28th Apr 2010, 05:05

Just to say thank you to the gentleman who has repeatedly updated his comments on living with the Burgman. I am seriously considering buying one, and his experiences have been very encouraging and helpful. Top man!

22nd May 2010, 16:02

I appreciate the reviews also. I'm currently trying to down size from my 83 Venture 1200. I had a Helix and I loved it. Now I want something with a little more than 250cc's, and this Burgman sounds like the ticket.

27th Jul 2010, 12:26

Thanks for all the info.

I am looking to buy a 2007 400 Burgie.

My question is weight capacity. My partner and I are not small, and I am wondering if this is a concern.

Thanks for your time.

13th Aug 2010, 11:20

To the original post writer on this subject. I found your 'diary' for your cycle very enlightening an informative!

I would love to own a Burgman 400.

I have only one question... you said in one of your posts that your first scooter was a 50cc, and you went up to a 400cc. That is a big difference. I also have only operated a 50cc for about 3 yrs now, but have acquired a motorcycle license (Florida).

How much difference was the handling of the 400 vs the 50? Did you any problems adjusting to the larger/heavier/faster cycle??

Thanks very much. Richard (64 in The Villages)

5th Sep 2010, 21:01

I wanted to provide a further update to my original post. I now have nearly 25,000 miles on my Burgman. I have had no issues with it at all.

I did experience a flat rear tire after having it on for 1,300 miles. I can’t blame the scooter; it was a nail in the road. I was displeased with the flat, and not looking forward to the disassembly process to remove the rear wheel.

I had not attempted to re-route the wire assembly, because I would have had to taken much more apart to do so. I was kicking myself, until I realized that the plug I needed to disconnect was just behind the under seat storage area. I took some time to ready myself, and used a utility knife to cut an access flap in the plastic. Problem resolved! This makes it much easier to remove the rear tire.

I noted a question regarding weight capacity. I am just over 200 pounds and my wife is comparable. Power wise there is no issue. With her on the scoot with me, the center of gravity is quite high, and takes some getting used to.

I also noted a question regarding the handling when compared to the 50cc. It took about 5 minutes to get used to the size of the Burgman, about 5 minutes to decide I really like the power available to me. The weight was not an issue, because the Burgman is well balanced, in my opinion. The hardest thing to get used to was when I was off the scoot and pushing it around. It is much heavier than the Ruckus. I used to pick up the front end of the Ruckus and move it around if needed. I can’t do that with the Burgman.

Some days, I wish I had the 650, because you can stretch out further on it. Maybe I will one day, but I think I will run this one into the ground, if it’s possible to do so while still doing routine maintenance, and resurrecting it again.

I will post more, if and when I run into anything significant. Happy and safe riding all!

Ron

24th Sep 2010, 03:51

I just purchased a 2004 Burgman 400 for my wife, because she gets nervous riding on the back of my Harley. I don't ride fast, it's just she does not like not having control.

I am having a blast riding it, and will have to get her a learners permit soon, or I will start racking up the mileage all by myself.

The scoot did not come with the owner's manual, so I ordered the shop manual. In the meantime, I need to know how to adjust the riders backrest back farther?

I was able to get it to go 90 mph wide open and I weigh 210 lbs. I am impressed and very happy with getting 70 mpg on the highway.

My e-mail is Orion2855@aol.com if anyone can help me with rider's backrest adjustment, I would be grateful.

29th May 2011, 12:52

Ron, thank you so much for all the Burgman information. I am considering buying an 08 that is for sale locally, and feel really good about it after reading your posts.

4th Aug 2011, 08:00

To the original poster, thanks for the regular updates. Very useful.

I'm shopping for my first bike. I never really thought about the maxi scooters, mainly because they are scooters. It's the male ego thing, I guess. But the more I look, the more it seems to fit my needs.

What I need is a bike that will allow me to ride my 50 mile one way commute any day that is decent weather. It needs to handle freeway speeds up to a posted speed limit of 65. It needs to get great mileage. And it needs to have decent space to carry "stuff."

I thought about the 650, but mainly because I didn't think that the 400 would handle the highway that well. But after reading your experiences, I'll need to swing by the Suzuki dealer to try one out.

1st Dec 2012, 11:04

I'm back after a couple of years comment.

I still have the Bergie, but my commute has been reduced to under 3 miles each way. A new career and a new outlook on life :-)

Over 28,000 miles on the Bergie now, and no mechanical issues to speak of. I thought there might be; the front end seemed "wonkie" as I turned, but a close inspection shows the front tire is worn oddly. It was a name brand high quality tire, which I bought because it was rated highly and to improve handling. I won't be buying it again.

I have tried riding two up again, and I just don't like the way the center of gravity is changed. The passenger sits so high up that it affects the handling pretty dramatically. If my wife enjoyed riding, I would have to consider a different ride. She doesn't, so I guess it's not an issue for me.

Safe riding everyone!

Ron.

11th Mar 2014, 20:07

Thanks to the gentleman who took the time to detail his experience with his 400cc Burgman. I am considering purchasing one, even though I have a Honda Helix and a Kymco People 50cc. I like scooters! ;-)