Honda VF500C Magna V30 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1985 Honda VF500C Magna V30 from Canada

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres

Summary:

Accellerates better than most cruisers, and handles better than any of them

Faults:

Replaced the chain one year after purchase, tires (naturally), repainted bike.

General Comments:

I bought this bike because of its smaller displacement as a starter.. it's now 4 years later and I still own it with no intention of replacing it.

I've ridden many other bikes in the mean time, but in all honesty am disappointed in the common v-twin cruiser. This little 500 runs faster than any 750 cruisers I've come across, and keeps pace quite nicely with litre (+) bikes.

If you have a chance to get a V65 (1100), go for this bike first, but don't pass up this little gem because it's quiet and humble!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2010

1985 Honda VF500C Magna V30 from United States of America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles

Summary:

Great 1st bike, great bike period

Faults:

I had to rebuild the clutch and repair signal light for a total cost of $120. (not serviced at dealership).

General Comments:

This was my first motorcycle, and it has been a blast to ride. It is surprisingly quick and nimble, and will perform just as good as a larger displacement cruiser bikes. The ride is comfortable and the build quality is outstanding.

I only paid $900 for this bike, and it has been a joy to own. I will probably purchase a newer bigger bike in the future, but I will keep my V30. A classic bike that never fails to put a smile on my face.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2010

1985 Honda VF500C Magna V30 from Canada

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 kilometres
Most recent distance30000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha Maxim 650

Faults:

Breaks seem a little soft to handle the speed this bike is capable of.

General Comments:

Great, reliable, maneuverable, quick bike that, in my mind, meets all of the check marks, except for long distance cruising, as it would be less comfortable than a bigger bike. A really enjoyable and gutsy bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2010

1985 Honda VF500C Magna V30 from United States of America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired18800 miles

Summary:

Inexpensive performance

Faults:

Clutch handle was bent. Replaced for $18.

All 4 signal light posts are cracked (dry rot, dropped). Approximate replacement cost is $12 each.

No mechanical defects whatsoever.

Chrome blemished no matter how much I wax it.

O/D light inoperative (far right annunciator light). Not sure how to fix it.

General Comments:

This bike packs one hell of a punch for only being a 498cc. Must be the V4. I can beat 750cc V twin bikes in acceleration.

Recommend 5'11" and below riders. I'm 6'2" and wish the pegs were lower/more forward or the seat much higher.

Keep it around 5000 rpm and it sounds impressive. A nice deep growl. Got 51 mpg when I'm really conservative on the gear shifting. However, the bike sounds wimpy at the lower RPMs.

Incredibly reliable. Bought the bike for $999, and it has not failed me in 400+ miles. I watch my friend's more expensive and newer cruisers break often.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2009

5th Mar 2014, 13:55

I'm 6'2" as well. Is there a way (forward controls?) to slide the pegs & shifter forward on this model??

1985 Honda VF500C Magna V30 from Netherlands

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 5 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres

Summary:

Nice starter

Faults:

Nothing.

OK, a tyre ran flat.

General Comments:

Nice bike for starters.

Surprisingly high performance at traffic lights.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2009

1985 Honda VF500C Magna V30 from United States of America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda VF500C

Summary:

A solid standard motorcycle that is great for enjoying motorcycling and riding in town and country

Faults:

Tail light warning indicator will intermittently flash. The problem is the ignition box (after 23 years) has gotten loose and you have to jiggle the key to make sure the warning indicator goes out. The tail and brake light work fine though.

The center stand can come up and dent the left muffler - I've seen this on multiple VF500Cs (Magna V30s) - I don't know exactly how it happens, but you're left with a dent in the muffler.

General Comments:

This motorcycle is 23 years old and still starts without any hesitation. Regular fluid changes and this bike soldiers on with out any thought to the years and miles. Other V30 owners have told me this V4 engine really comes into its own after 30,000 miles, so I'm just getting to the good part I guess.

The bike was only imported into the USA for two years, so finding them or information on them can be difficult. Buy a Clymer manual for maintenance and you will be able to fix any issue that arises though.

I know the larger V4 engines from Honda during this time had notorious oil starvation issues with how the engine was designed to get oil up to the cam lobes, but the VF500C does not have this problem IMO - I've never met a VF500C owner who reported it, even owners who've rolled over 100k miles.

This is a great bike for first time owners IMO due to the relatively light weight and good power this bike has. It weighs just over 400 pounds and had 66 horsepower, plus it gets about 40-45 mpg. It's great for riding in the city, to the store, as well as getting out for a country cruise. It's easy to maneuver in tight spaces, but it has the power to keep up and pass traffic on the highway.

Overall, it's a fun, reliable, and kind of rare bike, but I enjoy it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2008

4th Mar 2010, 01:00

If the acceleration mark was only a 5 out of 10, I would think a tune-up would be in order. There aren't many bikes that have a 3.9 second time in the 0 to 60 mph testing. Also a 12.9 second time in the 1/4 mile is pretty good for a 500cc V4 engine to say the least.

22nd May 2012, 16:50

I agree entirely. I have this model in England, and was amazed at the acceleration when I first rode it, and it still makes me grin!

Overall, a cracking bike, and great fun to ride.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 10 reviews