Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1986 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X from United States of America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2010
Most recent distance24512 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Ninja ZX-10R

Summary:

Beside the V-Max, this is the best muscle bike/cruiser Yamaha ever made

Faults:

I had to have a majority of gaskets replaced after being in Military storage for most of 1997.

I had to have a stopcock installed to the fuel line, because a replacement for the original could not be found.

General Comments:

I was very surprised when I first bought it at how powerful this bike is. I brought the front tire off the ground a few times coming off red lights without meaning to.

I love the handling, and have kept up with a few crotch rockets that were 750cc and below. It rides very comfortably and has a great point of balance. You can put your feet up on the back pegs and lay down on it when you need to go just a little faster.

I bought it in St. Petersburg Florida in 1992, and have had the engine rebuilt just in the last couple of years as preventive maintenance. Unfortunately my wife does not like it because it is too quick, and wants me to sell it. She bought me a 2009 Yamaha Royalstar Classic for my birthday in February, because she wants us to have a bike we can both go for rides on.

If anyone ever buys it from me, I am definitely going to miss it. I enjoyed it more than my Ninja, and it is definitely a different ride from my new bike.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2010

1986 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X from United States of America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired8600 miles
Most recent distance10800 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha XJ650 Maxim

Summary:

It's pretty tough to beat the dependability of a Yamaha

Faults:

The clutch cable snapped at 10,600 miles.

Seat cushion is breaking down.

General Comments:

Starts first time, every time.

Quick off the line with more top end than required for the average cyclist.

Long rides would require a leg stretch about every 60 miles.

Perfect commuter bike for less than 30 miles or for just running errands.

Light enough to pick up if it tips over on the kick stand.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2009

1985 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X from United States of America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous motorcycleKawasaki Z440 LTD

Summary:

This bike is Awesome!

General Comments:

Very fast and quick.

Very reliable, always starts.

The powerband on this bike is at about 6200rpm, and once you hit it, you better be holding on.

Absolutely love it!

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2009

1985 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X from Canada

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32500 kilometres
Most recent distance47600 kilometres
Previous motorcycleSuzuki GS450E

Summary:

A keeper

Faults:

NOTHING SERIOUS TO DATE.

* Cleaned and synchronized the carburators.

* Cleaned and coated the gas tank.

* New tires.

* Use Yamaha motor oil and filter.

Slight clunk when shifting from first to second. Others gears are OK.

Headlight beam shudders under acceleration at night.

Great acceleration and braking (previous owner did the brakes).

Can be slow to fire up when cold.

General Comments:

A nice cruiser, and not too many around.

Seating is too upright for day trips. Need frequent rests to get the kinks out of one's back.

I like it.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2009

21st Apr 2009, 15:18

I have 70,367 miles on my 85 Yamaha Maxim X, and it's still going strong.

1986 Yamaha XJ700 Maxim X from Canada

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 9 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.9 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 kilometres
Most recent distance30700 kilometres
Previous motorcycleYamaha V-Star Classic 650

Summary:

Excellent cruiser of all time

Faults:

At first I didn't realise what I was getting in to. After buying an XJ700S though, it's a rare find for parts, and I am convinced it's going to be my collectible. I have taken it from the previous owner, I find the clutch is too hard (feels like taking a break stop) but no slippage, can anyone suggest if it's just the cable.?

Also I don't find a smoother ride (revs high) on 3,4,5 gears (feels like I am still on 2nd or 3rd gear).. Could this be because of the wrong grade (automotive) oil during storage.? Any idea? Thanks.

General Comments:

It's a wonderful cruiser on a sports engine. Wish the production had stayed on, and new parts were still available to completely rebuild it new.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2009

16th Sep 2010, 21:46

Hey, my name's Nathaniel, and I am also the owner of an XJ700 Maxim. I have found that during normal driving, the engine does seem to sound like it is at higher revs, but it's just normal for the bike.

As for the clutch stopping hard, my bike does not do that, so it might be the cable, or your clutch lever could be tensioned too tight. You could try loosening the clutch cable, and see if it helps.

Also, I run Mobil 1 fully synthetic 4t 10w-40, which is intended for racing style 4 cylinder engines.

Hope this helps.

17th Sep 2010, 19:47

Speaking on oil, I have used several different ones, and finally decided to try the Amsoil motorcycle oil, and the bike is real smooth running with it, plus it does not appear to get rotten like other oils. I had tried the Yamaha motorcycle oil and did not find much of a difference. The guy selling it was the same one that did my bike inspection, and he was the one that said "try it, you'll like it". Over the years I had been using 10/40 oil, and at the vibration point of 4900 RPM it was very noticeable, but since I went to the Amsoil, I no longer have the old familiar "hand hum" after riding all day long.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 22 reviews