Yamaha XJ600 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1992 Yamaha XJ600 from United Kingdom

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 4 / 10
Handling marks 4 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.9 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous motorcycleHonda NTV650

Summary:

The XJ600S Diversion is a simple effective medium size motorcycle, which looks faster than it is

Faults:

Front wheel bearings.

Rear sprocket carrier bearing.

Bike had new Vesrah Green sintered pads fitted when I bought it, the rear always squeals, copaslip works for about one day, but loads of wear left in them so I put up with the noise, (front OK).

The bike was bought with an aftermarket Motad exhaust fitted, this makes an oil change a pain because the drain plug access is obstructed.

General Comments:

Its very early 1980 in design, I like the styling and the raked forward engine.

The simple design results in it being very reliable and easy for DIY maintenance.

However, the handling is not confidence inspiring, it's not a bike to ride fast on (only the brave or foolhardy!) Bridgestone BT045 tyres and 15 grade oil in the forks have helped.

Fortunately the brakes are good, especially considering it only has a single disc up front.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th August, 2006

12th Mar 2007, 10:49

Having had an accident on my previous bike, I wanted something a little tamer for my next bike. With that in mind, I got an xj600s 1993 L plate.

I'd had it for about 2 weeks, when a hole appeared in the exhaust – this is apparently a known fault in the xj600s, and so exhausts are virtually impossible to get from breakers. I have replaced the exhaust and aside a few problems (due to the last owner not looking after it), it is now running alright.

However, it is not an exciting ride; cruising at about 60 MPH is alright, but any faster becomes awkward. The steering is loose at low speeds, and the bike weaves at high speeds. 30mph and 40mph are both quite uncomfortable as the bike vibrates quite a lot.

It is also supposed to have a 17 liter tank, but I can only squeeze 12-13 liters into it. Overall, I would say it is reliable, but boring.

28th Sep 2009, 17:16

I had one for two and a half years, went to Spain on it. Very economical, 55-60 mpg, will cruise at 85, good fairing.

Go for the twin disc model.

Crankcase breather feeds into airbox and contaminates the filter with sludge. I placed an extension to the pipe and ran it so it spat out condensation into a small bottle instead.

Screen buzzes so I took it off, glued it in place with silicone and replaced the screws. Nowadays you can get a VFR 750 for well under a grand, a vastly better bike, so really I wouldn't go higher than about 600 for a Div making it a seriously good/sensible buy.

Don't blame me when you get bored with it after a couple of weeks though!

11th Jan 2010, 17:53

Hi, I'm looking for a 1st big bike.

I have a choice of a 1992 ZZR 250 or a 1998 Yamaha XJ600 Diversion.

I've always liked the ZZRs, but overall for work, economy, practicality, which is the better bike?

Any advice would be great.

24th Apr 2012, 13:43

The XJ600 has excellent reviews for a cheap and cheerful bike. Low insurance, 55-60 mpg. It's sluggish for a 600, but still plenty of speed at 117mph max, and a bullet proof engine.

1990 Yamaha XJ600 from United Kingdom

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2004
Acceleration marks 6 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles

Summary:

Good all rounder

Faults:

Front brakes stopped working

General Comments:

Motorcycles I have owned prior to the XJ600 were:

Yamaha XS 750, 3 cylinder, double overhead camshaft. A big machine, good for a tall rider I thought. Performance is very poor, 100mph top speed, 29mpg, mine lasted for 3000 miles, a disaster of a purchase.

Kawasaki Z440, 2 cylinder, the size of a 250. Poor performance, horrible to ride, gutless and a dreadful waste of money. It was astonishing how bad it was. The engine went after a few thousand miles. Traded it in for £150.

Suzuki GS 425, another 2 cylinder, bored out 250. Dreadful performance, not suited to the roads of Britain, money down to the pan. Engine blew after 20k miles!

MZ 125-150. A single cylinder two stroke with abysmal performance. Cost so little, but they are not even worth pennies. 50mph top speed - a nightmare on wheels.

