Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X Reviews from United States of America - Page 4 of 5

1985 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired15458 miles
Most recent distance15725 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Summary:

This bike is an excellent bike, but not for beginners

Faults:

This bike is a strong runner.

The only problem that I have seen is cosmetic. The seat is worn and the seam is starting to let go, but for a bike that is 22 years old, I am happy with it.

I am also looking at replacing the shock seals this year, one is starting to leak. I believe it is time to check all seals, since they could be original.

General Comments:

Overall the bike is in good reasonable condition for its age.

It is FAST and very quick on the start. It handles extremely well and is comfortable to ride. I find it more comfortable the the V-Star.

I just purchased a second Maxim-X yesterday to keep around for parts, since they are so rare to find.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2007

14th Apr 2007, 23:48

I learned to ride motorcycles on a 1982 Maxim XJ750J. It did have a little too much power for a beginner, and it was a little hard for me to handle in sharp turns, but it was an amazingly fun bike to ride! I wish I owned one again!

14th Jun 2007, 20:10

I started riding on a 92 Kawasaki 100cc dirt bike in the Spring of 2006, then I traded it for a pickup. I didn't ride again until the Spring of 2007 when I bought a 1986 XJ700XS. I thought wow, it was a dream come true. But now I found out that rare bikes are hard to find parts for. But never the less, I don't think I'll be selling her any time soon.

I just love the power and performance; like someone said, she'll rip your arms out of their sockets..

23rd Oct 2008, 14:10

I've owned my 1985 Yamaha Maxim X for 23 years. I bought mine right off the showroom floor! The only motorcycle that ever outrun me was the Vmax. I have 55,000 miles on her and it still surprises people. If you can get your hands on one, buy it!

12th Dec 2008, 22:51

I own two Yamaha 700 Maxim X's and I love them. One has over 75,000 miles on the clock and the other one has 30,000. Both have been very reliable.

26th May 2009, 19:45

I'm looking to buy a local 1985 Maxim X, but it does not have a Minnesota title. Is their anywhere I can get one?

1986 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha YZF1000R Thunderace

Summary:

In these times, the XJ700 X is still an awesomely rare muscle bike that will surprise anyone!

Faults:

Carburators were out of sync.

General Comments:

These bikes are very impressive for the age and year. Very rare as well

My Maxim X makes good power (even when riding two up), and is surprisingly comfortable on longer trips.

The bike is quick in the lower gears, and insanely faster when the tach starts going past 7000rpms!

A well taken care of or redone Maxim X will not disappoint anyone, even if you are used to bigger and faster bikes like I am.

I'd say it keeps up well with the current line of 600cc (except in areas of top speed) sportbikes, and out performs most of the "new" cruisers with double its dispacement.

I'll be hard pressed to sell my X any time soon!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2006

17th Sep 2006, 16:51

I would say that your Maxim X will more than keep up with the current line of 600s.

Remember, when new it kept up with the 1 liter bikes of its day.

18th Sep 2006, 15:05

Yes, you are right about it keeping up with the liter bikes of yesterday, but today the liter bikes of yesterday are in the same performance arena as the newest 600-675cc of today.

The "newer" 600cc sport bikes make over 100 hp and are doing the quarter mile in the low 11's and high 10's.

1985 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance36900 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda Honda Ascot 500

Summary:

Fastest cruiser I've ever rode!

Faults:

Bought it running on only 3 cylinders.

One day as I was riding it after I fiddled with the choke, the 4th cylinder came to life! I suppose a carb problem.

Since I've been riding it like an idiot, the clutch now slips.

General Comments:

Bought this bike off Ebay for $1200. Have ridden the bike almost everyday. I love it!

This bike has the engine of a sportbike, but the body of a cruiser. This bike is very fast!

Parts are best found on Ebay. Bootleg bike manuals on CD, coil covers, etc I have already bought off ebay.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2006

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 15 reviews