2004 Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTS-i Reviews

2004 Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTS-i from Indonesia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous motorcycleBajaj Caliber 110

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

This the most kick *** motorcycle that I have ever owned.

I have 36000 kilometers on the mark and it's still kicking.

It just attracts everybody's attention; in fact I have a close connection with my bike, it has helped me in intense situations without any problems... its speed is awesome, you just can't compare it with another 180 CC bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th November, 2006

16th Dec 2006, 01:28

I need to know the fuel use of a Pulsar 180cc.

sri_chamika@hotmail.com

2004 Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTS-i from India

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha RX135

Summary:

Disappointment as time passes

Faults:

This is one great bike in the beginning, and after a while... it looks like it does not keep up its promise. First thing is that the mileage drops very low after say one year (I had made 9000 kms). In fact I take care of my bike very well, be it servicing regularly, or doing my bit of maintanance.

Having had a very good RX135, the reason I went for this was because of the pickup review I got from it. Again it was too good in the start, but now I am feeling something is wrong. The vehicle is not the same as it was as far as pickup is concerned, when it was for the first several kilometres.

General Comments:

Looks are great... I also feel the most recent bikes like the Apache have copied the looks of the Pulsar. But when it comes to performance, Bajaj has to do something serious. It is not a good bike in the long run, and I just dread it now.. :(

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

3rd Nov 2006, 11:16

Yeah that's true. I had the same experince, my bike touched 15K.. the pick is terribly bad... the engine sucks after that... spent more than 5K last month just to do some servicing...

2004 Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTS-i from India

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous motorcycleBajaj Pulsar 180 DTS-i

Summary:

The Bajaj 180 Dtsi is a great Indian bike

Faults:

1: The chrome on the exhaust is not that good.

2: The paint job sucks, very poor quality paint job.

General Comments:

I bought the Bajaj Pulsar 180 Dtsi after a lot of thinking and reading. I read almost all the reviews online.

Finally went to the Baja showroom. I will never forget that day, just as I walked in I saw my Bajaj 180 Dtsi, the only 180 in the show room, the look was amazing.

I asked them for a test ride, but due to some misunderstanding they gave me the 150 cc to ride. The bike was really smooth and unlike any other 4-stroke, I liked the pickup of the bike, it really pulled hard in every gear.

I walked back into the show room and told them that I would go for the 180 Dtsi. They asked me to go for the 150 instead. I was shocked, I said that I wanted to go in for the 180 Dtsi KS in the room. Finally after a day of waiting, I got to take out the bike. The ride was unbelievable. I felt good.

MAINTENANCE:

1) Change the engine oil every 1000 Ms or every month.

2) Check the chain, it gets loose often.

3) Keep the tires at low pressure, it gives great grip. It is dangerous to ride on a hard tyre.

This bike is almost maintenance free.

The first 2000 kms were really tense, the engine got really hot, that's because of the aluminum bore.

I changed the engine oil every month, that kept the engine noise at bay. The bike does crazy wheelies.

The stoppies are very small and might damage the front fork.

Pros:

1) Speed & Pick-up: Greater Pick-up and crazy top speed, it is possible to go up to 140 if the exhaust and the carb are tweaked. The bike does 120-130 without any probs, 100 kms is too easy.

2) Mileage: The mileage is just great, I easily get 45-50 per liter. I once got 60 - I was shocked.

3) The crash bar is the best, it protects the bike from going into pieces, and might save you from getting stuck under the bike in a crash. Never, never remove the crash bar.

4) Stability: The bike is extremely stable, even in panic stops. If the air pressure in the tyres is correct. you can stop the bike in seconds.

5) Feel: Everything gives you a feel, clothes, perfume, shoes, and so does a bike. You need to find the bike that makes you feel on top of the world, and the Bajaj Pulsar 180 Dtsi gives me that feel.

The only thing that I hate about the bike is the paint job, it is very poor quality and will need repainting in 2 years for sure. It is prone to scratches.

Well if you find the review helpful, please e-mail me at morrissikha777@yahoo.com

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

16th Aug 2005, 13:13

While lower tire pressure does give better grip, but at the expense of worse fuel mileage (& vice-versa), it can be more dangerous than high pressure's worse grip: a softer tire flexes more, leading to increased heating, which can result in a blow-out. For longer rides you may want to increase tire pressure closer to what the manual or decal recommends.

2004 Bajaj Pulsar 180 DTS-i from India

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired20 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha RX100

Summary:

Hi-tech, ultra fuel efficient commuter bike

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is one astounding motorcycle. The cubic capacity though not much (180cc) is laden with technology. It has loads of electronic goodies like Dual Spark Ignition etc...

The 150-250 cc bike segment is ultra competitive here, and the Pulsar is by far the sales leader in this segment. It gives me an astounding 69km/litre, when ridden normally. The company claims it goes upto 85kms/litre under "standard test conditions".

So if you are looking for a hassle free and very fuel efficient commuter motorcycle laden with technology, the Pulsar is a no brainer. At approx. $1100, it's cheap too!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th November, 2004

8th Feb 2005, 03:07

Man! You did not mention the mileage you are getting on road.. Well, I doubt if it crosses 50kmpl..

25th Feb 2005, 10:25

Well not a great review, no details on speed etc.

3rd Aug 2005, 00:08

I have a 150DTSi with Exhaustec, and it returns a mileage of 61 kmpl on the Highway, with speeds between 75-90kmph. However I have been experiencing vibrations in the bike at those speeds (though not as much as the CBZ). Anyone else with similar problems?

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 4 reviews