1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Rock solid, fast,and enjoyable.

Faults:

I opened the air box to find about 75 ACORNS & HICKORY NUTS INSIDE! Yet... the bike not only reached 95 mph, it was only running on TWO cylinders! We replaced one of the two ignition modules so that cylinders 2 & 3 would join in.

General Comments:

Low enough to be in/on the bike. Good low center of gravity. Smooth strong acceleration.

Seat a little uncomfortable after 30 minutes. Only one seating position. Handles predictably & surely.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2008

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Quality

Faults:

Nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

A great bike that is no longer built like this one!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2008

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Cool ride?

Faults:

Rear brake caliper had stuck and melted when I purchased this bike.

Cam chain was out of adjustment.

This bike ran but on 2 cylinders.

General Comments:

Purchased this bike for $300. Did some miner repairs to the brakes. Took this bike for a test ride discovered it ran on 2 cylinders. Chased wires and re-rode. HOLY COW this is one fast smooth running bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Nice looking, heavy and complicated

Faults:

The bike ran fine, but the stock seat was horrible. Once replaced with a leather custom single saddle from Corbin, the comfort factor improved markedly.

General Comments:

Being the owner of many faster and lighter bikes of the era, the Honda CB1000 Custom seemed to run out of out of steam about 70MPH. Below that speed it was adequate. Major complaint was from the horrendous stock seat.

MY`82 GS1100 Suzuki was far superior in all performance related categories. The Honda was a very nice looking bike -- reliable, but not all that fuel efficient - especially at higher engine speeds.

Ten speed tranny was unique, but not all that effective.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2008

23rd Jul 2008, 20:45

If your CB1000C "ran out of steam at 70mph", then something was wrong with it. Mine is JUST STARTING to get her steam up in 5 high around 90 - and she just keeps pulling strong as an ox. I run out of balls long before the CB1kC comes close to running out of oomph.

11th Aug 2009, 00:38

There is certainly something horribly wrong with your bike.

Mine has 37000 miles on it and still runs like a scalded ape if you want it to. It will do 130 easy.

2nd Apr 2010, 21:33

Like the others said, your bike is not running right. The bike will do 140 to 150 if you have the kahunas ---- the spec sheet says 165 mph. Don't know if that's true, but 1000 cc should do that.

8th Oct 2014, 06:57

Agreed!!

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

This bike is clearly a home wrecker

Faults:

I just bought the bike with 16,000 +- miles on it, and haven't had much time to ride the bike yet.

I have noticed that there's a valve cover gasket leak that has to be addressed, and one of the carbs may have a slow leak.

Oh yeah, I will need some new brake pads and possibly new rotors if they cannot be turned.

General Comments:

So far from the 5 mile trip I have taken on it, it seems to be a pretty strong and powerful bike.

I can't wait to get the leaks and pads fixed. I see a lot of miles and fun times on the bike. Hopefully the few little parts that I do need will not be hard to find.

I love the styling, and the raised white letters on the wheels look great. I think this bike has found a permanent home.

I think I got a pretty good deal on the bike. I paid $1200.00 (US Dollars) for the bike with +- 16K miles on it in decent shape. What do you think?

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2007

23rd Feb 2008, 14:48

Sounds like you did alright on your deal; I have seen prices go to as high as $3k, but the bike was mint.

26th Jul 2008, 13:25

CB900 parts will work on your 1000. I have two CB1000; one is a parts bike, it has the rotor on it. e-mail jimboabe@yahoo.com

27th Mar 2010, 20:08

I hope you enjoy your CB Custom.. Just a one year run of that bike.. sounds like a really good deal. I purchased a 1981 CB900 custom 23,000 miles 1100.00 dollars. Never been down. Safe riding to all! 3/27/10.

6th Sep 2010, 12:36

Just got the bike a couple weeks ago. 20,000 miles on it for $1100 with no problems, and it rides great, smooth acceleration, garage kept, and it still has the original paint in mint condition. Great bike, fun ride. I will have it for many more years.

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Possibly the greatest street bike ever built

Faults:

Carburator overhaul, disc brake pads, tires.

Requires a tuneup every 4000 miles.

General Comments:

Wonderful old upright street bike. This thing turns heads, even in a crowd of brand new Harley's. I bought it from a cycle shop that was trying to reduce their inventory a couple of years ago, not knowing there is a whole following for these machines. The only year Honda made a CB 1000 Custom was 1983, and I lucked out and accidentally found one.

This hunk of machinery will cruise all day long at 100 mph, or ride around town and still be easy on the rider. I have attained as high as 53 miles to the gallon, and as low as 35, but learning how to use the dual range 5 speed transmission helps economy and performance. That's right, a 10 speed motorcycle.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

3rd Jul 2005, 05:27

I have a CB1000 Custom also and love it. Where can I find more info on these bikes?

chris_salisbury@msn.com

15th Aug 2005, 03:40

I am looking to buy one of these beauties, where can I find more information on this motorcycle?

Thank You.

Phredus@gmail.com.

4th Sep 2005, 17:42

I've been thinking of putting mine on ebay, I'm not sure though. This is A BEAST THOUGH. I love eating up crotch rockets on my grandpa bike, what a sleeper.

Definatly one of the best bikes I've ever owned, whats the market value on a bike this rare?

mordantprick@yahoo.com