1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from Canada

Summary:

Great bike

Faults:

Windshield is now a bit cloudy from 25 years of bending stresses.

General Comments:

In '86 it was winterized properly (for 20 years), and now with a new battery it starts and runs just fine. Next year it's a classic!

I will consider selling it only because my wife is more comfortable in her Mazda Miata.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2006

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from Canada

Summary:

Outstanding and reliable unit

Faults:

Fork seal, usual maintenance.

General Comments:

This is the most bullet-proof engine you can get. I love it. Just love it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from United States of America

Summary:

This bike is ugly... but fun to ride

Faults:

The voltage regulator burned while riding at high speed. This caused the stator wiring to melt. Rewired this part of the harness after replacing the regulator.

General Comments:

This bike is handles very well, especially in high speed corners and at low speeds in the parking lot.

While the seat is comfortable for long periods of time, the foot peg position causes cramping for those of us with long legs. A pair of highway pegs mounted forward of the engine on the crash bars solved this problem. Long days in the saddle are a breeze.

The fairing does make a lot of noise, but the trade off in bad weather and wind protection is worth it. I packed my empty spaces full of packing peanuts which reduced some of the noise.

The fuel economy is not the best... only about 38 MPG on the highways. It has a touring range of about 300 miles.

The trunk and hard bags are great!!! Easily holds enough gear for a weekend ride without having to strap extra luggage to the passenger seat.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

3rd Sep 2008, 21:32

I have to say, I love my 82 GS1100GK, and with 38,000 on it I have really not had many problems at all.

For handling I find it wonderful, and on the highway this bike will fly.

I get a lot of people saying how much they like my bike all the time.

Finding parts has never been a problem at all, and I will ride this bike until I can no longer get parts for it.

10th Dec 2009, 17:26

I have to agree, My 82 GK is a wonderful bike that I will never part with it. Easy to ride, good gas mileage, still looks great and is cheap to maintain. It's a 9+ out of 10.

4th Mar 2010, 18:19

I love this bike. Mine has 130000 km on the odometer and still runs strong. Costs very little to maintain and brings a smile to my face when it starts in sub zero temperatures.

Rick Oshawa Ontario.

1984 Suzuki GS1100GK from Canada

Summary:

A tough reliable bike with lots of go

Faults:

The only thing that went "wrong" was the voltage regulator which burned out. I replaced it with a used one I got for $50 at a junkyard.

And the valve cover gasket leaked a couple of times.

It seemed to go through a battery every couple of years.

Plus wear items like disk brake pads, tires, fork seals.

But that's pretty good considering it was a ten year old bike which I bought on my credit card and drove all year round for ten more years. Never adjusted the valves or the carburetors.

It still had the original clutch, although it was starting to slip. I never had to replace the clutch cable or brake lines. I only changed the spark plugs once.

General Comments:

This was a tough reliable bike with lots of go and great brakes.

Not great on gas. It got about the same gas mileage as our car, a 1986 Chevy Nova.

It was a performance bike masquerading as a touring bike. It was not comfortable for the driver at all, but strangely, passengers found it comfortable.

The stepped saddle and high foot pegs made for an uncomfortable seating position. I replaced the saddle with a flat seat.

I hated the fairing. It rattled and you couldn't get at the motor. I replaced it with a small windscreen.

But the panniers and top box were excellent.

It was not good for touring. It was under geared and revved really high on the freeway, but you couldn't change the gearing because it had a shaft drive. The handlebars buzzed and after a couple of hours your hands and forearms got sore.

I gave it to a friend because I was leaving Canada. I didn't get a single ticket on it in ten years.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2004

28th Jan 2005, 10:16

I read the review for the GS1100GK, and found it somewhat accurate. I bought mine used in the summer of 87, have put over 40k on it, wearing out the tires is the only drawback.

I don't understand the comment of "uncomfortable" for the rider. After 3300 miles in 10 days, I wish I had more time and money to go to the other side of the country.

27th Jan 2016, 23:43

Having owned a GS1000g with the flat seat he probably swapped to, I understand his statement; the slightly taller seat took some of the bend out of your knees, and the thicker padding made it incredibly cushy on your rump! I'm 6 foot 1 and only weigh 130 lb, so my back side has basically no built in padding, yet that seat allowed me to ride straight through from Chico Calif to San Diego, stopping only for gas, with zero discomfort! Magazine articles I remember from the GS1000g era described the bike as a "road going sofa", and I doubt that any of the test riders had less than twice the fanny padding that I do!