MZ300, another very strange machine to look at in the performance department. On a trip to Dover and back, it would not go above 20mph. After a few weeks, the gearbox disintegrated as it was being ridden up the motorway. £1100 wasted as it had only covered 1,000 since it was purchased. Total garbage.

Suzuki X7, 250 cc. A very fragile machine. The engine blew after less than 20,000 miles. A total waste of money. Rebuilt as the engine blew again after a few thousand miles.

List of all bikes owned:

SS50, 45mph, 12,000 miles, traded in 1977. A Honda Cub makes more sense than this ‘sporty’ moped.

CB200, 65mph, 12,000 miles, traded in 1979, cost £525, good for India or China.

X7, 100mph, 3,000 miles, holed piston, 1982, fragile.

VT250, 95mph, 1,000 miles, traded in 1982, hyped up.

CBX550F2, 130mph, 3,000 miles, traded in 1982, fast sexy fun small bike.

XS750, 100mph, 3,000 miles engine went, 1982, horrible 3 cylinder nightmare.

GSX750ES, 135mph, 18,000 miles, traded in 1983, cost £1800, fast sexy and fun.

Z440, 95mph, 3,000 miles, camshaft went, 1983, horrible.

GS425, 95mph, 3,000 miles, big end went, 1983, horrible.

MZ125/150, 50mph, 500 miles, would not work, 1983, ridiculous throwback to the 50’s.

FJ1200, 150mph, 26,000 miles traded in 1986, cost £2600, adrenaline pump, you will have post traumatic stress disorder after riding it.

CX500, 110mph, 2,000 miles, sold as too boring, 1987, cost £1100, maggot or plastic pig sums it up, will go forever very cheaply.

MZ300, 90mph, 3,000 miles, gearbox disintegrated, 1987, an abomination.

Honda Benly 185, 65mph, 2,000 miles, stopped working, 1991, cost £150, tiny chain came off, why?

XJ600, 120mph, 3,500 miles, 1996, horny machine, good to ride, wears out fast, will go around IOM at 100mph!

Company bikes ridden, but not owned, not in order of use:

Suzuki GS500, 1990, excellent performer with good stopping power and fuel consumption. 110mph top speed, 50 mpg, is good around town and on the open road.

Kawasaki GT750, 1991, much more powerful than a GT550, but the same fuel consumption. Much nicer to drive over long distance or short distance, old fashioned.

Kawasaki GT550, 1992-2004, under powered version of GT750, very out of date now, old fashioned in the 80’s when they were first sold.

Honda CX 500, 1992, plastic pig or maggot, will keep going as can be bodged, but not exciting, will plod on forever, very 70’s technology.

Honda VT500, 1984-1986, sorted version of CX, all problems overcome, but cannot be bodged up, so very few around, most broken for parts.

Honda RS 250, 1983-1984, a small bike liked by couriers, does not like motorways as poor oil flow to cylinder head, alright as ‘rat’ bike.

Honda NS 125, 1991, small and slow, but otherwise reasonable.

Honda CB400 Super Dream, 1991, 110mph seen on speedo with a gale force wind behind me. Reasonable 70’s technology, good ‘rat’ bike.

Honda Hornet, the 2004 21C has arrived in the bike world, vicious acceleration, fabulous ride, handling and feel. 120 mph, 0-60 very quick, 50 mpg, the best of the lot.

Best bike is the Yamaha FJ1200. Worst bike, take your pick of the MZ125/150 or the MZ300. All are appalling.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

16th Jan 2012, 14:18

Er... you have owned some incredibly bad motorbikes in your time. Impressive..!!

29th Jan 2012, 15:39

Used to race Suzuki X7s in standard production racing; a very reliable machine. 100 mph top speed after some slight modifications. Would rev. around 10,000 rpm on almost standard exhausts etc. Only unreliable ones I ever saw, and built over 20 of them for racing in production classes, were ones which had been misused or modified away from what was good engineering. Holed pistons? Never with correct settings, spark plugs etc. Would last a whole season. One of the best little 2 strokes made.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 7 reviews