1994 Suzuki RF900R from United Kingdom - Comments

7th Oct 2006, 13:21

I own the same model bike and agree with the owner, it's loads of fun, and yes it does keep up with more recent bikes. If anyone doubts it, it's probably because they haven't come up against a knee-down-loon who can out ride a designer biker.

Many regards, a 44 year old biker.

31st Oct 2006, 16:51

I own a 93 RF 400 (stock), and it keeps up with the latest 600s. I'd love to see how hard a 900 would go.

These bikes are a little heavy, but they make up for that with the power. Ps. ride one and find out!

Cheers.

15th Nov 2006, 09:56

I also own an RF900R, and they are heavy. This is my first bike, so I wanted something heavy to keep me from going crazy on it. After feeling how much power it has, I'm not so sure I made the right decision.

New blood biker.

17th Jan 2007, 12:51

Rf900, cheap, fast, fun, underestimated, what more can I say? I own a 94 r model and I love it.

21st Jan 2007, 14:42

I own a RF900 and I think it's bloody brilliant. The only addition to my bike other than cosmetic add-ons, is a full NOS kit. Add that to the already groovey 127BHP and you have the ultimate orgasm! Why buy fragile off the peg fantasy fun machines for 6k plus?

1st Mar 2007, 06:17

OK, I'm on my 2nd of these, but also own a Triumph Sprint ST 955i so it gives you a clue how much I like my Suzi.

It WILL NOT keep up with a gsxr 1000 (new) in a race, BUT whilst they're sat somewhere complaining about their aches and pains, you put fuel in this and carry on until you feel like stopping.

I was knocked off my 1st 1 at 120mph into a central reservation. I was lucky to get up, but wasn't badly hurt, best bit though, took the bike back to my dads on a truck, did a few checks, pressed the button, and the mother started 1st click. The front was a write off, but frame was checked on a machine and was straight, fairing battered, handlebars gone. I stripped it and sold it in bits for more than I paid for the bike in the 1st place.

Try that with a gsxr, oh and insurance is dirt cheap too for the bike.

Mine had 145bhp dyno'd, the only bike I ever ridden where I slowed down before the bike maxed. 165mph and I was scared, everything was a blur and I decided bike was quick enough for me.

2nd Mar 2007, 15:31

Hi, I purchased my '96' Rf900 last year with only just over 8,000 miles on the clock, and the condition confirms the mileage, having only 2 previous owners, the last one for 8 years.

Anyway, it's a beautiful looking bike. It's such a shame that so many people appear have such a poor opinion of the styling; I really don't know why.

My only real criticism is the positioning of the footrests, which for me personally, are too far forward, and moving them back an inch or two would make for a more natural riding position.

The engine on my bike is fanastic and smooth, though I hardly seem to rev it hard (I don't seem to have any need). I suppose I'm not really a fast rider, and so I don't really push my bike.

I do like the low down grunt, as it seems to pull well at low revs in any gear, and once I put it in top, I don't really need to change much unless I stop at a traffic light etc.

I do like my bike, and it was really cheap as well, at only £1500 for an 8000 mile bike. I really need to do more mileage before I can make proper comments. Hopefully with the summer coming and a few more miles under my belt, I will be able to comment more informatively.

Ride safe

Warren.

12th Mar 2007, 10:40

I bought the RF600 last year. It had 60,000 miles on the clock, and ran like a dream.

It was my first bike, so I am probably somewhat biased, but I loved it. I had it in bright red, and it was a real head turner. That combined with the fact that it sounded awesome – well, people used to stare as I went passed!

It has a lovely riding position; I found it very comfortable – even on a 5 hour ride.

It was tight and clean to ride, easily accelerating and easy to weave between traffic. Above all, it was really fun to ride.

Shame some idiot driver knocked me off it and wrote it off. I am after another one – but they are hard to find in good condition.

5th Apr 2007, 15:24

The RF900R is the real deal. I did some homework before buying my first bike. I was lucky enough to test drive a couple of 600's before I made a final decision. After finding and riding the 1994 RF900r, I was sold.

Riding the RF900r compared to a 600 is like going from a Ford Pinto to a C class Benz. The bike has enough power to keep up with most bikes on the road. If you are a non believer and want to go faster, buy one and stick a few dollars into a Jet Pack, you might be able to break the current world record for a 24 hour ride of 3600 miles at 152mph held by a stock RF900r.

Thanks Suzuki for a fun ride.

Sincerly,

General Black

13th Apr 2007, 22:27

I recently purchased a 94 rf900 and I have really enjoyed my first 10 hours riding it. What surprised me the most was how user friendly the bike is. Looking forward to many adventures ahead.

19th Apr 2007, 20:04

To the guy looking for a MINT SHOWROOM FLOOR NEW rf600r, I have one for sale if you're interested. Email at Bocapoker@yahoo.com.

I've owned two of these bikes and have another on the way. They are awesome machines and well capable of beating the new class of 600's which are awesome in their own right.

For an old school 900 to be able to stay up with the new 600's is a remarkable feat in itself considering the new 6's run 10's in the 1/4 mile and top at 155 or so.

In my opinion the RF does it and looks better while doing it.

6th May 2007, 01:20

I own the baby brother, the RF400r... what a bike it is.

I can keep up with a 07 CBR600rr...just, in the twisties... even if I am riding to the max. Awesome fun great looking bike. I look forward to getting a RF900RS in a year of two.

10 out or 10!

17th May 2007, 13:20

I just got a 94'rf900r and drove it home, and man does that thing handle!!! I've got it in my garage and I'm about to break it down and undercut the tranny, as well as put a stage 1 jet kit in it. I should have it back on the road within the next two weeks. If there is anything I should know about these, let me know, or if anyone is in the North Carolina area and wants to have fun on the rf's, just send me an email at drewforsythmotosports@yahoo.com