Yamaha XS400 Special Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1982 Yamaha XS400 Special from Canada

Model year1982
Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Acceleration marks 9 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 kilometres
Most recent distance69000 kilometres

Summary:

Awesome bike for beginner and those just going around town

Faults:

The electric start didn't work from the beginning, but being a light 400cc bike, I had no problem kick starting it everyday. She would fire right up on the second or third kick on a cold start up.

General Comments:

Bought it for $800 from an older gentleman who had it in storage for a couple of years.

Replaced the front and back tires ($120), and the general tune up I did myself (parts $50). The carbs needed to be cleaned up as well, so it did take about a month before it was ready.

Kick started it all the time and would ride around town to college. Awesome gas mileage! The ten liter tank would last two weeks, and it has a one liter reserve so if you ran out of gas (I did twice), just switch the petcock to reserve and you could start it up again.

I did take the motorcycle on the highway once, and only once. Top speed up a hill was only 100km/h and the ride was uncomfortable with no fairing. It's light weight is not so good when a big rig comes the other way, it blows you all over the place.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th March, 2007

4th May 2008, 16:43

What's the differences between the 1981 Yamaha XS 400 and the Yamaha XS 400 Special?

crash7904@yahoo.com

21st May 2008, 12:35

It is really just the package. The 400 and 400 special are really just the same bike in many ways.

11th Jul 2008, 06:44

Yes, a mainly good bike and reasonably inexpensive to run.

The custom models are the best looking and are now quite sought after - wish I had not sold mine!

Only drawback is the twin points ignition system. It requires regular maintenance to stop it from letting you down, and the points must be set correctly. Or, you could convert to electronic ignition. Very good this as a friend did this to his XS and never looked back. Regular oil changes are essential should you wish the camshaft to last any amount of time. In conclusion, if you can get a good one at a good price, buy it!

10th Nov 2008, 21:36

Does anyone know where to get a camshaft for this bike?

12th Aug 2009, 09:21

How about the Bike Bandit? Or Bike Barn? Or Mikes XS?

14th Feb 2011, 01:13

I can't believe there are not any XS650 reviews.

1981 Yamaha XS400 Special from United States of America

Model year1981
Year of manufacture1981
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Acceleration marks 5 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 6 / 10
Handling marks 5 / 10
Braking marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8500 miles
Most recent distance9200 miles

Summary:

Classic looks and cheap to buy, reliable bike

Faults:

Had to replace the starter, but has a kick start also, so never left me stranded.

Had fuel tank re-lined.

Had fuel system issue that took two trips to the repair shop to fix. Previous owner had installed an in-line fuel filter.. once it was removed, it ran like crazy.

General Comments:

I bought it for my wife to learn on. It's a fun little bike, and it will even pull me down the highway, and I'm a big dude.

I repainted the tank and side covers the original black, and had the seat recovered. The previous owner had installed new tires, hand grips, and had kept the bike in decent mechanical condition. It runs good, and I love the black with the chrome fenders and trim.

It's a small bike, but it will pull me a 60 on the highway. Great choice for someone learning to ride or that wants a cheap commuter. Had a good riding position, and is easy to handle. Despite its age, it's been very reliable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2006

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews