2003 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic from United States of America - Comments

1st May 2005, 00:44

Over the past 15 years, I have personally witnessed at least 3 Cadillacs with flat tires or other mechanical problems.

My Yugo never broke down or got a flat.

I guess that means Yugos are superior to Cadillacs.

As for the Road King review, I think you are right on.

18th Aug 2005, 15:08

I have owned 2 FLHRCI Harleys. I would ride nothing else. They are nicely balanced with a low center of gravity.

My wife rode her sportster for 2 months and started to ride my Road King while I was at work. Now we have 2 Road Kings in the garage. She is 5 feet 4 inches tall and 112 pounds, and handles it just fine.

We ride 15,000 miles per year and love every mile of it.

1st Sep 2005, 02:11

Couldn't have said it better myself. I've never been as impressed by a motorcycle as I have been with my FLHRCI.

It is as at home loaded down heading from Dallas to Sturgis as it is cruising the street. The only negative thing I can say about it is the stock seat SUCKS. I promptly replaced it with a Mustang Solo. Outstanding comfort, and adds a lot in the looks department.

20th Aug 2006, 23:51

Why are Gold-wingers reading Harley reviews to write in and discuss their wings?

I ride a Harley, I also have a Big Dog. I don't read the Honda reviews because I simply don't care about them. I would not consider buying or riding one.

My first, second and third bikes were all imports (including two Honda's). I will never own another. American V-twins from now on.

I'm not trying to be a jerk to import owners, I just enjoy the experience more on the American bikes. I prefer the ride and "feel" of them. In my opinion they are superior.

11th Oct 2006, 16:01

Having owned motorcycles of all types, I've come to learn in much experience that this bike reviewed along with many other HDs are loved in spite of their flaws, not loved because these flaws don't exist.

For some reliability doesn't mean much, in the case of a summer weekend rider that has the dealer do everything and adds about 400 miles a year to his 'baby'. For others breakneck performance is everything while comfort, cost, or ease of maintenance mean nothing.

Perhaps this is the best bike in the world for the reviewer. Even the most hardcore HD fans will attest to the vast number of shortcomings when compared to other bikes, but nonetheless will still choose the HD, all the while admitting that many designs are flawed, overpriced, and inefficient in other areas.

In any case, it is those people that can see this bike for what it is and decide to ride it ANYWAY that I can understand. On the other hand, those that try to claim that it's something it isn't while turning a blind eye to the obvious truths about this machine are just downright silly.

25th Nov 2006, 15:49

I own a 81 shovelhead, yes an AMF, but it is my 1st bike I ever owned and I will never sell it. Despite its technical short-comings, I never considered riding a rice-burner or any other brand!

Since a couple of months, I also own a twin-cam, and compared to my old shovel, that's a hell of an improvement!

1st Jan 2007, 20:31

I have owned ten motorcycles over the past 25 years, and how can anyone say that there is one bike that is the best and only choice? Every motorcycle manufacturer that is still in business today makes their own unique and distinctive bikes, with each one feeling different than the next one. The point is not that my last ride is better than all others, the point is how can I have a chance to own and ride so many great bikes in my lifetime? Take a little time to ride some brands and styles completely different than the one you own, and you will be surprised how much fun you will have.

25th Jan 2007, 00:27

To be "brand loyal" and not ever ride other brands will diminish your possible motorcycle riding enjoyment.

Personally, I like to think that I am "technologically loyal", "performance loyal", "reliable loyal", but never brand loyal.

To ride Harleys only and never try other brands is to keep your head in the sand and miss out on other joys of motorcycling. Having owned 50 bikes, including two HDs, and many metric machines I can look back and say that each one was a fun and unique experience. Try different brands.

It will broaden your horizons and give you a new perspective on what it's all about.

14th Jul 2007, 05:31

Just got a 2003 100th Ann. edition Road King Classic. I traded in my 2002 Honda Shadow (a good bike). This bike is AMAZING! Rides and handles perfectly! Looking forward to good years of some great fun! My first Harley and I am hooked for life.. It is a soul connection!

30th Dec 2007, 20:37

Purchased my 2003 RKC on May 2003 (brand new)... it now has 37,000 miles on the odometer... Pefect machine starts flawlessly and purrs like a kitten. I have had only 2 repairs (excluding tires and 1 battery)... The cam chain tensioner ($1,000) and a leaking transmission seal ($367). I would not consider this maintenance free, but probably an acceptable amount for a 5 year old scooter... The bike looks brand new and still turns heads everywhere I travel... Love the scooter.

7th Jan 2008, 11:27

Have a 06 RKC and have been happy with it since day one. The stock seat stinks, but had an upholsterer insert a gel up the leather and was very happy.

Having owned other bikes and brands in the past, this bike is truly my favorite. Yet I've said that in the past also.

Only comment on the RKC is I bought it to remove the windshield sometimes, but never do. I kick myself for not buying the Ultra.

17th Feb 2008, 16:45

I just bought an 08 RKC, traded in my 05 Heritage. Bought it new and ended up with 30,000 without a flaw. Before had a Suzuki Intruder 1500, a Kow and a Yamaha.

My thought is, ride what you like. I do know none of the other bikes gave me the feeling my Harley does. I think that's why the Japanese are constantly trying to copy Harley style.

Looking forward to seeing the new difference with the bigger engine and 6 speed w/cruise. Like they say, I think if you don't own one, you wouldn't understand.

27th Feb 2008, 20:30

I have bikes for 25years and I have just bought my first HD.

Got myself a 99 Road king, would never go back to a japanese bike.

Just love the feel of the roadie.

12th Mar 2008, 22:30

I love the 91 Soft tail and 03 Road king. BUT, it sucks that all over the nation I hear and witness first hand that most (most) Harley Dealership service shops will screw you in a heart beat. There seems to be little or no dedication to those of us that are dedicated to the Harley.

22nd Mar 2008, 17:42

I now own a 2003 RK and a 2005 Night Train. I always bought Yamaha's in the past and had a couple of Honda's as well. I will NEVER buy another brand other than Harley-Davidson now. I have nothing against anyone's decision on what they ride, but I understand the passion that HD owners have, and the brotherhood.