Suzuki GSX1100G Reviews from United States of America - Page 5 of 5

1992 Suzuki GSX1100G

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki 1150 GS E

Summary:

Impressive middle age sport tourer, with plenty of guts, stability and fair looks

Faults:

Minor oil leak, unsure if it's from an oil cooler fitting or cylinder case etc...

General Comments:

Solid ride, good handling, slightly cramped for tall folks -6'2" or taller.

Could use better mirrors - too close to the center, restricts view a bit.

First shaft drive I've ridden at 130mph+.

Oddly, attractive.

Dependable as an anvil.

Engine lives happily between the 80's era GS 750/1100 E models and the hyper-bike class.

Easy enough to live with, but still a little busy for a cruiser class machine.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2006

1991 Suzuki GSX1100G

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS1100EZ

Summary:

I have 3 of this same model, does that say I like it?

Faults:

Oil line leak at 25,000.

Clean carbs twice in 85,000.

Many batteries, tires, oil changes in 85,000.

New jet needles and needle jets in carbs at 80k, mileage dropped from 43 to 39, now at 45 mpg.

General Comments:

Fast, reliable, more a tourer than sport bike, have made many modifications to make it safer, more reliable, and comfortable.

Added a battery switch, light switch, wider seat, windshield, bent handlebars back, throttle rocker, forward foot pegs, backrest for passengers, backpack on backrest, cup holder, turn signal buzzer, advanced timing and K&N added 2-3 mpg, primer switch added to get gas to carbs sooner, raised handlebars 1.5 inch.

Serviced regularly.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2006

14th Feb 2013, 17:18

Wow! You've done a lot to your G! I'm having trouble finding hard cases, etc for my '93. Can you give any advice on where to shop via the internet? jedwdcook@gmail.com

1991 Suzuki GSX1100G

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki 750 Spectre

Summary:

Superbike disguised as a standard motorcycle

Faults:

Fork seals failed every 3 years. Fork springs were too soft from day one. I installed progressive springs.

Front fender paint faded inside of 3 years. The paint elsewhere on the bike is still beautiful (Candy President Maroon). The metalized plastic gauge housings began to crack at the 10-year point. Repainted fender and housings.

General Comments:

Rock-solid, durable and dependable. Starts every spring after 3 months of just sitting in the garage. No fuel or carb issues. Engine warms inside of 10 seconds, then choke-off and drive away.

Roll-on 55MPH to 80 MPH in under 3 seconds in 5th gear. From 65MPH, drop to 4th gear and crank throttle, front tire lifts off the ground. And this is a Sport Tourer?

Perhaps the most dependable superbike every made. No frills, just 1100cc punch and miles of smiles.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2006

14th Feb 2013, 17:21

Okay, how in the world can your '91 warm up so quickly? I've owned a '92 and a '93, and BOTH took forever to warm up! Any tricks? jedwdcook@gmail.com

11th May 2013, 10:05

I'm with you on the "warm-up" subject brother.

My 1991 also took a long time to warm-up enough to be able to take off without killing the motor.

1992 Suzuki GSX1100G

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991

Summary:

Good for its time

General Comments:

I used to own a 1992 GSX1100G. Had it for 1 or 3 years. I developed knee problems and the angle from my knee to the peg hurt my knee. Had to sell it. Did my own valve work on this bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th August, 2005

1991 Suzuki GSX1100G

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki VX800

Summary:

One of the best bikes I've owned

Faults:

The fork seals went at 25,000 miles. No other issues with this bike.

General Comments:

After 14 bikes including a 900 Ninja, an 1100 Katana and a VX800, this bike bridged the gap. A very fast yet comfortable ride. It always starts, and is very reliable. Wish I had kept it!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

1993 Suzuki GSX1100G

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Great bike. Wish Suzuki would have kept making it so that aftermarket accessories would be around.

Faults:

Only real problem was steering head bearings. Replaced them after I'd ridden less than 500 miles (bike had 37000 miles when I bought it).

General Comments:

Very smooth, almost vibration-free bike. Love the low maintenance, clean shaft drive.

Heavy bike at over 600 lbs wet, but no problems in traffic. Has a solid "planted" feel at highway speeds and on city streets.

Gobs of torque, even at low speeds... no need to rev the engine for the take off in first gear.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2004

9th Dec 2004, 06:57

I hired a 'G' for a trip round NZ a couple of years back, and agree with all the comments made. An utterly solid and stable machine with plenty of power on tap, no breakdowns, no dramas.

20th Dec 2004, 02:16

With a fork rake like this, there no suprise about the stability of this Suzuki. I've had a VX 800 in the past with a similar geometry of fork and it handle like a train in straight line.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews