1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

I love it!

General Comments:

Just bought the bike last week. Have only taken it for a couple of spins, but VERY impressed with a bike that is 29 years old. Has 21K miles with full fairing.

I would love to have a sissy bar and either Hondaline bags or a trunk box. I'm looking forward to Spring! Please contact me if you know where I can get a set of hard bags, trunk box and a sissy bar.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd November, 2011

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Awesome machine.. don't make 'em like they used to... too bad

Faults:

Speedometer cable rattled... that's all.. been running excellently.. (if that's a word)

General Comments:

This bike will turn the heads of even Harley owners I've come across, (and passed)... been on several poker runs with a bunch of Harleys, and always got the "thumbs up" from all of them... Most reliable bike I ever owned, and I never liked Hondas... go figure.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2010

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Last bike I'm buying, rebuilding for my son

Faults:

Front fork seals at 10,000.

Starter at 10,348.

Carburetors rebuild at 11,024.

Brakes, carburetors, coils, A&B cam chains 17564.

General Comments:

Best Motorcycle I have ever had. Hey Honda, start making more parts, keep your 1 year product alive.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2009

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Rock solid, fast,and enjoyable.

Faults:

I opened the air box to find about 75 ACORNS & HICKORY NUTS INSIDE! Yet... the bike not only reached 95 mph, it was only running on TWO cylinders! We replaced one of the two ignition modules so that cylinders 2 & 3 would join in.

General Comments:

Low enough to be in/on the bike. Good low center of gravity. Smooth strong acceleration.

Seat a little uncomfortable after 30 minutes. Only one seating position. Handles predictably & surely.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2008

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Quality

Faults:

Nothing as of yet.

General Comments:

A great bike that is no longer built like this one!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2008

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Cool ride?

Faults:

Rear brake caliper had stuck and melted when I purchased this bike.

Cam chain was out of adjustment.

This bike ran but on 2 cylinders.

General Comments:

Purchased this bike for $300. Did some miner repairs to the brakes. Took this bike for a test ride discovered it ran on 2 cylinders. Chased wires and re-rode. HOLY COW this is one fast smooth running bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2008

1983 Honda CB1000 Custom

Summary:

Nice looking, heavy and complicated

Faults:

The bike ran fine, but the stock seat was horrible. Once replaced with a leather custom single saddle from Corbin, the comfort factor improved markedly.

General Comments:

Being the owner of many faster and lighter bikes of the era, the Honda CB1000 Custom seemed to run out of out of steam about 70MPH. Below that speed it was adequate. Major complaint was from the horrendous stock seat.

MY`82 GS1100 Suzuki was far superior in all performance related categories. The Honda was a very nice looking bike -- reliable, but not all that fuel efficient - especially at higher engine speeds.

Ten speed tranny was unique, but not all that effective.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd February, 2008

23rd Jul 2008, 20:45

If your CB1000C "ran out of steam at 70mph", then something was wrong with it. Mine is JUST STARTING to get her steam up in 5 high around 90 - and she just keeps pulling strong as an ox. I run out of balls long before the CB1kC comes close to running out of oomph.

11th Aug 2009, 00:38

There is certainly something horribly wrong with your bike.

Mine has 37000 miles on it and still runs like a scalded ape if you want it to. It will do 130 easy.

2nd Apr 2010, 21:33

Like the others said, your bike is not running right. The bike will do 140 to 150 if you have the kahunas ---- the spec sheet says 165 mph. Don't know if that's true, but 1000 cc should do that.

8th Oct 2014, 06:57

Agreed!!

3rd Dec 2015, 15:04

Your bike sounds like it was running on 2 cylinders. Those bikes, the 900 and 1000 Customs, were tested in overdrive to around 135 to 140mph. That is what the motorcycle magazines found out... Also the sport bikes CB900F & CB1100F were tested to go 138mph and 148mph from different magazines. They were all great bikes, then and now.