2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT Reviews from United States of America

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance2200 miles
Previous motorcycleYamaha V-Star 650

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

One week after purchase, a part came off. The bike also went into Limp Home Mode and had to be towed. Ran well after, and recently had problems and had to be towed again. The bike doesn't want to back up, revs high, shuts itself off while riding, and when this happens, you can't steer. In the shop for the past week. Seat started pulling apart and was covered under warranty. Most current problems started two months after the warranty was up.

I have physical limitations, which don't allow me to ride a two wheeler any more, and I thought this would be answer. Overall, if these problems are worked out with BRP and the dealer, I would purchase another product in the future, but maybe not this particular model.

General Comments:

I like the way bike handles in the rain. I can put a passenger on without any problems.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2013

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 9 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9850 miles
Previous motorcycleBMW R 1200 GS

Summary:

A well engineered, well designed, great handling machine

Faults:

I have not had any issues with it.

However it does need a larger fuel tank and more accurate fuel gauge. This machine should have at least a 200 mile range; some places where we travel, we have to carry a gallon of fuel with us.

General Comments:

The motorcycle is very quick and stable, and handles very well.

It is very comfortable for two people; the air ride absorbs the bumps very well.

I like the semi automatic transmission and the smooth way it works.

We bought it so my wife would ride again; she has neck trouble and the rear of a motorcycle was too rough for her. She has no problem on the back of the Spyder.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2013
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles

Summary:

Nice, but has maintenance problems

Faults:

Keeps getting a "check engine" warning dozens of times.

Has gone into limp mode several times.

Replaced the throttle body a couple of times.

Front tires wear unevenly.

General Comments:

In the maintenance shop a lot

Not reliable on long trips; the bike went into limp mode while on a trip, and the dealership had to pick it up.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 2013

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 7 / 10
Handling marks 8 / 10
Braking marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.1 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance21721 miles
Previous motorcycleKymco Agility 50

Summary:

It's fun to ride, and I feel safe

Faults:

Had two throttle bodies go out. One at 847 miles, and one later.

Had the DPS and VSS codes come on at different times.

Had limp mode come on several times.

General Comments:

This trike has helped get me through a rough time in my life.

I've never had a big bike, and I learned how to ride this in a short time, and was comfortable in doing so.

It gets a lot of attention from everyone, including other bikers.

I'm 70 and have friends in their 80's riding and loving it. They feel safe and comfortable.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2012

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 10 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 10 / 10
Handling marks 10 / 10
Braking marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance10650 miles
Previous motorcycleSuzuki Intruder

Summary:

Great motorcycle overall, and I would buy it again

Faults:

Auto locking glove box does not lock; from day one.

General Comments:

This Can Am handles great, good acceleration and stopping distance.

Looks are way cool.

However, upgrades are expensive, and many should have been standard from the factory.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2012

2011 BRP Can-Am Spyder RT

Model year2011
Year of manufacture2011
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2012
Acceleration marks 8 / 10
Roll-on Performance marks 8 / 10
Handling marks 7 / 10
Braking marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance7300 miles

Summary:

State of the art

Faults:

CB radio has a lot of noise when transmitting. So bad that those I ride with do not want me to talk, since they cannot understand me unless the Roadster is not moving. This is a Can-am radio, dealer installed on my RTS.

General Comments:

Hard to let go of my Harley mentality, but once I did, I found the Spyder FUN, FUN, FUN, and no worries about dumping it in a gravel parking lot.

Love the heated grips.

Due to a disability, the driver pegs caused pain in my left foot. Added full length floor boards - problem solved.

Would you buy another motorcycle from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2012

25th Oct 2012, 21:06

I have 2011 Cam-Am RT. I have the same problem with my CB, they have replaced the CB 3 times; still the same problem.

The dealer says they will not add a filter, and said it would invalidate the warranty.

Does anyone know of a fix??

31st Dec 2013, 16:35

I recently purchased a 2011 Spyder RT for my wife, and she is enjoying it so far. I bought and installed a CB, as our other bikes have one and we want to be able to talk. Once I'd figured out what has to be the world's worst set of instructions, I got it back together. I can receive from other, listen to the radio and it works in the headset wonderfully. However I am having the same issue you have. I get loud squealing sometime when others talk, very short range, and then they cannot hear me when I talk at all. Did you find a resolution to your issues?

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 19 reviews