2007 Suzuki Boulevard M50 Reviews from United States of America - Page 3 of 3

2007 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance825 miles

Summary:

Expensive vibrator

Faults:

Vibration in mirrors consistent with engine rpms; hard to see behind you.

Vibration in handle bars; hands go numb after 10 miles at 65 mph.

But factory says OK, and mine is the only complaint; is this possible???

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2007

4th Jan 2008, 23:42

Too many reviews have been positive. I am going to purchase a 2008 M50 this weekend based on all of the feedback.

I'm hoping that your name is "Thomas"!

20th Apr 2008, 21:40

Based on your comments about vibration, I don't understand why you gave a rating of 9/10 for comfort. You were way harder on everything else (most other categories were around 5\10), but don't explain why.

I would appreciate it if you could reconcile the inconsistency of your review.

9th Dec 2011, 21:40

I bought a 2007 M50 Boulevard Limited in October of 2006. I am the original owner.

I was pleased with the bike until around 20K miles when I got a knocking noise in the engine.

At 7K miles I had the valves checked, and all was OK.

At around 20K miles, the automatic tension for the valve chains failed to keep the chain tension. This caused over $1600.00 worth of repairs. The Suzuki rep said too many miles and too old a bike to give any assistance. I feel the bike should last more than from October 2006 to December 2011. The oil was changed every 3K miles, and the mechanic said I could not do anything to keep this from happening, because the chain tension is automatic for the valves.

2007 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Shadow VLX

Summary:

Good bike for the money if not defective

Faults:

I get an annoying vibration/oscillation between 45-55 mph. The dealer where I bought it checked the wheels and balanced them, and denies any problem with the M50.

Another Suzuki dealer agrees that this M50 has a problem, but they cannot spend days tearing the drive train apart to find one particular bad component. They would only be reimbursed for the one component and labor. Not good business sense for them, but they are being very helpful, unlike the dealer where I purchased the M50.

When driving on a very smooth road between 45-55mph, the front can start to oscillate and feels like riding on a wheel that is out of round. While this happens I can put one hand on the rear fender and feel the rear of the bike oscillating up and down pretty badly. Sometimes I can see the front forks moving in and out from the oscillations. Something is seriously wrong, and I am hoping American Suzuki customer support will help.

General Comments:

This motorcycle can be a lot of fun to ride, it is light and very maneuverable.

The key-switch is very cheap, and sometimes the outer cover spins and covers the key hole, this can be annoying. Also I think the key-switch is on the wrong side of the bike. I get on from the left side.

The vibration/oscillation is very disturbing. I would not have bought this defective M50 had I know about this problem.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2007

27th Jun 2007, 19:02

Sounds like we have some of the same issues; my 07 M50 vibrates above 60 mph, and I can't see out of the mirrors clearly. Suzuki say they all do that. I am not sure that is is legal to make a bike that you can't see out of the mirrors, but good luck.

2007 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance650 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS550E

Summary:

It's a great machine, and more powerful than one would think

Faults:

The only thing that has gone wrong so far is stripping of the switchbox bolts during a hand-grips upgrade. The original bolts were as soft as butter. I bought strong replacement bolts for 88 cents.

General Comments:

I have had this bike for about a month, and I have been on it non-stop since then.

Everything about the bike is amazing. It rides nice, handles well, is comfortable, and surprisingly, has a lot of power. Though it's an 800cc, it's fuel injected, so it gives a tad more of a top speed and acceleration. It has no problem keeping up with my buddy's Harley Road King, which I believe is a 1400+cc.

The bike is a great deal, beautiful, and VERY easy to upgrade with add-ons. It's loud, but not too loud with stock pipes.

I listen to Hulk Hogans 1984 theme song on my ipod on repeat when I ride around on this bike, so it's not extremely overly loud. You can even use the exhaust to heat up a homemade bologna and cheese sandwich.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2007

25th Jul 2007, 12:39

Listening on repeat is the most amazing review point I have read thus far :)

2007 Suzuki Boulevard M50

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous motorcycleDucati Monster M750

Summary:

Best bike I have ever owned!

Faults:

Nothing has ever gone wrong, but it is still new.

General Comments:

I love my 07 M50, dark purple; they call it blue, but let’s be honest. I am secure with my masculinity. It does not actually look feminine, just purple. I have owned a GD500, CBR F3, and a Ducati 750 Sport.

None of my past bikes can be considered super fast or aggressive, but always commuters. I have wanted a Honda Shadow Spirit for a couple of years now, I love the way they look. The M50 is the Spirit with everything fixed or at least improved.

The M50 has EFI, shaft drive, inverted fork, and enough power for every occasion I will use it for. The M50 is the smoothest bike I have ridden and the most comfortable.

I love the feel of a twin that is big enough, but does not weigh a ton. My Ducati actually had a similar feel, with the stretch of a crotch rocket; I am too old for that now, only 36.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2006

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews