Suzuki GS1100GK Reviews

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28000 kilometres
Most recent distance33000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha Maxim 650

Summary:

It looks different and has lots of guts

Faults:

Needed new tires and windshield, oil change and plugs to certify.

Starter motor and voltage regulator, then speedometer cable all went in my first summer.

Replaced valve cover gasket, and forks leak air slowly.

I am constantly charging my battery, but it's a cheap one.

General Comments:

All in all it's a great ride so far. Nothing too hard to fix for being a 1982.

Can get parts from a local dealer, but costly.

Very fast on highways and handles smoothly.

Highway pegs are a must for long rides.

The motor is strong and can take a beating.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2009

20th Nov 2011, 08:31

Hi, can you tell me where I can find a wire harness for my GS1100GK 1982?

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles

Summary:

This one is a keeper

Faults:

Mostly normal wear and tear, did have to replace the old worn-out rear air shocks with Progressive air shocks, which made a huge difference in the handling of the bike.

I also had the bike painted from the "Old Man Brown" as my wife called it, in a dark-night blue with silver inserts and grey trim. This changed the looks quite a bit.

Bike runs strong, is very comfortable on long trips, is extremely reliable and gets over 50 mpg on the road.

Good paint, new exhaust and polished aluminum, bike is always center of attention where ever I go.

General Comments:

This bike did not get a good review from Motorcycle magazine back in its day, and body parts are non-existing. It's still a very good bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2009

26th Sep 2011, 22:47

September 2011, I now have 42,000 on this bike, and it is running as good as ever. Needs minor work on the front brake calipers, but other than that, normal maintenance is all that I do. Doesn't use any oil, and is getting well over 50 miles a gallon. One of the best bikes I have ever owned.

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS750L

Summary:

I love the bike, but don't like the electrical problems it has

Faults:

The front fork seals leaked.

The electrical system quit charging the battery.

The windshield got very cloudy.

General Comments:

The bike has great pick up, especially for a touring bike which is heavy.

I like the way the full fairing blocks the cold, wind and rain.

The drivers foot-pegs are not in a position that is comfortable for a taller rider.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th October, 2007

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2006
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance29500 kilometres

Summary:

Great bike

Faults:

Windshield is now a bit cloudy from 25 years of bending stresses.

General Comments:

In '86 it was winterized properly (for 20 years), and now with a new battery it starts and runs just fine. Next year it's a classic!

I will consider selling it only because my wife is more comfortable in her Mazda Miata.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2006

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1984
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance90000 kilometres
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS850

Summary:

Outstanding and reliable unit

Faults:

Fork seal, usual maintenance.

General Comments:

This is the most bullet-proof engine you can get. I love it. Just love it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2006

1982 Suzuki GS1100GK from United States of America

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance48240 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Vulcan 750

Summary:

This bike is ugly... but fun to ride

Faults:

The voltage regulator burned while riding at high speed. This caused the stator wiring to melt. Rewired this part of the harness after replacing the regulator.

General Comments:

This bike is handles very well, especially in high speed corners and at low speeds in the parking lot.

While the seat is comfortable for long periods of time, the foot peg position causes cramping for those of us with long legs. A pair of highway pegs mounted forward of the engine on the crash bars solved this problem. Long days in the saddle are a breeze.

The fairing does make a lot of noise, but the trade off in bad weather and wind protection is worth it. I packed my empty spaces full of packing peanuts which reduced some of the noise.

The fuel economy is not the best... only about 38 MPG on the highways. It has a touring range of about 300 miles.

The trunk and hard bags are great!!! Easily holds enough gear for a weekend ride without having to strap extra luggage to the passenger seat.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd January, 2006

3rd Sep 2008, 21:32

I have to say, I love my 82 GS1100GK, and with 38,000 on it I have really not had many problems at all.

For handling I find it wonderful, and on the highway this bike will fly.

I get a lot of people saying how much they like my bike all the time.

Finding parts has never been a problem at all, and I will ride this bike until I can no longer get parts for it.

10th Dec 2009, 17:26

I have to agree, My 82 GK is a wonderful bike that I will never part with it. Easy to ride, good gas mileage, still looks great and is cheap to maintain. It's a 9+ out of 10.

4th Mar 2010, 18:19

I love this bike. Mine has 130000 km on the odometer and still runs strong. Costs very little to maintain and brings a smile to my face when it starts in sub zero temperatures.

Rick Oshawa Ontario.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews