2006 Hyosung Aquila GV650 from Australia - Comments

6th Dec 2006, 03:02

In the original review, it stated the GV650 was a V-twin - it is not, it is a L-twin. two pistons at 90*

Not a big thing, a cosmetic error, but just to let people know.

31st Dec 2006, 20:23

It's still a V Twin, but at 90 degrees.

16th May 2007, 18:55

300 Km per tank? I can't get more than 200 out of mine!? And I don't thrash it that much. Average. I mean, it's only a month old, it's a joy to ride, but it's a bit on thirsty side. I flagged this up with my local dealers in Kings Norton, but they said the 130 mile to the tank is normal!? Is it? Or are they just fobbing me off?

Zig.

3rd Jun 2007, 04:22

I get 300k out of mine. Ignore the fuel gauge, that's the thing that sometimes doesn't work.

24th Jun 2007, 14:53

I am thinking of getting one (a 650). Should I?

20th Aug 2007, 14:54

I have done approximately 2500 miles on my 650 Aquila, and have tried riding it both at high speeds and at slower speeds. Worst consumption was 45mpg, and the best was 62mpg. I would say you should average around the 50mpg mark. Hope this info is useful.

Phil from Scotland.

17th Feb 2008, 12:58

I ride the GV-650 and have about 4000 miles ridden currently. This bike gets more attention than any bike I've ever seen. The attention frankly gets annoying at times, but just adds to the allure of the bike. The performance is unbelievable I consistently smoke cycles with twice the cc. without trying!

Mileage is good, but have trouble believing some of the reported averages I have read on the net. I cannot run the cycle at the suggested RPM as it guzzles fuel in my opinion. I adjust the throttle screw as low as possible and actually enjoy the ride at this RPM level more and it quiets the ride.

I added the windshield and backrest with luggage rack, and am looking forward to adding the hard bags if the cost will come down.

With this cycle you are paying a very reasonable price to have a cycle that will always impress. I am looking for Hyosung to continue their forward thinking, and hopefully be a major player in the cycle industry.

30th May 2008, 05:20

Update on my Aquila:

If as I do, you live where much salt is used on the roads, then you will need to take special care of this machine. I use A.C.F. a protective spray that is used on aircraft. Not cheap at £13 a tin, but very effective.

There have been some problems on my bike with chrome flaking off some parts, and the mirrors have been the worst culprit; corroding behind the glass. All affected parts were replaced by the dealer thankfully.

My bike then developed what I hope is a one off fault; the lower engine mount bolt broke in two and subsequently damaged the frame due to the engine rubbing against it. Latest development is that I am hopefully to receive a new bike. If anyone else has experienced a similar problem, please let us know.

I still feel however that this is a good machine with excellent handling and performance. I have had my bike airbrushed, with a wolves design on the tank.

This bike always attracts plenty of attention, and I look forward to seeing if Hyosung now produce a 1 litre version. The company now has been taken over by I think S&M motors, but retains the Hyosung name. Apparently this company are dedicated to ensuring continued success and expansion, so I will watch with interest.

Thank you, Phil from Scotland.

1st Oct 2008, 15:04

Anyone had problems with electrics on their bike? Mine keeps cutting out while riding. Changed the right hand side switch gear, and now have problems starting. Had the bike for 2 years, like it when it works, but thinking of getting rid of it.

Cheers, Andy Scotland.

14th Oct 2008, 07:59

Andy from Scotland.

I had the same problem with my Buell. It kept on cutting out when riding, usually when I was overtaking something (very scary). It turned out to be a faulty side stand safety switch. If your bike has one, then check it out. Very easy to fix - all you have to do is by pass the switch. Hope this helps.

Beard.

27th Nov 2008, 00:42

Beware, I bought one and it was my worst nightmare for 1.5 year... No service, was always at the shop.

30th Dec 2008, 09:42

I have been riding this bike since June and I absolutely love it. It is powerful enough to fight on the highways, but light enough that city street driving does not completely wear you out.

I had a problem with a bad starter solenoid, but the dealer fixed that right away. I also had a problem when I had the rear tire replaced. I bought the tire at a non-Hyosung dealer and had it installed with them (bad on me). They pulled the belt so tight it was causing problems with my clutch and engine when shifting. Thank god I went to my dealer when I noticed the sound coming from the bike was nasty. They fixed it right away for me.

The one thing I would like to see is a fit list from the aftermarket manufacturers soon. I am looking to get a set that my partner can actually be comfortable on for rides to Tucson or Flagstaff (2 hours each direction).

17th Feb 2009, 02:52

I have had my GV650 for 18 months now and have ridden it 19600 Km. So far I am quite pleased with it. It has plenty of power, have had it to 180kmh sitting upright. I am sure it would have reached 200kmh if I hadn't had to back off for a bend, it was still accelerating. Note - road in the middle of nowhere with no traffic.

I have had a couple of minor problems:

Faulty relay for side stand cut out switch.

Fuel gauge sender gasket started to leak.

Both items replaced by dealer under warranty.

I ride 45km each way to and from work most days, and find it quite comfortable. I had a lot of back pain for years, and after riding the GV650 for a couple of months was able to give up the pain killers. The riding position makes you have good posture whether you want to or not, and for me it has been a benefit.

The chrome is flaking in areas, but I do live at the coast and the salt water regularly washes over the roads.

All in all a good value for money bike that looks good, handles very well and is a lot of fun.

15th Apr 2009, 16:19

I was on my Hyosung Aquila 125 the other day. After about 15 miles it cut out. Does anyone have any idea why this is happening, as it does my head in.

24th Apr 2009, 05:29

Latest update on the gv650 Aquila. You may recall my previous entries and my problem with a broken lower engine mount that damaged the frame. I was issued with a new bike. Sadly at just over 1000 miles the same thing happened again. This time I was advised by the dealer to call it a day and he gave me a full refund. The dealer in question no longer deals with Hyosung and one of the co-owners informed me that they considered the build quality of these bikes to be very poor.

They regretted their involvement with Hyosung, so I assume they had experienced many problems. I am saddened by this because I loved the bike and had spent over £1000 pounds on accessories and a custom paint job. I have to concede though that Hyosung have a great deal more to do before they can compete effectively with the Japanese, and if they want to survive long term they must get their act together soon.