Honda VF750F Interceptor Reviews

1983 Honda VF750F Interceptor from United States of America

Model year1983
Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership1983
Most recent year of ownership2014
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired1 miles
Most recent distance11800 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

The bike is thirty one years old and has not broke down on me yet. Normal wear items, tear in seat, tires, bearings, battery, etc...

General Comments:

My ex-wife told me that I had to park it when I became a father. My son 24 years later did the "overhauling" thing to me and stole it. My son brought it to a mechanic to get it running and returned to me on my birthday! This was in July of 2013; since then I have gone through the bike. It needed seals, bearings, fork and shock rebuild, and many things just gone through. It was a fun bike when I was a kid, and still is now.

I have recently bought a 1984 VF1000F Interceptor, knowing it weighs 15 pounds more and has 27 more HP. I am now going through that one and I'm about to pull the engine to make it quicker. My 83 750 is all original and has the rear seat cowl, engine guards (both OEM). I have a stock exhaust in storage and have an RC header four into one.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2014

1985 Honda VF750F Interceptor from Canada

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2013
Most recent year of ownership2014
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.9 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 kilometres
Most recent distance24000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha FZ600

Summary:

Love it

Faults:

Fork seals (who cares).

I put on the Dave Dodge oil mod for the cams, but it may not have needed it.

General Comments:

This thing is in near showroom condition, and is a blast to drive and very comfortable. Looks retro cool, and always gets comments on how nice a bike it is.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2014

1984 Honda VF750F Interceptor from United States of America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1985
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles

Summary:

Great bike and a great piece of history

Faults:

I've had the normal components go out. Stator, front fork seals, brakes batteries and tires.

Engine is still rock solid and it has had no problems with the cams.

General Comments:

I'm the second owner of this bike. I've had it since 1985 when my sister's boyfriend's parents told him he must sell it - his loss was my gain. It is in excellent original condition, handles well and performs well enough. Not a rocket like the newer bikes from traffic light to traffic light, but on the highway it can hold its own. Young riders don't know this bike was one of the ones that started it all and most older riders tell me how great of a bike it was.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2012

1984 Honda VF750F Interceptor from United States of America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 3 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles

Summary:

Overweight, but fast, powerful and extremely reliable!

Faults:

Hydraulic master cylinder gearbox clutch went out.

- rebuilt master cylinder - problem solved, $22.00 fix.

Speedometer stopped working - replaced speedometer cable - problem solved, $16.00 fix.

Changed fluids.

Installed new tires.

No other problems!

General Comments:

This is a really great bike, and virtually indestructible. It starts right up every time, and runs great all the time. For being 25 years old, this bike is a solid tank.

Pros:

Superb reliability.

Though not as fast as more modern sportbikes, this bike has great, and in some cases considered, scary acceleration. If you crank it wide open, the front wants to come up.

Plenty of top speed, but not as fast as more modern sport bikes.

Cons:

A bit too heavy.

Sub par handling on turns.

Gas mileage isn't great.

All in all, this bike's is one of the first few classic sports bikes CBR's or rice burners introduced into the United States in the early 1980's.

It is a great bike with plenty of power, acceleration, and speed. It just is a bit too overweight.

If you don't want a Honda Hurricane 1000, Honda CBR 900, Suzuki Hayabusa GSXR, or Kawasaki Ninja 900, this bike is a more modest and inexpensive alternative with superb reliability.

You won't be disappointed; it has a wicked power band!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2009

18th Mar 2010, 05:07

I agree with what you said, although I have never ever had the front end "come up", even though I have tried everything... LOL.

But probably the best thing I can say is that it is a very comfortable bike as far as riding position. I am 6'1" and fit okay if I put the balls of my feet on the pegs.

Not a top end speed freak, but will pull me and a passenger to 100 mph no problem. But that's about all she will do. Top end is only 130, so it makes for your everyday commute great! Plus the fact that it's a "vintage" sport bike... and if you keep the original paint scheme, lots of people will ask you about it!

Mine has almost 40,000 miles on it, and has never been rebuilt. So I think this goes a long way talking about its longevity.

I am in the process of slowly restoring it (painting and decals). I'm trying to find an aftermarket exhaust, which no one seems to carry anymore.

Overall this bike is a great one for someone who likes to ride and doesn't want the uncomfortable pressure on their hands that you get from a super sport. I would like to hear any comments or suggestions from anyone else who's upgraded this bike.

By the way, I love it and if I decide to get another bike, I would never sell it. There's something to be said for "old school".

23rd Apr 2010, 04:01

This bike is comfortable, even for the long haul. It's by no means a rocket, but it will get up and go if you twist it. I find that when the tach hits 8000 rpm, it starts to pull reasonably well.

I'm 6 foot 4 and I find it still fits me well. The bike is heavy and you have to drive it into the corners pretty hard at high speed, but all in all, it's a great bike and I will never sell it.

Mine has been repainted to a bright red and new decals put on it, including new full fairing, carbon fiber signal lights and aluminum foot pegs. All my buddies say it looks pretty awesome for such an old bike...

I'm looking for after market slip on pipes, but can't find them anywhere. If I could just find them, that would finish up my bike to what I want.

14th Aug 2010, 13:23

I agree with you about this bike. I bought one 4 years ago from a local dealer in Ohio. It needed the front fork suspension rebuilt with new seals, and the carburetor to be cleaned out. That was it.

It had some scrapes on it when I bought it, but I got it re-painted by a local auto-body shop for $50.00. Now it looks all original. Even though it says "Interceptor" on the side plastics just below the seat on both sides, some people ask me if it is Honda Hurricane because it has the original white, blue, and red Honda color scheme.

It has a lot of speed, and power. I smoked a newer Corvette out of the hole. However, I got burnt by a newer CBR 900.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 12 reviews