1987 Honda XBR500 from United Kingdom

Summary:

This bike is the best!!!

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is the best bike I have owned. Fantastic engine sound from the big single.

Some body bits are getting harder to find. Engine parts OK.

Bike handles well and is cheap to run. Would never part with it as I would probably miss the reliability and fun.

Rock on XBR500!!!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2008

9th Aug 2009, 16:03

I agree with reliability except for the front brake. Has yours ever seized so that it rubs the disk all the time?

6th Sep 2009, 08:53

Bought an 85 XBR 500 early this year, the smile has not left my face since.

Reliable, easy to ride and fuel efficient - will go from one side of Ireland to the other on 1 tank of gas.

Real head turner - sound, looks, the big single with the 2 exhausts.

Easy to maintain, what more can I say... got to go for a drive up the mountains.

18th Dec 2009, 15:53

I also bought one as a winter hack. Nothing has gone wrong with it, although it is 22 years old. I am so impressed I have had the frame blasted and powder coated, and hope to keep it going for many years to come.

3rd Apr 2010, 14:47

I also agree. I have two of these bikes. The first one I ran for 15 years with no problems. Due to age and daily use it looks a bit tatty in places.

I then purchased a mint one last year with only 29k on the clock. These are truly excellent bikes and are cheap to run and fantastic to ride. Honda know how to build motorcycles!

Rock on XBR500.

1988 Honda XBR500 from United Kingdom

Summary:

Sublime handling and torque

Faults:

Absolutely nothing except stopping, particularly at traffic lights, but only when there is a car behind, otherwise it ticks over perfectly.

General Comments:

Won the XBR on eBay off a lovely lady from St Austell in Cornwall. It cost £700. She was of mature years, same as me, and had the XBR for 10 years, but was finding the riding positionn hard on her wrists. The bike had been used for weekend runs with her family, and a yearly visit to the Isle of Man for the TT.

When I was a lad I had Velocettes; both the Viper, then the Venom Clubman, which I rode to Italy and Spain in 1963 and 1964. Always liked big singles. I sold a beautiful 500 ES2 Norton as my knees are giving trouble and bought the XBR.

What a revelation; I'm never off the bike. I'm retired now, but it tends to put a grin on my face every time I am out on it. The handling, power fuel consumption and ease of maintenance and lack of vibes all transpire to make this a super thumper. All you Velo and Norton owners, just find a good one and you will see what I'm on about, especially as they are so reasonable to buy. Su.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2008

2nd Jun 2009, 17:45

I have to agree. The Honda XBR500 is a cracking bike to own and ride. They're getting thin on the ground now, but if you look hard enough you're bound to find a nice one out there. Mine's a 1986 and has covered 88k miles owned by me from new, and with regular oil and filter changes, this bike has never let me down.

They're not pretty to look at, but I'm not a poser, just a biker, and the good old Honda XBR500 is the perfect medicine for those who want a simple two wheeled mode of transport, which is easy to work on and inexpensive to run. It's a Honda after all, and they know how to build a bike.

1987 Honda XBR500 from United Kingdom

Summary:

A little Gem

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Bought this bike for £311 off eBay as a cheap winter commuter hack.

Didn't really know what to expect, but have been very impressed by what I got.

In case you don't know the XBR500 is a 500cc single cylinder road bike built in the style of Triumphs, BSAs and Royal Enfield bikes of the 50s.

This one was over 20 years old when I got it.

To ride it is a revelation, no longer are you concerned about being quick, all frustrations evaporate as you thump along country lanes. I absolutely love it.

It returns 60mpg and is 'cheap as chips' to keep and maintain.

I've spent £70 on a new chain, £25 new battery, £25 for oil, filter and spark plug (just the one :-0).

The whole single cylinder experience has to be experienced to be fully appreciated.

The seat is uncomfortable after about 80 miles, but I'm still smiling.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2007