Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X Reviews from United States of America - Page 4 of 6

1986 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

Great, highly versatile bike that's suited for any ride

Faults:

Carburetors dirty easily - must be cleaned regularly.

Gas mileage is marginal ~25-30mpg. Could be the dirty carbs though.

Handling is "jumpy" in low gears - not made for parking-lot speeds. Once moving at 25+, it's a real joy to be on.

General Comments:

Great bike overall.

Very gentle power band on low end, will accelerate like a rocket past 2nd gear though. Hold on tight if you're in a hurry.

1/4 throttle goes a long way - nice power reserve in high gear.

Excellent handling at cruising speeds - 35+ mph. Quick response to weight shift and counter-steering - handles like a sport bike.

Very comfortable - seats nicely for 6', 200lb male.

Doesn't need a battery! Just roll about 6 feet and pop the clutch - fires right up! When the carbs are clean, fires on first turn-over. I only use the battery in parking lots!

Nice exhaust - not too loud for the neighbors, but sounds like a bike.

Wonderful bike. Would recommend it for anyone 180lbs plus. If you're small though, this is too much power to start on.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2007

31st Mar 2008, 21:05

The 86 Yamaha Maxim X is my first bike, and with a weight of 150 pounds is very easy to control. Power is definitely on tap and a blast to drive. A cruiser frame with a sport-bike motor makes for a sleeper bike.

I would definitely buy another one of these bikes, but be careful. The parts are getting extremely hard to find, so if looking to buy an X bike, look for one in better than average condition if possible.

3rd Apr 2008, 08:49

Hi, I am from Canada, and I have a 1985 XJ750. The bike works very well, but I need an exhaust from front to back. I have 99674km on the frame and 22000km on the engine. I love my bike and I do not want to get rid of it.

1985 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired15458 miles
Most recent distance15725 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha V-Star 650 Custom

Summary:

This bike is an excellent bike, but not for beginners

Faults:

This bike is a strong runner.

The only problem that I have seen is cosmetic. The seat is worn and the seam is starting to let go, but for a bike that is 22 years old, I am happy with it.

I am also looking at replacing the shock seals this year, one is starting to leak. I believe it is time to check all seals, since they could be original.

General Comments:

Overall the bike is in good reasonable condition for its age.

It is FAST and very quick on the start. It handles extremely well and is comfortable to ride. I find it more comfortable the the V-Star.

I just purchased a second Maxim-X yesterday to keep around for parts, since they are so rare to find.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2007

14th Apr 2007, 23:48

I learned to ride motorcycles on a 1982 Maxim XJ750J. It did have a little too much power for a beginner, and it was a little hard for me to handle in sharp turns, but it was an amazingly fun bike to ride! I wish I owned one again!

14th Jun 2007, 20:10

I started riding on a 92 Kawasaki 100cc dirt bike in the Spring of 2006, then I traded it for a pickup. I didn't ride again until the Spring of 2007 when I bought a 1986 XJ700XS. I thought wow, it was a dream come true. But now I found out that rare bikes are hard to find parts for. But never the less, I don't think I'll be selling her any time soon.

I just love the power and performance; like someone said, she'll rip your arms out of their sockets..

23rd Oct 2008, 14:10

I've owned my 1985 Yamaha Maxim X for 23 years. I bought mine right off the showroom floor! The only motorcycle that ever outrun me was the Vmax. I have 55,000 miles on her and it still surprises people. If you can get your hands on one, buy it!

12th Dec 2008, 22:51

I own two Yamaha 700 Maxim X's and I love them. One has over 75,000 miles on the clock and the other one has 30,000. Both have been very reliable.

26th May 2009, 19:45

I'm looking to buy a local 1985 Maxim X, but it does not have a Minnesota title. Is their anywhere I can get one?

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 15 reviews