1996 MZ Skorpion Sport from United States of America

Summary:

Brilliant

Faults:

Nothing other than regular service items. Chains, sprockets etc.

General Comments:

I must have owned over thirty motorcycles in my life time. This is likely the best handling bike I've ever owned.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2012

7th Apr 2012, 08:46

They are great machines. Where do you get parts for it? I am looking at one for sale here in Fl, and it needs clutch lever, cable, and rear caliper.

Take it easy.

1997 MZ Skorpion Sport from United States of America

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

I just finished another adventure ride with friends, and loved the mountain roads that this machine is so talented at.

I am short and have adjusted the height with no problem scraping equipment.

I do however, have some concerns that I may not be able to get parts at some time in the future.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2006

23rd Mar 2007, 17:43

MuZ made the Skorpian sport from mostly shelf parts from other manufacturers. For instance, the 660cc motor is from a Yamaha XT660 enduro.

Having owned a 96 Skorpian sport and spending lots of time looking it over, I believe most of the other bits and parts were probably also sourced from other manufacturers, mostly Yamaha, thus parts should be easy to find (assuming you know what they are compatible with).

The motor is solid, so with proper care you really shouldn't ever have to worry about that going bad, and certainly it could be serviced at any Yamaha shop.

I really miss mine, only sold it to help pay for college :(

The handling and brakes on that bike were sooo nice! And the torque from the single cylinder engine makes for a very pleasant ride. Good luck.

1997 MZ Skorpion Sport from United Kingdom

Summary:

Why did they stop making them?

Faults:

Battery would flatten when trying to start the motor if it had been stood for more than a week, as a result of the vacuum operated fuel pump (petrol had evaporated).

Tail light bulb blew regularly.

General Comments:

At the time it was the most powerful big single on the market. After the initial running period, I installed a stage 2 dyno jet kit, K & N filter and Renegade exhaust. What a transformation! Free revving to the limiter, but VERY LOUD!

Sounded wonderful when ticking over and always drew admiring glances.

Excellent back road scratcher with plenty of smiles per miles and good comfort.

Forget the badge, this is a serious bike for enthusiasts.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

3rd Dec 2005, 19:41

All this is true, but you forgot the fact it's like on rails around the corners with the correct rubber.

10th Apr 2006, 15:53

I have owned an R-registration MZ Skorpion Sport for 4 years, and use it mainly for the 12 mile commute and short weekend trips. I have always found it a good handling bike and reliable; the only niggles being; tail-light bulb failure, dash-light gremlins, paint chipping, erratic rev-counter, oil & chain guzzling and throttle-cable failure once, due to nipple departure from handlebar end.

Other than that, it has been a very enjoyable bike to own and ride, pandering to my preference for the big single sound, and so far proving to be excellent value for money.

9th Apr 2008, 22:10

I have a 1996 Skorpion Sport, and loved riding it until I hit a van with it on a dark and rainy night, when he pulled right out in front of me. Said he didn't see me. Shattered the steering head bearing races, and the beautiful Italian front wheel and front fairing.

It did corner like it was on the proverbial 'rails' and sounded great. Never failed to start, Yamaha reliability.

Wish I could find another frame and front end.