bikes like this back!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2008

18th Nov 2010, 09:04

Good review.. I have a 1986 CBX250, which I am learning on. It's a fun and forgiving bike. Looks really good as well. Solid colour paint job is nice. Smallish fairing is good. 82,000 k's on the odometer, but with a replacement (low k's) motor. Overhauled the carby with a mate. Got the tyre pressure right. (ask an expert.. from memory was 32lbs on the front and 28 on back.. but do check). Starts easy, good size bike. As per the review, it's hard to find a new bike as enticing.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews