1996 Honda VF750C Magna

Summary:

Reliable, fast, stylish, economical, practical

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I've owned a few V45 & V65 1980's Sabres & Magnas. This 96 is just as reliable, fun, and powerful as those classic machines.

I bought it for $850 from the car dealership I work at.

The original owner had laid it down at low speed on 1 side & traded it immediately for a car. With only 2800 miles on it, I bought it right away. I fixed the tank, throttle grip, foot peg, put on a new windshield etc. all for about $500. It looks just like it came off the showroom floor.

It's a great all around machine. Commuting, long distance trips, twisties, boulevard cruising.

This 96 Magna combined with an 02 FZ1 & 05 KTM 300 EXC make motorcycling my favorite activity.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2011

7th Apr 2011, 10:48

Great review.

I'm in the market for a 1996 that has 9000 miles on it currently. This comment is to the reviewer, but also anyone who would like to chime in. Here is the question:

How many miles can one expect out of the v45 engine realistically before any serious rebuild must be done?

I see you have accumulated some miles since you purchased the bike - still running strong?

1995 Honda VF750C Magna

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Rectifier.

General Comments:

Handles great.

Good take off. Lots top end.

Makes me nervous; it's too fast.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2010

1998 Honda VF750C Magna

Summary:

It's an exhilarating, quick, well handling power cruiser at a low price

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong with this Magna.

General Comments:

Like so many other Magna riders know, this bike is a super fun, super quick, great handling, power cruiser. I've ridden a bunch of cruisers that are fat & lazy compared to the aggressive Magna, that can tone it down around town too.

I have forward pegs, air horn, side bags, A/C power for GPS, DE-baffled pipes with a re-jet. The latter picked up horsepower to 84. My Harley-Davidson riding buddies have outspent me 3 or 4 fold, can't keep up and shell out a lot more than me for upkeep. I will not sell my Magna. I kept it while I moved to Italy for 5 years riding an April there. I'm thrilled every time I climb on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2010

1996 Honda VF750C Magna

Summary:

The best bang for the buck!!!

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

This bike is just the most bang for the buck. I paid $4,000 for this immaculately kept Honda, and received over $1200 in accessories. This bike is fast, very reliable, and I truly wonder why anyone needs a more expensive motorcycle, it can keep up with the 1800 VTX Honda, handles the twisties, and has great gas mileage.

Full coverage insurance with high limits is only $100.00 per year, with only a $250.00 deductible, and $3,000 in accessory coverage, this is for collision, theft, fire and anything else that you can think of.

Great bike, a great deal for not so much money.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2009

1986 Honda VF750C Magna

Summary:

Great buy

Faults:

The only trouble I had with this bike was the horn. Other than that, this bike was perfect.

General Comments:

Very comfortable ride.

Acceleration is a little weak, but it handled great.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th November, 2008

27th Sep 2011, 20:05

Weak acceleration? If your Magna has weak acceleration, you need to take it in to the shop for repairs. This thing screams.

20th Sep 2012, 16:29

Heck... I got a 94 Magna VF750, and it outruns my neighbors 04 R6. Great all around bike. I will never own another Harley.

24th Jul 2013, 15:39

I highly doubt the Magna beat an R6. I have ridden both. The R6 has around 105 HP and weighs 100 pounds less. The Magna maybe puts out 70-80 HP. It has more torque off the line, so I'm guessing the R6 guy didn't use the clutch enough and bogged the engine down. The Magna is an impressive bike performance wise.

24th Jun 2014, 23:30

As others have already said, if the acceleration feels "weak" on a Magna (any size, any year) - something has to be wrong and needs fixing.

I've owned both an '82 V45 and now have a '94 VF750, and both have been exceptionally fast - particularly for a cruiser.