1993 Suzuki GSX1100G Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Suzuki GSX1100G from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.1 / 10
Distance when acquired7300 miles
Most recent distance10300 miles

Summary:

Beautiful piece of Japanese engineering

General Comments:

Great bike. I bought this bike as a present to myself before my last deployment. I figured a 600 would be a good starter, but I got such a good deal on the 1100 I couldn't pass it up.

So far I have added a K&N air filter, a Vance & Hines 4 into 1 exhaust system, and I jetted the carbs.

Some things will wear with age. I have had to rebuild the carbs due to improper babying from the previous owner. I also opted to replace the spark plug caps with newer NGKs.

This bike is an excellent choice, will never sell!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2009

22nd Sep 2009, 15:31

I just bought a sweet 92 that looks and runs like new. I am 62 and have been riding since I was 13 and on a Vespa. I raced dirt bikes for 35 years and have always had a street bike, well this is a great bike. I have 8 bikes in my garage inc, 04 HD, a 650 Burgman (great scoot) 3 Vespa, 2 Stella's (Vespa but better) a Honda, Yamaha and I ride them all. However this GSX1100 g is a tractor in ballet shoes. Yeah it's heavy, but it's 200lbs less than the Harley, and so much more fun, especially given that it costs or sells for about 10k less, but it's a 17 year old bike. Bang for the buck +++ a 10.

1993 Suzuki GSX1100G from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13284 miles
Most recent distance14020 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda CB550 Four

Summary:

Daammnnn!!!

Faults:

Still new to me; no problems as yet.

General Comments:

Awesome roll on power, snap your head back acceleration.

Stock seat not too comfy; intend to replace with a Corbin seat.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th June, 2008

10th Nov 2008, 20:35

As the one who posted this comment originally, I'd like to give an update. I have now put 5'000 plus miles on since purchase. Other than needing a new back tire, all I can say is still DAAMMNNN!!!

26th Jun 2009, 06:39

Just purchased the 1992, and that's the right comment DAMN. Great all the way around, I have had her for two weeks and I already have put 1000 miles on her.

1st Jun 2010, 20:15

I've had my '93 for 3 years. The only way to explain the rush of this bike is daaaaaym! Put 20,000 miles on so far. The thing was hit from the side by a disabled lady in her Oldsmobile. It's a tank! Bent everything back and rode her the next day. Recently rewarded it with bearings, brakes, carb work, starter solenoid, battery, and plexifairing2, case guards, and tires. Drives like a dream that you can't hang on to hard enough for the torque. Daamn!

24th Jun 2010, 23:21

Go with the Corbin, you'll be happy. My "G" is black, so I went with Dark Grey Snakeskin with black trim and grey piping. I like doing 250 to 300 miles a day, and have NO back problems.

30th May 2011, 18:30

I also have a '93 and enjoying it. I want to know where to get the case guards. I have been searching the net with no luck at all. Want the case guards, then the foot pegs, then the Corbin seat, etc.

Rudy.

29th Jul 2011, 00:07

I have a 1993 GSX1100G and am also looking for case savers. Does anyone know if the 1200 Bandit case savers/engine guards will work? The frames seem similar...

11th Aug 2011, 21:13

As the original poster, all I can add is damn what a bike!!

14th Feb 2013, 17:02

Hey Rudy, I have a set of case guards off my '92 GSX1100g that I'd be willing to part with. jedwdcook@gmail.com 7192488293

1993 Suzuki GSX1100G from United States of America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 6 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.9 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

Great bike. Wish Suzuki would have kept making it so that aftermarket accessories would be around.

Faults:

Only real problem was steering head bearings. Replaced them after I'd ridden less than 500 miles (bike had 37000 miles when I bought it).

General Comments:

Very smooth, almost vibration-free bike. Love the low maintenance, clean shaft drive.

Heavy bike at over 600 lbs wet, but no problems in traffic. Has a solid "planted" feel at highway speeds and on city streets.

Gobs of torque, even at low speeds... no need to rev the engine for the take off in first gear.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2004

9th Dec 2004, 06:57

I hired a 'G' for a trip round NZ a couple of years back, and agree with all the comments made. An utterly solid and stable machine with plenty of power on tap, no breakdowns, no dramas.

20th Dec 2004, 02:16

With a fork rake like this, there no suprise about the stability of this Suzuki. I've had a VX 800 in the past with a similar geometry of fork and it handle like a train in straight line.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews