Honda VTR1000F Reviews from United Kingdom

1998 Honda VTR1000F

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki DR350

Summary:

Underrated cheap speed

Faults:

Rectifier went in Brugge this year -- apparently common at this age -- cost £80. Apart from that, nothing.

General Comments:

Excellent cheap speed, bought it for trips to europe annually, and it's now done 3 at ridiculous speeds. Not as fast as R1's etc, but who needs to do more than 160 (indicated). Only servicing has been regular oil/filter changes.

Fit a set of Remus Grand Prix -- sounds amazing and definitely makes a difference to the performance.

Only down side is I think it looks a bit bland. Fuel consumption is OK, just the tank size lets it down, but you need a rest after 100 miles anyway.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th July, 2007

1998 Honda VTR1000F

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS500E

Summary:

Quick, comfy, cheap, but guzzles petrol

Faults:

I've had the bike for over a year now, the only money I've had to spend has been on tyres and brakes.

A very reliable bike, but then that's what you get when you buy from Honda.

General Comments:

Being 20, I'm a bit of a speed freak and I like to give my bikes a fair bit of stick. The Honda has been fine throughout, the engine is still perfect and the bodywork hasn't aged at all.

Although it's no Ducati or SP-1, the Firestorm (or Superhawk over the pond) is still a very quick bike. Personally I prefer big V-Twins to inline 4s because of the grunt you get in any gear at any revs, so this bike suits me well!

The looks are starting to look a bit dated compared to the jagged edges of todays bikes, but it still looks good, the half fairing adds to it's aggressive stance. I love the radiators mounted on the sides, they are practical and look racy.

My faults with this bike are:

1) The nature of the big V Twin means it eats tyres and chains (had as little as 2000 miles out of a rear BT010!)

2) It gets through fuel quicker than a jumbo jet. I fill up at a cost of just under a tenner, and the petrol light is on again after 80 miles!!

I know this is partly my fault for riding it hard, but the bikes are renowned for poor fuel consumption. I knew about this problem before I bought the bike, it didn't put me off though as I think this is a small price to pay for owning such a great bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2005

1st May 2006, 00:31

Re; VTR1000f fuel mileage. My '03 gives 44 miles per gallon highway at a steady 70 mph, low 30's when I'm tearing around.

I think folks complain about the VTR fuel consumption because there's nothing else to complain about. Mine gets the same mileage as any other sport bike I've owned.

21st Aug 2006, 22:32

I just got a VTR about a month ago, put on 3000 km, and got 200 to 225 km per tank. Seems about the same as my Gixxer 750 and my Ninja 750.

5th Mar 2007, 16:35

I've found the problem isn't the fuel consumption (40mpg from 1000cc is fair), it's that the fuel tank is too small which limits the range.

9th Jul 2008, 03:03

I bought my VTR 1000 knowing about the high fuel consumption, however as mentioned here it has been around around 40mpg most of the time, dropping to 30mpg when flogged? Happy with that.

5th Aug 2008, 20:53

My 03 gets 44 MPG Highway / 35 MPG Back road / 30 MPG Flogging it. Great bike with a lot of power. Gobs and gobs of torque!

Worth putting a +1 tooth front sprocket on to stretch out its legs a little.

Comfortable and powerful in ways that make you wonder why you ever rode an in-line 4.

Deliriously cheap due to a lack of interest in the open market.

Add some pyramid or shark skin accessories to go for the full fairing look. You'll have all the wanna-be bike guru's wondering if there was another version of the RC51.

13th Oct 2009, 22:26

I get about 160kms on the smaller tank of the 1997 model.

I ride it like a drag race, looking for any opportunity to blast the throttle as open as I dare. Because it's just SO MUCH FUN! I commute on it daily - no problems, no fuss. The huge torque has saved me by allowing me blast out of danger in a couple of situations where lesser bikes would have had to slip a gear first.

The styling is sex on wheels. If this bike was a woman, it would be Red Sonja.

1998 Honda VTR1000F

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki ZZR600

Summary:

Cheap V-Twin character, well worth a look

Faults:

Has been difficult to turn over on occasion, but a new battery sorted that.

No other mechanical problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

Decided I wanted a v-twin as I have always had in-line 4's in the past. What can I say, you can't buy so much character and performance for so little.

It is superbly reliable and I have ridden it in all conditions, only tyres and servicing required so far.

I know it's no Duke, but with a performance exhaust it makes the hairs on my neck stand up, I never tire of cracking open that throttle.

Bad Points:

110 miles tank range at most, no gauge only a light (rectified with a larger tank on later models).

42mpg only when on cruise, low 30mpg otherwise.

Brakes are rubbish, fit braided lines.

Suspension is a bit soft as standard, if you go 2 up often you will need to sort out that rear ride height.

Good Points:

Fit a Blueflame/ART/Devil cans and you will have a permanent smile.

Cheap as chips used.

Very well made, lasts well if looked after.

Fit a 15T front sprocket for better pull.

Comfy and does 2 up well.

Confidence inspiring handling.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2004

1st Jan 2005, 06:03

I would love to have a Honda Superhawk (VTR 1000). It's cool to hear from someone across the pond (I live in Mississippi, USA). Gotta lotta rough roads 'round here, and the bike seems to handle them well. Only thing is y'all seem to get ALL the cool dual sport bikes... no market for them here. Much to my chagrin. Guess I'll just have to go gray market to partake.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 3 reviews